We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Country Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Country Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2025 Riverwalk Dr, Fortuna, CA 95540   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fortuna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sacramento
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Nice rooms and a good breakfast. Best value I have found in Humboldt County. I travel to the area five or six times each year. The value in Fortuna is far better than what I have found in Eureka. I always stay at the Fortuna Best Western when I am in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    111
    23
    4
    6
See reviews for
139
142
17
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Parkdale, Oregon
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is located right next to the Eel River and a fantastic running and walking trail. The rooms are very clean and updated. Eel River Brewing is located just a block away and has great beer and food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharrie310, Manager at BEST WESTERN Country Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We all strive to make our Motel one that we would bring our families to. We are happy to hear that we have been able to do this for you and your family over the years. we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Sharrie Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is our home away from home. we spend one night a week through out the school semester, fall and spring....have for 3 years and never had one bad experience. Cannot say this for other Hotels. Staff are ALL excellent, breakfast always great...we feel as if we are family.....makes time away from our home a delightful time......we are very comfortable in our special room.......Thank you to ALL the staff and management for our good time as your guest.....

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Let me start out with staff and cleanliness is a five star.

Pros: Check in staff was incredible. They were friendly, efficient, and professional.
Room was spotless.
Grounds were minimal, but clean.
TV worked. Internet worked.

Cons: Stupid "germ free" remote did not work for input control(I have never had one that did so far) I may never stay at a Best Western after this trip because of those remotes, as I am always connecting my computer to the TV.
Had to climb stairs for the second floor. (What the heck is this all about? That is MOTEL not HOTEL).
Smoking rooms near enough to non-smoking rooms that I could smell the smoke.
Paper thin walls (I am beginning to think this must be a Best Western requirement)

Not the hotel's fault but annoying:
A parent with two toddlers running up and down in front of the second floor rooms at 10:30 at night.

Bottom line: This was a motel, not a hotel and it charged hotel prices. While the staff was excellent, and the rooms large and well kept, the fact that the smoking rooms were right next to the non-smoking rooms, that smoking was allowed right outside any room, and that the walls were paper thin mean that I would probably not stay there again. I am also getting frustrated with motels masquerading as hotels and not mentioning that there are only stairs to the second floor.

Room Tip: Bottom floor on and end if you don't smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharrie310, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Country Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
I was sorry to hear that some of your experiences at our Motel were negative. I want you to know we appreciate your honesty. Be assured that we do us negative as well as postive feedback to improve our services. I hope that you will give us another chance to improve in the areas that we can.

Thank you,

Sharrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

clean, convenient, great pool. Stayed here for a few days in mid October of 2012. Very nice free breakfast with good choice, comfy bed and good wi-fi. Paid around $79 so great value. Would definately stay here a

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharrie310, Manager at BEST WESTERN Country Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Excited to hear that your family enjoyed themselves!!! We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,

Sharrie Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel was very nice and close to the activities we came for. We enjoyed the services that we used and the staff was very friendly. Would recommened this hotel to others. Hotel stay is hotel stay but this one measured up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Country Inn in Fortuna, CA, and felt it was ok. It seemed kind of expensive ($99 for a Wednesday night) plus a fee for our small dog. While I certainly appreciate "dog friendly" hotels, there was a just a very tiny area for dogs to do their business. The breakfast was good with variety of foods including hot waffles. it was nice to have a refrigerator (very small) and microwave in the room. The room was fairly large, fairly quiet, clean, and the bed was comfy. The staff was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Country Inn

Address: 2025 Riverwalk Dr, Fortuna, CA 95540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Fortuna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fortuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Hotel Fortuna
Best Western Fortuna
Country Inn Fortuna
Fortuna Country Inn
Fortuna Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.