We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean View Lodge to your Saves list
Ocean View Lodge
1141 N. Main Street, Fort Bragg, CA 95437 (Formerly Quality Inn and Suites Ocean View)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“What a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great respite as we travel down the coast. Clean, quiet and fantastic ......I mean Fantastic view. We had an incredibly large room on the 2nd floor with a fireplace and balcony. A western exposure to view the sunset. The office staff were very nice and accommodating. Good location close to all Fort Bragg amenities .

Room Tip: Go for the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    83
    11
    12
    9
See reviews for
36
138
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed in one of the king size rooms with the fireplace and jaccuzzi tub. It was wonderful. The rooms are right on the bluffs and the sound of the waves crashing was amazing to fall asleep to. Like most places in Fort Bragg, the rooms are a bit dated. I am not sure why pinks and blues and greens were decided to be such great hotel/motel room colors. But you are not paying for the room, you are paying for the view. And the view is amazing. Also the staff at the front desk was extraordinarily helpful with providing recommendations and directions. They were awesome. The rooms do get a bit warm in the late afternoon during the summer due to the sun setting directly outside your window, but I think it is a small price to pay. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

While there really isn't any hotel amenities to speak of, what you're paying for is the quiet location (just minutes from downtown) and the view. The front desk folks are friendly. The second floor rooms are more private (note that the first floor rooms are up against a bike/walking trail with people glancing in your room). The Ocean View Lodge is just minutes from the Skunk Train, the botanical gardens, and an assortment of dining options. In my opinion, the view alone is worth the trip.

Room Tip: Request an upstairs room if you want to keep your windows and door open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We came for my daughters 11th birthday. It was her first trip to the west coast.The Ocean view Lodge and the staff really exceeded my expectations! The room was very clean and spacious. The views were incredible! I most enjoyed the fact that we were not fighting hoards of people for the same beach areas. We had quiet, beautiful walks along the beach in both morning and evenings! Also, the coffee that was supplied for the room was good! The only thing I would like to have had is a microwave in room. We have stayed on both coasts now, the Ocean View Lodge has beat out the Outer Banks as a vacation destination for us! We will definitely return for a longer stay next time we go to the coast! Thanks for the comfortable experience! We hope to see you all again soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We go here every year and will come back again and again. Great staff and fantastic access to the ocean, trails, shopping. Everything right at your doorstep. There's no continental breakfast, or in room microwave, but we go for the great view and there's plenty of places to eat just two minutes away. We love you Ocean View!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel has a great location, view and is walking distance to town. Our room was clean, spacious, quiet, and very affordable. We only heard other guests when out on the deck enjoying the sunset. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This motel is right on the beach with great views up and down the coast. There is a wonderful walkway and paths through the dunes. Very lovely.

Our room was very large with a sofa, fireplace, and newer tv. It was clean and comfortable with well-kept, though older, furnishings. The staff was very helpful and the hotel was quiet. Our little deck was a perfect place to sit and enjoy the view.

Only downside was the price--$229 plus tax for a week night with no breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Lodge

Address: 1141 N. Main Street, Fort Bragg, CA 95437 (Formerly Quality Inn and Suites Ocean View)
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious rooms are 500+ square feet, each with a spectacular 180 degree whitewater ocean view. Many of our beautiful rooms have a whirlpool and fireplace, which combined with the spectacular view make for the perfect romantic getaway. From your private balcony or patio you are only 60 yards from the ocean and access to the beach. Enjoy miles of coastline on the ten mile coastal trail and a short walk to the shops and restaurants in downtown Fort Bragg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Hotel Fort Bragg
Ocean View Fort Bragg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.