We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday weekend!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel to your Saves list
The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1859 Alamar Way, Fortuna, CA 95540 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Fortuna (Ferndale Area))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fortuna
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pacifica, USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I love the location and excellent service!!! Pretty big size room and clean. We would love to come back in the future and for sure we will recommend with our family and friends. I'm so glad I found this place just by searching on line and by looking at photos.



.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Well Happy Birthday! Glad you had a special time for your special day. We have had fun putting together our website and our pleased it was able to assist. We look forward to next year's birthday blowout!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    73
    33
    15
    7
See reviews for
61
62
12
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

After a long day of travelling down the Oregon Coast it was a pleasant surprise to find spacious and relaxing accommodations. I understand that the property was a Holiday Inn Express prior, but I saw no signs of the chain hotel look and feel. I loved the fact that the lobby and even rooms have a local flavor in its décor. I chose this hotel for a couple of reasons, (one) because they have dog friendly rooms and (two) because of its location (easy access to continue our coastal route). Bonus is the friendly staff, very spacious room, and the green belt area for our small pug to run. They provide doggie bags and seem to keep the area clean of doggie business. Although right off the highway, the hotel was very quiet. Even the Eel River Brewing Company next door didn’t seem to add any additional noise. I am a runner and loved being able to go for a run in the morning along the river. It was a little chilly but refreshing.

The room itself had all the standard amenities, but what was different was some of the green products they use, such as the bathroom shampoo and conditioner. I loved the clean TV remote as well – general remotes are always nasty to touch. The room was very clean and the double beds were both comfortable with quality linens. I loved the extra mirror at the sink, perfect for a close shave. The bathroom itself is small, but was fine. The shower – tub combo with extended curtain rod made up for the tight quarters. The room also had a small fridge and microwave and complimentary coffee set up, although we did not use them. The Wi-Fi was complimentary and was easy to connect to. I was able to catch up on emails and research our next leg of our trip along the coast at the spacious desk area provided.

We went down for breakfast after my morning run and enjoyed a great selection of items. The scones were the best. I loved the fresh melon, and they were gracious enough to make me a vegetarian frittata upon request.

The pool and Jacuzzi are indoors near the lobby and seemed well maintained, but we did not use the facilities. Loved the wall murals. Garrett at the front desk recommended visiting the quaint and historic town of Ferndale about 5 miles away. It was definitely worth the visit. We would definitely recommend, and stay here again. Next time we will definitely spend more time at the hotel and explore more of beautiful area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks for your thoughtful details about The Redwood. We have just added the shower dispensers in the bathrooms and are very excited about the quality of the products as well as less waste in the landfills (no more tiny bottles to throw away). The clean remotes are being rolled out to all the rooms and another benefit... they are easy to use, not so many buttons! Had a great time sitting with you at breakfast, always enjoy hearing about guests' travels and experiences. Safe travels and hurry back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsor, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Title says it all. Decent. Not bad overall. Clean, quiet. Price was a little high but when your way up north it's always a gamble. Rather pay a little more and have a decent stay than pay less and have a bad night's stay somewhere. The Harleys and the hippies seem to pick other places.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I will admit that we were spoiled by our Holiday Inn Express breakfasts and found your breakfast to be less than satisfying because the food was not hot and the coffee sub-standard.

Otherwise, we enjoyed our visit and were pleased with the ambiance. We will return if we are in your area, but may not give your breakfast a second chance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We are very happy you enjoyed the ambience of the hotel. As The Redwood we are striving to create a sense of place and are very excited with the changes we have been making. This means we have left the Holiday Inn Express frozen, prepared items for breakfast in favor of cooking frittatas from scratch. A door to the equipment was being repaired and has been ordered to ensure that all items stay hot during breakfast. We look forward to your return to see our continued improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This place is awesome. Nice clean rooms quite atmosphere, great staff and I love the redwood theme they across all the public areas and the rooms. Will stay here every time I'm in the area. Also try the breakfast with a variety of freshly made items.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

During our 6 day road trip in August 2013, we stayed one night at The Redwood Fortuna. Holy cow, the people there were amazing! Helpful, sweet, kind, knowledgeable about the area (including a perfect-for-road-weary-kids/parents restaurant!), and just plain old nice. Garrett was terrific with our special-needs kid as well as the regular brother (well, all of the employees were), Alicia made special's brother feel like a million bucks, and Jessica did an extra-special turn for mom: she beat me to it and cleared my place for me! Imagine what a sweet move that was for an exhausted parent. = )

The pool was wonderful-- not cold like the places that cheap out on heating, not hot like a bath tub, but just right. Absolutely fun and refreshing!

