We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Portions- But Average Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Claim Jumper

Claim Jumper
18050 Brookhurst St, Fountain Valley, CA 92708-6739
714-963-6711
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 165 Restaurants in Fountain Valley
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Steakhouse, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
California City, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Big Portions- But Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Everything is huge portion - I'd rather go to Yardhouse than step in this place. Its just not that good

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    17
    14
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Albans, Vermont
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food, generous portions, pleasant servers, great salad bar.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

There is nothing that is not to like about the Claim Jumper. There are tons of choices for every palate, including a great salad bar. The portions are beyond generous, usually requiring a take home box. The desserts are very good as well - if only you save room for one of them!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SO. Cal.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“COLD EGGS AT BRUNCH?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Based on a friend's recommendation we visited this restaurant for their Sunday brunch while on a visit to the area. They open at 11:00AM and we arrived about 11:45. We were immediately seated and the place was modestly busy.

The salad bar was very extensive and appeared to be outstanding - but we wanted breakfast! We skipped the omelet line (too long, 1 station operating) and did the steam table route - or so we thought.

In my experience steam tables usually involve heat. I sampled the sausage, french toast, potatoes & eggs benedict. None were hot - most were not even lukewarm and the eggs bennie was flat out cold.

I mentioned (in passing) to our server that the eggs bennie was stone cold & a few minutes later another server came by to appologize and brought another serving which was - you guessed it - also cold. While the gesture was nice, re-serving stone cold eggs makes me believe they think they are OK like that.

We laughed, paid the bill, tipped the server - smiled on the way out & vowed never to return.

There are many MUCH better options close by.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, large portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This restaurant chain is known for its large portions but people fail to mention the food is very well prepared. I had a steak that was so tender you hardly needed a knife to cut it. If you are on a diet don't go here. If you do go here and you order a desert be prepared for a very large portion. We shared 1 piece of the chocolate cake and could only eat half of it. Be prepared to pay a little extra for the great food and great service but it's worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“My first time for brunch at Claim Jumper Fountain Valley”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I usually go for dinner this was my first brunch. I have been to many brunches. This one was priced average but did not include drinks which was a bit odd for a champagne brunch. Great service, food was really fresh. Desserts were just as I expected. I prefer waterfront brunch. The atmosphere was not all that great. The seating was a bit tight and we had to squeeze by a table. I mean everyone, even kids. We are average size people so the area was a bit too small for the tables they placed in the room. The kids liked the mac n cheese and one of my children does not eat meat and she did enjoy it. I feel the food was fresh but the menu was small. The eggs Benedict were perfectly poached. Drinks were a bit slow to come at first.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claim Jumper also viewed

Fountain Valley, Orange County
Fountain Valley, Orange County
 
Fountain Valley, Orange County
Fountain Valley, Orange County
 

Been to Claim Jumper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claim Jumper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.