We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the absolute best place to stay if missed connection flight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 Chess Drive, Foster City, CA 94404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Foster City
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“the absolute best place to stay if missed connection flight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

we missed our connection out of San Francisco and united airlines sent us to this hotel .The staff were the best the facilities were A grade and it was close to the airport .Fantastic place to stay even if we did not choose it .So if you miss a connection in San Francisco demand that the airline puts you up there.l

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    77
    56
    29
    21
See reviews for
30
34
24
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great service,polite staff,value for money,close to shops and food outlets if needed,the hotel has bar that serves good food in the evenings,good room service also has Japanese restaurant,nice breakfast served each morning in central area.Great base for exploring bay area.

Room Tip: Nicely designed hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in this hotel only because it was not too far from the airport. All we were looking for was for a nice rest before our early morning flight. unfortunately we were waken up at 11:00pm from the cleaning room service who were making lots of noise in the corridor. We came out and complaint with no avail, we called reception and they simply noted our disappointment. The next day as I complaint to the receptionist I was confronted with incredulity (YES I ENJOY MAKING THESE THINGS UP!) and indifference. Stay away from this hotel if you wish to have a nice rest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Alvarorrr,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am glad that our location was suitable enough for your needs. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the staff service and noise levels at our hotel. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

During a week when it seemed like every hotel in the Bay Area was filled with conference goers, I had no choice but to stay in this large hotel, south of SFO.

To be clear, this hotel is definitely not "close to the airport" by any typical, you can hear the planes passing by overhead, definition. It's a significant schlep by shuttle bus, and when (not if) there's traffic, it's annoyingly far from the terminal.

The hotel itself is pretty nice. The biggest plus is a variety of in-house options for dining, including a sushi place that was better than average. There's really no place to go outside the hotel, especially if you don't have a car, so it's good the hotel has these options. (The only bummer was that there was a conference here, and the sushi restaurant was definitely overwhelmed, and I waited 45 minutes for a single roll. Luckily, there was a good game on TV.)

With the exception of a very grumpy shuttle bus driver, the staff here has been incredibly nice and friendly. The rooms are typical, and big. Not fancy, but totally satisfactory. On ammenities, I'll give them a +1 on a better than usual brand of in room coffee, and a -1 that there's nothing to snack on in the room, should you be one of those people willing to spend $4 on a bag of M&Ms.

Anyway, this is an average (not in a bad way), well run, exactly what you think it is spot with better than usual food selections.

My only caution is, if your goal is to stay "by the airport," there are probably 20 other better options.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We went to the Bay Area over Labor Day weekend- meeting my daughter and her family there. Since she has young kids the indoor pool was an important factor in choosing this hotel. We stayed in the executive tower which is seperate so had no noise issues related to the ballroom- although there were functions there -- we couldnt hear them. The pool and jacuzzi were good although on monday morning they closed the pool for renovations-- would have been nice to just finish up the long weekend and then start the renovations-- we had a disapointed little guy ready to swim! The walls are a little thin and we could hear mumbled conversation from the room next door. Other than that it was fine-- pretty standard-- nothing exceptional and nothing horrible either-- we were happy with the room, the value, the location ( San Mateo has many great parks with some great play areas!) and it was an easy drive into San Francisco for a day trip. We also had an option of taking the free hotel shuttle to the airport and the BART into the city from there--- we didnt do that becasue of the young kids but it would be a fine option with older kids or adults. There is a large outdoor mall area within very close walking it has a target, toys r us, bed bath beyond and more- also several resturaunts-- all within about a 3 minute walk. We found that to be very handy. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hello Gail R,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate your review and hope to see you again soon. Glad you had a nice Labor Day Weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raumati Beach, Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Confortable room, nice breakfast.
I spent just one night at the Crowne Plaza - comfortable, fairly standard room and amenities.
The only downside is no outside view from the room, it overlooked the internal courtyard.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel after travelling all day from Charlotte, NC to CA. Was exhausted and looking forward to some rest. Unfortunately the hotel is an open concept building and all rooms are exposed to the lobby and ballroom. There was a wedding party the night I was there and the very loud music could be heard everywhere. It didn't stop until 2 a.m. No sleep for the weary until after that time. I will never stay at an open concept hotel again. I complained but nothing was done and no money refunded. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: No good rooms here. Do not stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear LeAnn S,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had with the noise during your stay. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo

Address: 1221 Chess Drive, Foster City, CA 94404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Foster City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Foster City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful Crowne Plaza Hotel in Foster City is centrally located on the San Francisco Peninsula between Downtown San Francisco, San Jose, and the East Bay. Our property is just 7 miles from San Francisco International Airport and 22 miles from downtown San Francisco. Our unique building design has a beautiful atrium lobby filled with koi ponds, waterfalls, and palm trees that will provide a relaxing setting on your next visit. Some of our features include:* Complimentary Internet access in all guest rooms, lobby, all restaurants, and pool area* Three different varieties of restaurants, room service, and a sports bar* Complimentary SFO airport shuttle* Complimentary parking* Complimentary shuttle leaving at 10:30am daily to The Hillsdale Shopping Mall* Conveniently located next to The BridgePointe Shopping center* 24 hour business center with complimentary use of three computers and a printer* Relax in our indoor heated pool jacuzzi* Use of Fitness center* Executive Club Level rooms include Dell XP desktop computers with DVD drive, flat screen monitors and Continental Breakfast, Monday-Friday.* 16,000 Square feet of flexible meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo Hotel Foster City
Crowne Plaza San Francisco
Peninsula Foster City
Foster City Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.