The owner, Jeff, took extra time to listen as special-kid wrenched up his courage to ask for something. Just so you know, Jeff, the kid wrote that success story from his encounters at The Redwood Fortuna as part of his self-advocacy project over the summer, and his teacher commended the successes. Thank you!

Nice people. Refreshing pool. I'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Wow! We are humbled by your review. As the owner, I am also proud of the fact that all the positive points you mentioned are how all our staff strives to act daily. We will use this review as the standard for how we assist our guests. We greatly enjoyed having your family at The Redwood and I enjoyed our conversation at the front desk. Thanks so much and we look forward to seeing in the redwoods again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The new owners did a nice job refurbishing the Holiday Inn Express in Fortuna. The moment you check-in, you can tell how badly the owners and staff want this project to be a success.
My wife and I spent three nights in August at The Redwood and had a delightful stay. Our room was large and very clean and was recently refurbished. The linens were new and the bathroom recently refurbished. The pool and Jacuzzi are indoors and well maintained with a huge mural of the redwood forest on the wall. Our room and the entire complex seemed very quiet as it is located far enough from the highway to eliminate any noise and shares the area with a few chain hotels, restaurant and gas station. I do not understand the prior review about noise, unless the noise came from other guests.
The staff were very accommodating during our stay and seemed eager to answer our many questions about the area. Their recommendation for pizza was especially rewarding.
The Redwood is located in the town closest to Humboldt Redwoods that has the usual supermarkets and stores that are not present in the small communities within the park. It is about a fifteen minute drive to the first large groves and less to smaller groves. We have stayed in a cabin in the park on a prior trip and both alternatives for accommodations have their good points. If one were planning a one week visit, I would split it between the cabin and The Redwood in Fortuna.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you very much for recognizing our eagerness! The staff at The Redwood has been great through our transition. As owners of the property for the past five years we saw an opportunity to create a better sense of place for those coming to the redwoods. We look forward to your return to Humboldt County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 1859 Alamar Way, Fortuna, CA 95540 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Fortuna (Ferndale Area))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fortuna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fortuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel is an independently owned luxury hotel in Fortuna, CA. Our accommodations reflect the natural beauty of the redwood area. Located off US 101 in an area with traveler services, The Redwood seeks to be your one-of-a-kind choice. Our central location serves as the ideal base camp to visit the many state parks and enjoy other outdoor activities in Humboldt County. Our connection to the area guides the decisions we make. It also gives direction to our upgraded breakfast at the Canteen. There, you will find yogurt, local jams and honey, fresh, seasonal fruit and even biscuits and gravy. Plus, we have gluten free options. In the afternoons you may even find a plate of brownies at the desk, a wink to another famous Humboldt industry. Some of our amenities offered include complimentary buffet breakfast Two stories, exterior corridor, parking in private lot near all guest rooms, 100% non-smoking. Indoor pool and spa, pets welcome, guest laundry, and we have hand painted murals and lobby map for your viewing and convenience. But the heart of hospitality is not the amenities, it is the service. As your independent hotel choice in Fortuna we strive to give "boutique hotel" service and exceptional hospitality. Because we are small and independent, changes will continue to improve the guest experience. The guest is the reason we are here, but the redwoods, rivers and general area are the reasons you, the guest, are here. With this in mind, we seek to offer you a strong sense of place. That sense of place is the Giant Redwoods of Humboldt County. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fortuna (Ferndale Area) Hotel Fortuna
Holiday Inn Fortuna
Fortuna Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.