We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, close to airport, good for business trips” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 Chess Drive, Foster City, CA 94404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Foster City
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel, close to airport, good for business trips”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

The hotel is located 10 minutes from the airport and you can get to San Francisco in about 30 minutes with good traffic. Located next to the 101 highway.
Lobby of the hotel is nicely decorated and there are 3 places to eat at the hotel; a pub, sushi place and the main lobby cafe.
Rooms are clean.
The hotel is a good fit for business travel to the Bay area.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the highway. It's a little bit noisy if your bedroom faces the highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    83
    68
    33
    25
See reviews for
40
35
25
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Algonquin, Illinois, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for six days which can seem like forever when you are on a business trip. After the second day, I felt like everyone knew my name and asked how my day was. The breakfast food was excellent and worth every penny for the buffet. They had so many choices for dinner that I didnt even get to try it all before I left. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone near San Francisco!

Room Tip: If you can afford it get one of the executive suites. The walk out balcony was amazing and it was gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I stayed in the executive tower on the 7th floor. Despite looking out over the freeway the noise level was very low and I slept well. Otherwise the room was generally OK.The breakfast included in the rate was very poor. The breakfast menu in the main area was much better but of course you had to pay for it. The gym was small with little choice of equipment. The main desk was efficient and helpful.

Room Tip: If you're in the "executive" tower then get a high floor. If you're in the main b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Our family of three from Sacramento spent a night at this hotel with the expressed purpose, then, of leaving our car at the hotel while we traveled in Chile for 2 weeks. As a package arrangement, charges for our room included the room, parking for the duration of our travels, and shuttle transportation from the hotel to the airport in San Francisco and back, on our return. There are a number of such offerings in the Bay Area. Our choice was a very good one.

The hotel was modern, clean and quiet with free Internet and a good exercise facility. The breakfast offering in house was robust and very good. We ate dinner the night of our stay at the Asian restaurant in the hotel and thought the food qutie good and reasonably priced. Staff was friendly and helpful.

The shuttle worked well. Travel to the airport was efficient and on-time. Note that the service to the airport is available hourly, on the hour. On return, the process is to call the hotel and notify it of the need to be picked up at the airport. That worked well, without undue delay. A caveat: the hotel is positioned approximately 10-15 minutes away from the airport, which is not as close as some of its competitors. That said, a major advantage of this hotel is the opportunity to park the car in a covered (but still outdoor) parking lot. Pricing for the package was competitive.

In future travel when use of the airport in San Francisco is in our plans, this hotel will be our choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Great hotel for accessing the business district in the region, close to restaurants and SFO. The outside rooms are noisy so get an inside facing room overlooking the restaurant.

Room Tip: Get an Inside facing room away from the night club
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed here for the second time, and I was concerned after reading the reviews but booked it for one night as it is closest to our desination. Staff was great w/ quick checkin, nice room, quiet. Checked out the pool and hot tub area - it was clean & tidy. A woman with her child were having a good splash to themselves. If you plan to use this area and are self conscious, it is a glass walled area tucked off the lobby/dining area so bring a robe or swimsuit cover when you are moving through the main sections.

Met some area relatives in the lounge and decided to spend the evening in, watched some football on TV and ordered appetizers and dinner. (Due to the Xmas-New Yr schedule, the sushi spot inside the hotel was closed that night.) Food was terrific & prices reasonable for the portions. (There was a special on some items but would have paid full amount without any thought.) Bartender Scott has been with the place 12 yrs & he was fantastic, good drinks and excellent service.

The bathroom was well equipped with the usual amenities, and although I didn't sleep well, there was enough on the local TV to not need a pay per view movie though many were available. My spouse commented he thought the bed a little too firm but snored most of the night anyway so I think it's because we have a pillowtop mattresspad at home & firm is better than too soft. The wakeup call service is automated and came on time, with a snooze type feature too.

Would stay here again. It is close to the Bridgepointe Shopping Center that is in easy walking district where there are major stores and are several local chain restaurants. We like BJ's & Red Robins for lunch or dinner but Chipotle is also close if you don't want to dine in. We noticed the lobby was empty at breakfast since we were there 12/27/11 but since I had a medical appt, we skipped real food and instead brought fruit and protein drinks with us to have in the room that AM.

Room Tip: We have stayed both times in the main section closest to the covered parking garage. There is anoth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

While staying here in August 2011 for a family event (held at the hotel), we were displeased with numerous staff members, who had poor attitudes and customer service skills. While trying to check out, my elderly mother-in-law got into an elevator, which promptly broke down and continued running up, then down, and up again, & on and on. She was trapped in there for over an hour, and the hotel staff delayed in calling the fire department until the last half hour, even though we requested them to do so immediately. All she got was a free breakfast. I think a room comp was in order considering her ordeal and her stress level, but that's just me. :-)

Room Tip: In this hotel, get a room as close as possible to the bottom floor. Their elevators are unreliable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo

Address: 1221 Chess Drive, Foster City, CA 94404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Foster City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Foster City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful Crowne Plaza Hotel in Foster City is centrally located on the San Francisco Peninsula between Downtown San Francisco, San Jose, and the East Bay. Our property is just 7 miles from San Francisco International Airport and 22 miles from downtown San Francisco. Our unique building design has a beautiful atrium lobby filled with koi ponds, waterfalls, and palm trees that will provide a relaxing setting on your next visit. Some of our features include:* Complimentary Internet access in all guest rooms, lobby, all restaurants, and pool area* Three different varieties of restaurants, room service, and a sports bar* Complimentary SFO airport shuttle* Complimentary parking* Complimentary shuttle leaving at 10:30am daily to The Hillsdale Shopping Mall* Conveniently located next to The BridgePointe Shopping center* 24 hour business center with complimentary use of three computers and a printer* Relax in our indoor heated pool jacuzzi* Use of Fitness center* Executive Club Level rooms include Dell XP desktop computers with DVD drive, flat screen monitors and Continental Breakfast, Monday-Friday.* 16,000 Square feet of flexible meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo Hotel Foster City
Crowne Plaza San Francisco
Peninsula Foster City
Foster City Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.