We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The terrible beds ruined it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel to your Saves list
The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1859 Alamar Way, Fortuna, CA 95540 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Fortuna (Ferndale Area))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fortuna
GreenLeadersSilver level
san francisco, ca
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The terrible beds ruined it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel looks great in the photos and in the actual lobby, and even the rooms look okay, except the beds look bad (sunken in middle) and are really, really bad in actuality as well. This is our second time staying here and the only reason my husband and I stayed one night here again was that it was Christmas night and the Best Western next door was booked that night. OMG, we will never stay here again.

I am shocked Trip Advisor gave this a certificate of excellence for 2014; my husband and I laughed when we read that. I am sad that a hotel can rename itself (used to be Holiday Inn Express I think) and give itself an exterior "upgrade" but doesn't care to change out the very old, very cheap and uncomfortable beds for at least satisfactory ones. We are also quite surprised at the good reviews for this hotel. Maybe those reviewers have equally poor beds at home?

Room Tip: ask if there are any rooms with better or newer beds????
See more room tips
Green Features: there is a snafu with the program here and I can't submit this review for some reason because I did not write enough characters. Please fix this.
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    73
    33
    15
    7
See reviews for
61
62
12
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night during a road trip from Portland to San Francisco, and were happy with our stay. It was ideally situated since it's right off the 101 freeway, but still far enough back that we really didn't hear the traffic.

The room was very reasonably priced (I think we paid $79 for the night, including breakfast for two), and surprisingly spacious. The bathroom is a little on the small side, but since the sink was outside the bathroom and had a great amount of counter space, this wasn't a problem at all. We had a king bed, desk and chair, mini fridge, coffee maker, TV with what seemed like hundreds of channels…everything you could need.

Check in and check out were both fast and efficient, and the staff was really helpful in giving us directions. One tip is that the best option for dinner is definitely the Eel River Brewing Company--it's a two-minute walk from the hotel and had decent food, organic beers, local wines. The only other thing in the vicinity is a pretty grimy-looking pizza joint, so really, they had us at "walking distance" since we didn't want to get back in the car after so much driving.

Breakfast at the hotel was reasonable, maybe not as impressive as I'd expected given all the great reviews, but perfectly fine, especially as it was included in the room rate. There were yogurt parfaits, cereals, toast, and a few kinds of juice. Worked great for us.

I have to knock off one star only because I couldn't get the wifi to work at all, even when I tried multiple networks. We only stayed one night, so this wasn't a huge deal at all, but a minor annoyance nevertheless. Other than that, I'd happily recommend this hotel for fellow road trippers, or those who might be staying in the area for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On our way back from Healdsburg, CA we stopped for the here night in Fortuna, CA. The friendly and helpful staff offered us locally grown apples upon sign in and the rate were very reasonable, very nice and clean. Love the shampoo, conditioner, and soap dispensers.

Would recommend for any travelers.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel when it was a Holiday Inn Express and now they have gone independent and can I say they couldn't have done better. It smells better it looks cleaner and best of all the price is better than before. The breakfast is handsdown better than any IHG or Marriott i've stayed at before. Love the dispenser's for soap and other amenities - no more waste of unused shampoos and soaps. Why can't other hotels do the same......but why would other chains do this it will choke the millions in revenues they get as kickbacks.

Its green, its clean and its the best bang for the buck out there. If you are heading up to the redwoods and need a hotel look up the The Redwood hotel in Fortuna. I'm glad i stayed here.

Green Features: It is above and beyond environmentally friendly. They have dispensers for soap and shampoo. =)
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

The pool and sauna were not working and had been non operational for over a year yet the web site shows as a perk. Many flies in the room and lobby area. around the free breakfast. board games available.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
I have owned this property for 6 + years. The pool has probably been closed a total of 2 weeks in that time. Pool hours are 8 am - 10 pm daily. Hot tub has been out of order (and commented on everywhere, many times). Hot tub reference has been removed from booking sites. We are now in the process of repairing the hot tub. Flies are an issue because of the drought and we do leave the doors open in the lobby so we do constantly try to rid the area of them. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

I have to go to fortuna on business all the time,used to stay at holiday inn all the time got great business rates 60 to 70 bucks a night it was great but I stayed there twice after it became the redwood inn it well over 100 bucks for night it also did not seem as well kept up not as clean for that area all the motels in fortuna are over priced you can stay in eureka for half the price its only 15 miles away and you have much better choices for meals and the food is much better.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Sorry that you have not enjoyed our conversion to an independent hotel. We have tried to make decisions based on the area as well as focusing on our staff and better value decisions. I personally enjoy Eel River Brewery and Springville Steak, plus the restaurants in Ferndale. We are the same ownership and the same great staff and we will try to continue to move forward with the local area in mind. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

It was nice however u got there 8 ish at night and I had made reservations a week prior and when we opened the suite it was trashed they said it hadn't been rented in over a week and was still filthy the front desk girl came changed the sheets and cleaned up a little when she could but it would have been nice to get some sort of discount for the inconvenience since we had to wait an additional hour and half to get the room cleaned

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 1859 Alamar Way, Fortuna, CA 95540 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Fortuna (Ferndale Area))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fortuna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fortuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel is an independently owned luxury hotel in Fortuna, CA. Our accommodations reflect the natural beauty of the redwood area. Located off US 101 in an area with traveler services, The Redwood seeks to be your one-of-a-kind choice. Our central location serves as the ideal base camp to visit the many state parks and enjoy other outdoor activities in Humboldt County. Our connection to the area guides the decisions we make. It also gives direction to our upgraded breakfast at the Canteen. There, you will find yogurt, local jams and honey, fresh, seasonal fruit and even biscuits and gravy. Plus, we have gluten free options. In the afternoons you may even find a plate of brownies at the desk, a wink to another famous Humboldt industry. Some of our amenities offered include complimentary buffet breakfast Two stories, exterior corridor, parking in private lot near all guest rooms, 100% non-smoking. Indoor pool and spa, pets welcome, guest laundry, and we have hand painted murals and lobby map for your viewing and convenience. But the heart of hospitality is not the amenities, it is the service. As your independent hotel choice in Fortuna we strive to give "boutique hotel" service and exceptional hospitality. Because we are small and independent, changes will continue to improve the guest experience. The guest is the reason we are here, but the redwoods, rivers and general area are the reasons you, the guest, are here. With this in mind, we seek to offer you a strong sense of place. That sense of place is the Giant Redwoods of Humboldt County. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fortuna (Ferndale Area) Hotel Fortuna
Holiday Inn Fortuna
Fortuna Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.