We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay for business traveller” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Foster City San Francisco Bay Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Foster City San Francisco Bay Area to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Foster City San Francisco Bay Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Shell Boulevard, Foster City, CA 94404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Foster City
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“good place to stay for business traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I travel for business to FC at least once a month and tried several hotels in the area. This is is recently remodeled, clean, expectionally firendly and competent stuff, free parking and you can get room facing courtyard- no street noise. The Crown Plaza cross the street could be more polished and have better gym, but beware of the highway noise. That hotel is only 10 yards from very busy highway. So, I high recommend this Courtyard for business traveller.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    74
    24
    8
    6
See reviews for
38
21
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Booked four nights here. Left after one. I know, all business travelers with all those points get some perks, but we were not impressed at all. Hotel is old but remodeled, but air conditioning is still very noisy. Rooms small overall.Best part is the breakfast policy! Want water and coffee, no way. Want juice and coffee, no way. Bean counters have cheapened Marriott overall. Suggest you look at many other hotel choices in the area with better rooms and certainly a better breakfast. We will not be staying with Marriott, and forget our points!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Pricey food
Wi Fi is okay
easily accessible swimming pool room

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Stayed here two nights and did not want to leave. Check in was easy (Silver Marriott Rewards member) got room with 2 Q requested on top floor (2nd). Ran into SF for the 9ers game and sight seeing and was a big savings over the in town properties. It was a remodeled room with red walls and great new carpet. It felt more like an upscale trendy resort than a economy motel. Its the best Courtyard Ive been too and Ive been to about 10.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

A great hotel, but very expensive and no breakfast!!
Good if you're in foster city for business for a few days as the metro center is very nearby.
If you're staying for more than a few days, it might be worth considering the Residence Inn in San Mateo which is cheaper and serves full breakfast and a light dinner.
having said that, the housekeeping is immaculate.
The courtyard itself is very nice complete with a fireplace.

Room Tip: Ask for a microwave if you need one, its free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I hate this Marriott. I came into the hotel at 9pm to check in on a random Wednesday night, only to find out that I was a victim of "overbooking," and they reverted me to another Marriott that was 20 minutes away from this location. The woman at the front desk was not very accomodating, telling me she AND the 2nd staffer had called my number multiple times and couldn't get through. In my head, I thought it was BS. You'd think after calling so much, they'd also send an email (don't people use email more often these days?).

We spent about 20 minutes arguing on why I got the short end of the stick. I was angry because she even chose a hotel before confirming with me it was okay. It was not. She said there were no more hotels available. They would not pay for another accomodation outside of Marriott. It wasn't until countless arguments and frustration where she came to me and out pops another Marriott hotel less than 10 minutes away. (Why wasn't this hotel available before, and it magically became available?)

There's something shady about this hotel, and I don't like the lies. Turns out I only received one phone call at 6:10pm, and NO voice mail. Don't lie, employees.

Terrible experience and unaccomodating. Wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Call in advance of your reservation to make sure your room wasn't taken by someone else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

If I had to point something out about this property, it would be how it compares to the previous 2 Courtyard Marriotts my boyfriend & I have stayed at. I was expecting the alarm clock to be iPod friendly, but it was just your regular, typical digital alarm clock. I was expecting the room to be a bit more modern, comparable to the the other Courtyard brand Marriotts we've stayed at, but it was a nice, clean room. The pillows made sleeping fairly difficult because they get flat & arent't full. I didn't feel like I was able to get enough sleep through the night because I kept having to refluff the pillows. I woke up each morning feeling sore & restless.

Overall, the room & property were nice & clean. Despite this property not being up to par to other Courtyards we've visited, we had a pleasant stay nonetheless. I really appreciated the fact that housekeeping respected our Do Not Disturb sign throughout our stay!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Foster City San Francisco Bay Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Foster City San Francisco Bay Area

Address: 550 Shell Boulevard, Foster City, CA 94404
Location: United States > California > Foster City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Foster City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Foster City San Francisco Bay Area 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Foster City San Francisco Bay Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Foster City San Francisco Bay Area Hotel Foster City
Courtyard Foster City
Foster City Marriott
Foster City Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Foster City San Francisco Bay Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.