We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a road-weary traveler” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Country Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Country Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2025 Riverwalk Dr, Fortuna, CA 95540   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Fortuna
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value for a road-weary traveler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I started from AZ and was on a fast-paced trip due to a new job in Canada. When I am in a hurry I like to use the Hotel Coupon books found at the TA travel centers or McDonalds. This gem of a hotel was $69 which was more than the $39 I had been using. But this hotel was so much more.

1) it was in a safe beautiful area that was great for walking or biking on the river
2) it was clean and quiet
3) hearty buffet breakfast with bacon, sausage, eggs, waffles, toast, fruit and yogurt from 6-10am
4) loved the river view with fog rising from my room or the breakfast area
5) 42" HDTV with free HBO, etc
6) 2 restaurants within walking distance and loved the wine and beer at the Eel River Brewhouse
7) nice heated pool & spa and free access to the local gym with room key
8) free daily newspaper, cookies, fruit and coffee maker, fridge and microwave in room
9) Checkout at noon!
10) minutes away from the Avenue of the Giants which I highly recommend. What a national treasure that seems to be wilting due to lack of rain. Come and see the Redwoods before they all fall down.

I liked this place so much that I stayed one more night :)

Room Tip: I asked for a 2nd floor facing southwest for the sun and river view. I got room 225 and it was perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    84
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
99
100
13
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

If you like a hearty breakfast which is well stocked and cared for, stop here. Two choices of scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, much more. Coffee, tea, cookies, fruit available at all hours. Safe location. Friendly staff. Clean and comfortable room with great internet access and work table. Spacious. A bit difficult to find but worth looking for.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Convenient location just minutes from food, shopping, etc but located away from the hustle of main roads. The accept cash which is AWESOME since most hotels don't. Their breakfast was the best hotel breakfast we've ever had (we stay in hotels at least 20 nights per year). The pool was great, room was super cozy and perfect parking. We could not have asked for a better place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garberville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great place to stay. Walking distance from the Eel River Brewery where you can get GREAT food! Convenient and with all the comforts of home and BETTER! Dog friendly is definitely a plus for us as we travel with our dog and the new dog park off the 12th St. Exit is definitely a plus for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Place, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We booked this room after reviewing Tripadvisor's ratings. When we arrived I asked for a ground floor room due to recent back surgery that made schlepping bags up the stairs a non-starter. The only room available was a disability-qualified room. The only difference really was that there was no tub and a shower with a detachable wand. No biggie - right? Except that the shower was a disaster. The oversize handles didn't have a stop so you could turn them forever and never know what degree of open they were It didn't make any difference because if we turned off the hot and turned on the cold the temp would vary form hot to cold. If we turned off the old and turned on the hot the same thing happened. it was impossible to set the water at a constant temperature and when it went to scalding or freezing the occupant would jump away risking grievous bodily harm. Other than that the room was large clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was good but the space was quite small causing quite a bit of interference between people trying to sit and eat and people trying to get food - or wait for it to cook. Nice people on staff but the hotel is not exceptional in any way.

Room Tip: Even if you are disabled inspect the room and the shower before staying there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharrie310, Manager at BEST WESTERN Country Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
That should never have happened. I am so sorry that our preventive maintenance program failed to catch this issue before it became a problem for you. We really appreciate you bringing it to our attention so we can correct it right away.


Sincerely,

Sharrie Larson
Best Western Country Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

You never think how important it is to have a really clean room until you check in. No mold in the shower...this is common on the coast. Hot water and lots of it! A good breakfast to start the day and most important pleasant staff.
A very good value and only a short walk to the Eel River Brewery.

Room Tip: Across the road is a cow pasture. So in summer opening the windows might be an adventure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharrie310, Manager at BEST WESTERN Country Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. The staff takes a lot of pride in the Motel and works really hard make sure all of our guests are happy and well taken care of. These words of encouragement mean a lot to all of us. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Sharrie Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I had a great stay at the Best Western in Fortuna. Rooms Clean, Service Excellent, and a very good breakfast. Even though there are several choices I will stay here again when I am working in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Country Inn

Address: 2025 Riverwalk Dr, Fortuna, CA 95540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fortuna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Fortuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Country Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Hotel Fortuna
Best Western Fortuna
Country Inn Fortuna
Fortuna Country Inn
Fortuna Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.