We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with great front desk treatment from Winston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Foster City San Francisco Bay Area

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Foster City San Francisco Bay Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Foster City San Francisco Bay Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Shell Boulevard, Foster City, CA 94404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Foster City
NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with great front desk treatment from Winston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

Very nice hotel with great lobby with a restaurant in the lobby. The whole tone of the visit was set by Winston- the front desk attendant. He was filled with enthusiasm as well as being proud of the recent renovations. A great way to end the day and an employee the management should be proud of. Lobby and rooms were very nice, very clean fresh smelling rooms and comfortable beds. About a 15 minute drive to the airport which was perfect for what we needed since we had an early morning flight.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    60
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
26
19
9
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Central Valley, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

My husband had business in the area and we stayed in this hotel. The room was filthy! There was a bottle cap left in the corner, a hair ball in the supposedly "clean" face cloth, the sink was cracked, there was a cigarette burn on the toilet seat (when it's a non-smoking hotel), the hair dryer was melted, and the bathroom threshold was dirty. I brought this to the attention of the manager who gave us a 20% discount; however, we would have rather paid full price for a clean room. Thank goodness we only stayed one night!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

Stayed at the Marriott Foster City from Monday to Friday whilst on a work conference. The hotel cost $149 a night + taxes.

The good :

Nice pool and Jacuzzi, Starbucks coffee bar, free internet (no wifi in room).

The bad :

Location is hard to get to, you get stuck in a one-way system. No restaurant, but a starbucks bar where they do food for Breakfast and Evening, but it's NOT a restaurant. The Hotel is old. Beds are very uncomfortable.

I would call this a basic hotel, that they have tried to market at a higher level. I would not recommend the hotel ever.

There is a Crowne Plaza across the road, try that first.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Even before its renovation, this hotel wasn't bad. Nothing really beats a new hotel. The last review is 10 months old and definitely this property has been transformed to something really better. No problems with the workers there from the front desk to maintenance as well as housekeeping. They were all courteous. Even when checking out by phone, the front desk person asked if everything was OK. It was indeed! The pictures I took will tell the rest that I have not mentioned.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

I have stayed several times at this property and have always been happy with the front desk service and the value/quality of room for money, but this time the stay was off. My boyfriend and I stayed for one night over Thanksgiving. The front desk staff was efficient, but not as friendly or as I have encountered in the past. We needed to prompt to enter or Marriott rewards information and the room type we had requested. We were given a tiny room on the 2nd floor of the hotel, which was fine for the one night we were staying, but had a somewhat damp smell to it and felt like it had not been stayed in for some time - stale room odor. This was not a bad stay for one night but it feels as if the standards have slipped somewhat. Still love the location for proximity to the airport and Starbucks and Noah's bagels across the street, but hope this isn't the start of a downward trend of service at this location.

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

We stayed for one night and everything was fine. Other than having a bit of trouble figuring out how to get to the place, because of goofy street layouts and turn restrictions, all went well. The front desk clerk upon check in was very friendly and helpful, the room was commonplace and clean, and the price was right. We booked through Entertainment.com and got a weekend discount of 20%. This is a business traveler's place and it seems pretty slow on the weekend. Only problem we had was that the little lotion container was not replaced prior to our stay and was partially used (ick).

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

we stayed here a few months in august. it was a avereage, nondescript hotel.
it was not that difficult to find, that is, once we figured out how to read their map! there was a small dot on it that seemed to be marking the hotel. turns out, it was not doing that at all. we looked a the adress on the sheet and got there using the map.
we got there pretty late at night and were annoyed to find the sofa bed unmade. this is pretty standard, actually, but we didnt know that then. we called the desk and they sent a maid up. after waiting a while, we did it ourselves. sometime later the maid showed up.
one of the plusses about this hotel is that it had a nice indoor pool and hot tub. these stay open till eleven.
breakfast was nice, a little better than normal, but it was not free. One of the nice things is that they will makes eggs any style fresh for you. if you are an adult who doesnt want to wait or pay the extra $2 they had scrambled egss already made, although fresh ones were available. breakfast also had pastries(stlyes vary per day, there is alwas croissants, and then one or two other things.) breakfast also had sausage, bacon, biscuits,muffins, ceral, oatmeal, coffe, orange juice and milk. it is all buffet style exept for the eggs. it cost $4 for kids, $8 for adults who didnt get fresh eggs, and $10 for adults who did.
this hotel is fine, a little pricey, but fine.

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — paying for breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Foster City San Francisco Bay Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Foster City San Francisco Bay Area

Address: 550 Shell Boulevard, Foster City, CA 94404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Foster City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Foster City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Foster City San Francisco Bay Area 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Foster City San Francisco Bay Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Foster City San Francisco Bay Area Hotel Foster City
Courtyard Foster City
Foster City Marriott
Foster City Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Foster City San Francisco Bay Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.