We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in the North Coast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1583 Riverwalk Drive, Fortuna, CA 95540   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Fortuna
Mammoth Lakes, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in the North Coast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stay here all the time for both work and play. Its much cheaper and quieter than in Eureka. The front desk staff is always very helpful and friendly. They are quick to help or offer suggestions. The rooms are big, nice and clean. Very well maintained. Its located near to the freeway and easy to access. The Eel River brewery next door is great for a bite to eat while staying here. This is a fantastic place to stay with easy access to the River Walk as well. You will not be dissapointed!!

Room Tip: Rooms above the front desk get the best wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your sharing your wonderful experience and comments . Our staff always strives to make each guest's stay comfortable .We are pleased you had a great stay not only at our establishment but also in town as well.
We look forward to see you on your next trip .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    42
    24
    13
    8
See reviews for
40
43
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
northern california
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stopped here after finding we couldn't stay in Eureka for less than $180 a night! Since this was a stop over on our way home we didn't need to spend that. This place was great, over $100 less and we had a great room. Our room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. Will stay again on our way to Oregon. Great restaurant within walking for lunch and dinner, the Eel River Brewing Company.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
we appreciate your positive comments , and glad you found our accommodations to your satisfaction . We hope to see you again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This budget hotel is clearly an overachiever. It is the cleanest and most customer-focused hotel, compared to its competitors, that I have recently stayed at. Sheila and Emma who work the front desk and look after the breakfast are two of the nicest people that you can meet. They are cheerful and work diligently to ensure your comfort. The hot breakfast offers a variety of items. The room that we had was quite large and very clean. This is the place that I highly recommend if you are visiting the area. We last stayed at this hotel 3 years ago and the place is even better now - new paint and redecorated - then it was then. The Eel River Brewhouse, next door, is a great place to eat when staying at this hotel. Be patient, however, since there is almost always a wait to be seated. It is the place that many of the local folk frequent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for an honest review about your stay .We are glad that you enjoyed and appreciated our place even more then before ,we always try to make each guest's stay as pleasant as possible. We serve a hot breakfast daily with hot eggs, wafalls, biscuits /gravey cereals and lot more I'm glad you and other guests noticed the recent renovations and upgrades that make the place look even better then before .
We look forward to your next visit with us next time you are in Fortuna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This place needs a lot of work. It has the look of a place that let the maintenance slip and now they are trying to put things back together. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The exercise room had equipment that was in need of repair. It worked but the displays were unreadable.

Check and see when their renovation is done. Then it will be a good place to stay. Right now, not so much.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for your recent comments.Yes we were in the midst of a renovation, but not due to neglect of the property but due to choice hotels requirement of wallpaper removal.It was a huge task and a long process with extremely minimum guest discomfort. Our guest's comfort is a priority and we take pride in the property by keeping up with the upgrades.
We look forward to your next stay with us so we can share our hospitality with you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed overnight in mid-November and was happily surprised. I had read some bad reviews and if it wasn't for a good discount card, I probably would not have taken the risk.

The man at the front desk was really helpful and answered my questions about what it's like to live in this area. I needed a room for one and was surprised at its size. This huge room was lovely, clean and quiet, and had a new heating and cooling unit. The bed was comfortable. As for breakfast, it looked pretty good but I skipped it as I like a big breakfast with lots of protein.

Overall, I was really happy with my stay. Even without the discount, I think it would have been a better deal (and almost as nice) as the hotel around the corner, for whom I also had a small discount. I'm not sure what the bad reviews are about but I had a good experience with this Comfort Inn and would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and sharing an honest positive experience. Our staff continuously strive to give quality service to all our guests .
We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I try not to write negative reviews, but this hotel really is rather shabby. The front desk clerk was very nice, but the place needs a re-do. Carpets and bedding are worn out and dated. Only one of the ice machines worked and it was on a different floor. I did have to take a business call while there and went down to the lobby where the cell phone reception was better. A woman who was telling everyone what to do kept glaring at me as if I was somehow offending her. I can only assume this is the owner. To say the least, we were not comfortable at this Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
On behalf of our entire team I would like to apologize for any misunderstandings and falling to exceed your expectations.
We have just completed some major renovations and upgrades ,hope you will consider staying with us again and have a positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Came here for a wedding. Rooms are clean but in desperate need updating, the morning receptionist is so sweet, but nothing else is. The breakfast area is way too small to accommodate, and the food was fair at beat. Exposed plumbing, old carpet, bare thin towels...and not cheap!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Our room are clean and with some of the recent upgrades even more comfortable .We serve a large Hot Breakfast of eggs, waffles, hot and cold cereals, yogurt, biscuits and gravy choice of pastries and muffins... etc. Our breakfast area seats at least 20 and since not all guests come down to eat all at once it seems adequate . Yes it does get busy during summer but some guests also opt to take breakfast to their rooms.
As far as prices, all hotels do raise their prices during summer, We can ask you to try us during the fall and winter and I am sure you will find we have the best and reasonable rates in Fortuna.
We look forward to having you stay with us so we can have another chance to provide you with our best service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 1583 Riverwalk Drive, Fortuna, CA 95540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Fortuna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Fortuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Fortuna
Fortuna Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.