We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comforting and relaxing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1583 Riverwalk Drive, Fortuna, CA 95540   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Fortuna
Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Comforting and relaxing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stopped here for a couple of nights to explore the Redwood forest. It was quiet and comfortable. The pool is too cool to get into but the hot tub was warm. Breakfast was good with eggs, waffles in different flavors.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor, less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShilaPatel, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for your very nice review!!! The flavored waffles are delicious, aren't they?!! Please come again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    39
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
39
37
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
N. Calif
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I made last minute reservations and got a very nice room the first night. A king nonsmoking with a jacuzzi tub for only around $125 or so. The bed was very comfortable, tv large and modern, and jacuzzi worked great. A/C was a little iffy but since it was upstairs room overlooking parking lot/fields I could open the window for cool air at night. Still got a bit overheated and stuffy during the night like most hotels.

I had to move to a different room for the second night. This one was kind of weird. it was a suite but the tv was smaller and located in a part of the room with a sofa bed, so no TV watching from the main bed. No special amenities considering it was a suite, but it was only $100 and I appreciated being able to get a last-minute room. I was at an event in the local area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShilaPatel, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Hello Reviewer! Thank you for your kind words! I am delighted that you found our hotel to be comfortable and friendly!!! Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

After driving all day and being completely exhausted you would think I could've slept through anything. Well, not when there are people running up and down the halls at 2 in the morning, then partying it up in the parking lot. The staff seemed unable to control these people.

The place also smells like chlorine because of the indoor pool. There was some kind of mold on the wall in the bathroom. The place is pretty dated as well. No extra blankets or sheets despite it being really cold outside. The internet was insanely slow- I think I had dial up that was faster ten years ago.

On the plus side, the staff were very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShilaPatel, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Traveler! I am so sorry you had an uncomfortable night's sleep. I am so sorry other travelers were noisy. I can only apologize for the inconvenience and let you know that we do strive for a clean and comfortable stay for all of our guests! Please come back again soon and lets us make your stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perris, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

i was very happy with our stay here the rooms were nice and clean and the rates were also good.one of the best place's to stay if visiting fortuna its just as nice as the holiday inn express and way cheaper :). the only thing that bugged me was the owner i guess she is there every day and she is very rude i had a late check out 12:00 pm and every 15 min. she kept asking if i was out of the room yet. i am a friendly person and i say hi with a smile to everyone but she wouldn't give me the time of day very rude. on the other hand the young lady that works the morning shift april she is very sweet and helpful tumbs up to her! all in all i would stay here again i would just avoid the owner lol!

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are the quite ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShilaPatel, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts regarding the Comfort Inn Fortuna! I am so happy you found our hotel to be clean and nice! It also pleases me that April provided such excellent service! I can only apologize for the housekeeping issues and say that mistakes are made and I can only try to improve daily. Thanks again for your thoughts and know that I take them seriously and will continue to strive for excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Booked this hotel for myself and a coworker while travelling to Eureka. Having stayed in Eureka I am always looking for somewhere better that is close by. This hotel was way nicer than I expected from reading the reviews of this place and the other hotels next door. Place was clean quiet and served the usual Comfort Suites breakfast. I appreciate that there are only interior hotel room door entries as opposed to the old motel style properties. What we liked best was that the brewery is across the parking lot so after a long day of driving we were able to stroll over for dinner and a few beers. The only odd thing was that the room was huge but so sparsely furnished. Could have two king beds and plenty of room left to spare.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShilaPatel, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
This is the kind of review that makes our day, here at the Comfort Inn and Suites in Fortuna, Ca! I am so happy you found our property to be comfortable and clean! Come back and see us very soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed with this motel after reading the reviews, and we were not disappointed. The staff was helpful, and the room comfy, clean, and quiet. The staff was very helpful in giving us information about the area restaurants. The breakfast bar was loaded with food. On a negative, no pens/paper in the room and we did miss those!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShilaPatel, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
This is a review that makes our day, here at the Comfort Inn and Suites in Fortuna! Thank you for your kinds words regarding our hotel. We look forward to having you with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at this motel. It was very clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable with the area. A full breakfast buffet was served in an attractive area. Nice spa. Easy on and easy off the highway. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
We are delighted to hear your positive feedback of our hotel! We are glad you found the hotel to be clean and quiet and that our staff was friendly. Thank you so much for your kind words and we hope to have you back with us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 1583 Riverwalk Drive, Fortuna, CA 95540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fortuna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Fortuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Fortuna
Fortuna Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.