We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like Loud Music until 2 a.m. stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 Chess Drive, Foster City, CA 94404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Foster City
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you like Loud Music until 2 a.m. stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel after travelling all day from Charlotte, NC to CA. Was exhausted and looking forward to some rest. Unfortunately the hotel is an open concept building and all rooms are exposed to the lobby and ballroom. There was a wedding party the night I was there and the very loud music could be heard everywhere. It didn't stop until 2 a.m. No sleep for the weary until after that time. I will never stay at an open concept hotel again. I complained but nothing was done and no money refunded. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: No good rooms here. Do not stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear LeAnn S,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had with the noise during your stay. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    78
    61
    30
    22
See reviews for
33
34
24
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed one night after a wedding . Check- in was very quick, staff was friendly, hotel was clean, and in a good location . My son complained about his sofa bed being uncomfortable, but they always are . Our bed was good , lol.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Very nice hotel- The rooms were nice and very clean. They have many dining/drinking choices on the property and many places within walking distance. This seems to be more of a buisness or adult hotel. We had a large group for a nearby wedding, probably not the greatest for small kids. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay her again.

Room Tip: Ask for an exeutive tower room, its away from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I have stayed at the Crowne Plaza in San Mateo several times and have never had a bad experience. The Crowne is a very nice standard business hotel, is affordable, offers free parking and has several options for dining on the property. The rooms had all the standard appointments including a nice workspace with wired and wireless internet, flat screen television and a good sized bathroom. The staff, including front desk, housekeeping and food service was all exceptional.

My favorite on property restaurant is Tokai with a great Sushi bar and is a favorite lunch spot. Breakfast is an efficient well stocked buffet in the lobby restaurant with an attentive wait staff that is fully aware most diners are in a hurry and need to eat and get to their morning meetings. For an after work cocktail make sure to stop at the Chit Chat lobby bar and have Bulent make you a vodka martini, shaken not stirred.
In the evening many weary business travelers head to the Clubhouse Bistro, a full service sports bar with several massive televisions broadcasting sports from all over the country.

If you want to dine off property, the Bridgepointe shopping center is a short walk away with several options including BJ’s Restaurant and Brewhouse and a Red Robin.

If you are in Foster City for a business trip you can’t go wrong at the Crowne.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Hello David D. Thank you for your kind review. At the Crowne Plaza, we meet guests' expectations by understanding the purpose of stay and personalize accordingly. We are pleased to know you had a great experience at our property and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We booked through hotels.com, specifying double beds and late check in, non-ground floor rooms, however, upon our arrival at 2 am in the morning, the front desk did not receive any of these instructions. We were put into a room with one bed and a sofa bed that could not fold out due to the placement of the air conditioning unit. On top of that, the room smelled strongly of B.O., throughout the night, there were sounds of water dripping, scratching, pipe noises, but we waited til the morning to switch rooms because we were tired from our late flight and the front desk had told us there were no other rooms available until morning. So in the morning, we headed to the front desk to raise our issues and Jeanie was able to switch our reservations and place us into rooms in the main building, which was a VAST improvement in terms of condition and cleanliness in comparison to our first room. Even though the hotel was was pretty full that morning, she addressed our issues in a professional and understanding manner and really took action to accommodate us. If not for her, I would never stay at another Crowne Plaza hotel again as the condition and comfort of the first room was extremely disappointing and soured our perspective on this hotel. Jeanie was extremely helpful and professional in turning this around, as a result, the rest of our stay was comfortable and fantastic, everything we had hoped for when we first booked this hotel.

Room Tip: However, please be aware that if you book this hotel through a third party/site, your preferences/sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Hello MikeAAP. Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to learn you had a sastisfying stay. All our staff strive to accommodate your needs as best as possible to guarantee a good night's rest. We, along with Jeannie, hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for my brother's wedding just this past weekend. His wedding reception was held there. So being part of the wedding party, we received a discount for 89.99 which was pretty nice considering the reg. price was 129.99 or higher. We checked in on Thursday and that went pretty fast and smooth. Went to room and it was amazing! I didn't find anything wrong with the room expect for our view, which was a wall haha but we didn't really mind that :) we had a double bed also. Me and my sister got ourselves accomudated pretty fast and had our stuff all over the place, like our make-up and clothes etc. We stepped outside our room to run a few errands we came back and our room was spotless. The maids even placed our make-up in order nicely in bathroom, gave us more toiletries, folded our clothes, and put everything back nicely! I was so amazed at how spotless everything was that I personally thanked them the next morning. Also another thing I loved was the Bistro club they had downstairs. Our whole wedding party celebrated there on Sat. and loved it. Everyone was so nice! We didn't have any problems during our stay even with the wedding reception. The staff was so flexible and very welcoming. We had over 300+ guests and the staff made sure we were well taken care of :) all our guests who attended gave us so much compliments on how much they loved the wedding, and we couldn't of pulled it off without your hotel and staff. I also loved the free parking and free wifi. Everything was smooth from the day we checked in to the checked out :) I loved the voicemail check-out, fast and easy! So yes, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone! I will be back :) thank you and best regards! God Bless!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I really like this place. Everything you need is in walking distance. The staff are great. Food is good and the rooms are nice. Stay here for pleasure, business. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo

Address: 1221 Chess Drive, Foster City, CA 94404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Foster City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Foster City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful Crowne Plaza Hotel in Foster City is centrally located on the San Francisco Peninsula between Downtown San Francisco, San Jose, and the East Bay. Our property is just 7 miles from San Francisco International Airport and 22 miles from downtown San Francisco. Our unique building design has a beautiful atrium lobby filled with koi ponds, waterfalls, and palm trees that will provide a relaxing setting on your next visit. Some of our features include:* Complimentary Internet access in all guest rooms, lobby, all restaurants, and pool area* Three different varieties of restaurants, room service, and a sports bar* Complimentary SFO airport shuttle* Complimentary parking* Complimentary shuttle leaving at 10:30am daily to The Hillsdale Shopping Mall* Conveniently located next to The BridgePointe Shopping center* 24 hour business center with complimentary use of three computers and a printer* Relax in our indoor heated pool jacuzzi* Use of Fitness center* Executive Club Level rooms include Dell XP desktop computers with DVD drive, flat screen monitors and Continental Breakfast, Monday-Friday.* 16,000 Square feet of flexible meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo Hotel Foster City
Crowne Plaza San Francisco
Peninsula Foster City
Foster City Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.