We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and pricing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1859 Alamar Way, Fortuna, CA 95540 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Fortuna (Ferndale Area))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Fortuna
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salem
1 review
“Location and pricing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Location was not great but room very pleasant double queen Executive King overpriced. Service very friendly and very helpful. Really great on food needs
We being Lacto vegetarian. Very Helpful staff. Tried to please very much and succeeded.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    58
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
46
46
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent one night after a day of exploring the wonderful redwoods. We were greeted by a very friendly desk clerk who informed us we had been upgraded to the King Suite with a jacuzzi since there were plumbing issues with our assigned room.
The room itself was quite large and a mixed bag. The bed was super comfortable and sheets appeared new. The furniture in the room was a little grubby and showing it's age, as was the calk/grout in the bathroom and around the jacuzzi tub. Overall the room was clean and I slept well.
Breakfast was included, nothing special but on par with what you should expect from this type of accommodation.
I think all of the motels in this area are about the same, I chose this one because it is a non smoking property which I consider a big plus. Our stay was fine, and yours will be too. Just don't heighten your expectations because they have labeled this place a "boutique property"- it's just a middle of the road independently owned motel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just traveling on vacation. The bed was very comfortable. And the night clerk Tara was amazing. It was so nice to see a smiling friendly face after traveling for several hours. She was not just extremely friendly, but she was very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My family spent just one night, passing Fortuna on our way to California. Our room was spacious and clean. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The kids liked the indoor pool. We had some promlems with one of our beds (a broken leg caused it to partially collapse). Staff couldn't fix it and no handyman was available because of the late hour - we fixed it temporarily ourselves and recieved a discount on our bill. Breakfast selection was ok. Nearby Eel River Brewery and Grill (within just a few minutes walk) was absolutely great. If we ever return to Fortuna, we'd stay at the Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk again.
/The Strom family from Eslöv, Sweden

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was not thrilled when I arrived by looks alone. I was pleasantly surprised by the friendly staff, clean rooms and the dog friendly status. If I had just driven down the street I would not have picked the hotel but when I registered and went to the room all was better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks for letting everyone know that they need to stop in at The Redwood. Our staff truly makes all the difference here. Since going independent 12 months ago we continue to make improvements to the the property and that will definitely include new signage and landscaping out front. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Mn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in Fortuna after a full day of hiking in the Redwoods. We stayed in the King suite which included a jacuzzi and was greatly appreciated after a full day hiking. I would have given it 5 stats however the breakfast selection was lacking and the hot breakfast items looked like they had been overcooked and microwaved.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
So glad you were able to enjoy your room after enjoying the redwoods. Our full,hot, complimentary breakfast is always something we are striving to improve. We are currently in the process of tasting and testing new items. We want to offer a great way for everyone to start the day. (By the way, no microwaves for breakfast). Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First off, the Hotel is fine. Not super fancy but clean, good beds, decent wifi, etc. The reason for this review is to point out what a great job a particular employee did during our stay. Tara was working the front desk when we checked in. She was friendly and efficient. My wife and I followed her suggestion and went to a close by Micro Brewery for dinner. After waiting a bit for a table, we had just gotten seated when the power went off. Turns out the power was off in the entire town and would be for at least two hours. So, we went back to the hotel and this is when it became obvious that Tara is a valuable employee. While we ate the berries we had purchased earlier (not really our dinner plan), we watched Tara balance the needs of the customers, explain the situation to people wanting to register, deliver battery powered lamps to everyone staying at the hotel, answer the phone, coordinate a plan with her manager (via phone), and do it all with a smile and great attitude. We were impressed. Later that evening the power was restored and Tara had to coordinate getting the TV cable and WiFi reset. Again, she did so with efficiency and a "can do" attitude. Unfortunate that many Hotels do not have staff that are as easy to work with.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are very fortunate to have the staff we do at The Redwood. You have said it all. Thanks and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 1859 Alamar Way, Fortuna, CA 95540 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Fortuna (Ferndale Area))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fortuna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Fortuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What can you expect from Fortuna's independent hotel? You can expect a small scale hotel that left the corporate, franchise environment to offer an experience with a proud sense of place. You can expect a hotel that is evolving as we make decisions that are aligned with Humboldt County's rich heritage and history. You can expect a little of the "un-expected".Located off US 101 in an area with traveler services, The Redwood seeks to be your one-of-a-kind choice amongst the small grouping of franchise hotels, restaurants, and gas stations in Fortuna. Steps from this small grouping of businesses are the final miles of Eel River, before it reaches the Pacific. Our central location serves as the ideal base camp to visit the many state parks and enjoy other outdoor activities in Humboldt County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fortuna (Ferndale Area) Hotel Fortuna
Holiday Inn Fortuna
Fortuna Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.