We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel to your Saves list
The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1859 Alamar Way, Fortuna, CA 95540 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Fortuna (Ferndale Area))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fortuna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Rosa, USA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great place great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was very happy with my stay. The rooms are clean and include a fridge anf microwave. For the price I rarely see such details. Also the rooms are huge for only having one bed.

Also the breakfast is decent. No complaints.

Only thing is the blankets were too thin! Maybe I could have asked but didnt. Oh well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thanks for commenting on The Redwood. Glad you were able to enjoy all the space in your room. We are always happy to offer another blanket if needed. Hope to see you again and we will be happy to have blankets available. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    80
    39
    15
    9
See reviews for
64
69
12
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night in the "King Room" and the room was great, clean, and had a really comfortable bed. The shower was easy to operate and the water temperature and pressure were extremely comfortable. The service was great and the breakfast in the morning was delicious and satisfying (especially the biscuits and gravy)!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thanks for recognizing our service. Since going independent on July 1 we knew that we would need to focus on the service. We work on our development daily. Have safe travels and we hope to see you back at The Redwood soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shasta, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My fiance and I rented the 'King Suite' and we both felt it was an excellent room. The jacuzzi tub was particularly nice, and big enough for a guy who is six foot five to fit into it comfortably. Service at the front desk was friendly and excellent. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Very happy you could enjoy all the benefits of our King Suite. We are always focused on our service and pride ourselves on the staff. Safe travels and we appreciate all recommendations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My stay was nice, the heater was outdated, but functional; the pool was green looking and could have been a bit warmer and towels should be available in the pool area, it the staff was very friendly and went above and beyond for my requests. All in all a decent stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
We love our staff at The Redwood! And we have new members that will continue to take care of our guests. More than half the rooms have new heating units and we will continue to upgrade. Towels are available at the front desk, steps from the pool, so that we can monitor the pool area and be able to assist our guests. As well, the pool is on a daily maintenance schedule which also involves draining and cleaning. We will continue to monitor it daily. Safe travels and thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, U.S.A
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

All positive feedback. Breakfast could use some help, but that is very minor. Enjoyed our overall stay. We felt it was worth the $89
dollars spent for the night. We enjoyed dinner at The Victorian Inn in nearby Ferndale. Great restaurant only 9 miles away.
Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thanks for recommending us. We love Ferndale. We always recommend the Victorian Inn for a meal and a visit to the town when in Humboldt County. Safe travels and we look forward to your return for our improved breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Everything regarding our stay at the Redwood was excellent. It started with the front desk staff...helpful, cheerfull and excellent suggestion for dinner at the nearby Eel River Brewery. The Brewery staff were excellent, as well as the food and their suggestions for drinks!
The Redwood itself was clean and comfortable...We would recommend it to anyone and would not hesitate to stay there again should our travels take us to that part of the country.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. Since our transition to an independent hotel, The Redwood, we have been looking for guest feedback to guide us. Your comments shows that is it is working! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our last stop on a trip through the Lost Coast area of California. The room was very clean, bed was comfortable and the front desk had a little dogie bag with goodies for our dog. We had dinner at the nearby Eel River Brewery which was great! We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, we eat at Poppa Joe's in Ferndale, also a great place to eat! I'd recommend this hotel to anyone, whether you're traveling with your dog or not. Great place to stay in a beautiful part of California!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Glad you got to experience the Lost Coast, it is such a beautiful part of California. Thanks for your review and we always appreciate such a great recommendation. Look forward to having you return and hopefully you'll enjoy our breakfast. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 1859 Alamar Way, Fortuna, CA 95540 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Fortuna (Ferndale Area))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Fortuna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fortuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel is an independently owned luxury hotel in Fortuna, CA. Our accommodations reflect the natural beauty of the redwood area. Located off US 101 in an area with traveler services, The Redwood seeks to be your one-of-a-kind choice. Our central location serves as the ideal base camp to visit the many state parks and enjoy other outdoor activities in Humboldt County. Our connection to the area guides the decisions we make. It also gives direction to our upgraded breakfast at the Canteen. There, you will find yogurt, local jams and honey, fresh, seasonal fruit and even biscuits and gravy. Plus, we have gluten free options. In the afternoons you may even find a plate of brownies at the desk, a wink to another famous Humboldt industry. Some of our amenities offered include complimentary buffet breakfast Two stories, exterior corridor, parking in private lot near all guest rooms, 100% non-smoking. Indoor pool and spa, pets welcome, guest laundry, and we have hand painted murals and lobby map for your viewing and convenience. But the heart of hospitality is not the amenities, it is the service. As your independent hotel choice in Fortuna we strive to give "boutique hotel" service and exceptional hospitality. Because we are small and independent, changes will continue to improve the guest experience. The guest is the reason we are here, but the redwoods, rivers and general area are the reasons you, the guest, are here. With this in mind, we seek to offer you a strong sense of place. That sense of place is the Giant Redwoods of Humboldt County. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fortuna (Ferndale Area) Hotel Fortuna
Holiday Inn Fortuna
Fortuna Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.