We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonable hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1583 Riverwalk Drive, Fortuna, CA 95540   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Fortuna
England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“A reasonable hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is a fairly standard Comfort Inn. This makes a good bet for a night. Clean rooms and comfortable beds but nothing special. The pool and spa were both indoors and seemed popular with children. Breakfast was varied with enough to fill us up. The check in staff were friendly. A big plus is the fact that there is a good brewpub across the parking area with great beers and food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    41
    24
    13
    8
See reviews for
39
41
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our family stayed here for just one night and we were pleasantly surprised. I think I was expecting less for the money but the room was very spacious - great when you are in there with kids - and the beds were comfy. Breakfast was great - the kids loved making their own waffles! The only small negative was that when you entered into reception, you immediately could smell the indoor pool - but then, that's pretty common in a small establishment with an indoor pool. The pool itself was quite small but my kids still had a blast. Sound proofing was excellent - the place was full yet it was very quiet. All in all a great stay and we would definitely come back if we happened to be in the area again.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the ice machines and vending machines.... We were very near the ice machine and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed several nights in a 2 room suite. Desk staff was very friendly. Rooms are spacious as many have stated but sparsely furnished. Owners seem to be cutting corners so I don't know how well this property will hold up. "Free" breakfast was a joke. Items are stocked so infrequently that there is never anything to eat except cereal. When yogurt, eggs, etc are stocked it is in such small quantity that the item quickly disappears again. Waffle batter is the runniest (extra water) I've seen. No pen/paper in the rooms. A/C didn't work. Spa was filthy, someone had actually scratched in the scum "clean me." No double sheets for you germophobes. You will hear people walking overhead unless you are able to get a third floor room. Overall this place falls short of my expectations compared to other Comfort Inns and Suites.

Room Tip: Stay on third floor opposite side from parking lot unless you enjoy listening to people setting thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stopped here for a couple of nights to explore the Redwood forest. It was quiet and comfortable. The pool is too cool to get into but the hot tub was warm. Breakfast was good with eggs, waffles in different flavors.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor, less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShilaPatel, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for your very nice review!!! The flavored waffles are delicious, aren't they?!! Please come again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Calif
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I made last minute reservations and got a very nice room the first night. A king nonsmoking with a jacuzzi tub for only around $125 or so. The bed was very comfortable, tv large and modern, and jacuzzi worked great. A/C was a little iffy but since it was upstairs room overlooking parking lot/fields I could open the window for cool air at night. Still got a bit overheated and stuffy during the night like most hotels.

I had to move to a different room for the second night. This one was kind of weird. it was a suite but the tv was smaller and located in a part of the room with a sofa bed, so no TV watching from the main bed. No special amenities considering it was a suite, but it was only $100 and I appreciated being able to get a last-minute room. I was at an event in the local area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShilaPatel, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Hello Reviewer! Thank you for your kind words! I am delighted that you found our hotel to be comfortable and friendly!!! Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

After driving all day and being completely exhausted you would think I could've slept through anything. Well, not when there are people running up and down the halls at 2 in the morning, then partying it up in the parking lot. The staff seemed unable to control these people.

The place also smells like chlorine because of the indoor pool. There was some kind of mold on the wall in the bathroom. The place is pretty dated as well. No extra blankets or sheets despite it being really cold outside. The internet was insanely slow- I think I had dial up that was faster ten years ago.

On the plus side, the staff were very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShilaPatel, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Traveler! I am so sorry you had an uncomfortable night's sleep. I am so sorry other travelers were noisy. I can only apologize for the inconvenience and let you know that we do strive for a clean and comfortable stay for all of our guests! Please come back again soon and lets us make your stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perris, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

i was very happy with our stay here the rooms were nice and clean and the rates were also good.one of the best place's to stay if visiting fortuna its just as nice as the holiday inn express and way cheaper :). the only thing that bugged me was the owner i guess she is there every day and she is very rude i had a late check out 12:00 pm and every 15 min. she kept asking if i was out of the room yet. i am a friendly person and i say hi with a smile to everyone but she wouldn't give me the time of day very rude. on the other hand the young lady that works the morning shift april she is very sweet and helpful tumbs up to her! all in all i would stay here again i would just avoid the owner lol!

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are the quite ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShilaPatel, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts regarding the Comfort Inn Fortuna! I am so happy you found our hotel to be clean and nice! It also pleases me that April provided such excellent service! I can only apologize for the housekeeping issues and say that mistakes are made and I can only try to improve daily. Thanks again for your thoughts and know that I take them seriously and will continue to strive for excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 1583 Riverwalk Drive, Fortuna, CA 95540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fortuna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Fortuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Fortuna
Fortuna Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.