We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Pleasant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Country Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Country Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2025 Riverwalk Dr, Fortuna, CA 95540   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fortuna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Merced, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always Pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is one of my favorite Best Western's , it is in a great area, I always stay on business but this time was leisure. The staff is great, the rooms are great and the breakfast in the morning is very satisfying.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    111
    23
    4
    6
See reviews for
140
143
17
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Forbes, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I'm a tour operator that's been in business 30 years. Our company brought a motor coach group of senior citizens to this property. I prepaid the group room block a few weeks prior to our arrival so to keep my over-the-road expenses down. They had my credit card information, front and back copy of the credit card and a copy of my driver's license on file. But prior to our arrival they placed a "hold" on the card. This inconsiderate business policy of theirs tied up nearly $2000 of my credit limit on my business card. When I contacted them about this, I was told "It was a damage deposit that only affected a couple of rooms and would drop off the day they check out", according to Katy, the assistant manager! Not true. Good grief, This hold was over 3/4 of the entire bill for all 27 rooms and 48 seniors and was still there several days later! The only way I could have it removed quickly was to contact our credit card company and do a conference call to remove it. This took over 3/4 of an hour on the phone. Travel companies and group tours looking to book with BW Country Inn need to be cautious. This waste of time and poor business practice is crazy since they have the credit card info on file should there have been any damage or stolen items from any of the rooms. With the economy these days, most hotels are thrilled to see tourism coming back.... maybe except for the BW Country Inn in Fortuna, California. Coming from a "Minnesota Nice" state....we will not return to this property.

Diane @ Happy Trails Tours, Minnesota

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharrie310, Manager at BEST WESTERN Country Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I was happy to hear from all of your tour clients that they really enjoyed their stay at our hotel but sorry to find out how unhappy you were. We always try to do our best to make things run as smoothly as possible. Unfortunately that is not always the case. I share your frustration on bank practices of holding funds once the business has released them. Since everything is done by computers these days the only way that we can get them to overide the computer and release authorizations is for us to give them the authorization numbers that we have already released. For your protection they will only allow us to do this with your verbal permission while on the line with us. Hopefully this is a practice they will correct as more people complain about them holding funds for 7-14 days after a business releases these credit card authorizations. We truly hope that in the future you will give us the opportunity to show you how much we appreciate your business.

Thank you,

Sharrie Larson
General Manager
Best Western Country Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here while on a motorcycle trip. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I had been staying at different hotels around the state all week. This was the BEST stay of my week. I was very pleased with my room. Super clean! One thing I really was impressed with was; the TV remote had been cleaned and put in a sleeve which said so. I have been wondering when a hotel was going to start that. Bravo!! Bed was super comfortable. I will stay here again for sure. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Fortuna is near the bigger city of Eureka. Though there may be more choices in Eureka, I prefer this town and this hotel. It's quieter, friendlier, and easier to access from 101. It's pet-friendly which helps and the inside pool is a welcome relaxer. The breakfast is sufficient, but not elaborate. If you need more, there is a restaurant a block away

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a very nice hotel out of the way of the freeway. My stay was over 2 weeks and a holiday weekend, so I experienced the full range of summer business for this establishment. What I found was that the breakfast was ready each morning, most before before the advertised time. This was very welcome to me as a business person starting early in the morning. The breakfast although very good, could use a little more variety, maybe add potatoes a day a week or so? Some truck noise was evident, but I accustomed to that and it was not constant. My room was an accessible room, so was of adequate size. The curved shower curtain allows water to go on the room floor. The location is good for being quiet, there is limited restaurants and convenience store close by. All in all a very comfortable accommodation. I would return here on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Bright lights outside our neat and clean second floor end room window intruded; the other choice: drawing curtains and waking (usually later) in a dark room. The breakfast was quite good; space in which to eat was limited on the holiday weekend of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have stayed multiply times here over the past few years and have been mostly satisfied. Sometimes one night, others three nights...In different times of the year too. We notice that the place always fills up by early evening. And yes it can get noisy. People coming and going at all hours..

The one thing that stands out for us is the very friendly and helpful staff..Great job guys!

The parking lot is a bit tight if you have a vehicle any bigger than a full size pick-up truck. There is more parking around the corner however.

I have noticed that many previous reviewers rave about the breakfast. It really is very average at best. The presentation is quite nice and extensive but the quality is very cafeteria style.The thinnest, cheapest bacon I have ever seen.

Evening cookies, coffee, fruit and ice water in the lobby is a nice touch.

My biggest disappointment are the pillows. My recommendation is to bring your own if at all possible. There's are very lumpy square ones.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Country Inn

Address: 2025 Riverwalk Dr, Fortuna, CA 95540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Fortuna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fortuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Hotel Fortuna
Best Western Fortuna
Country Inn Fortuna
Fortuna Country Inn
Fortuna Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.