We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great birthday trip for my mom.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Lodge

Save Saved
You added Ocean View Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean View Lodge
1141 N. Main Street, Fort Bragg, CA 95437 (Formerly Quality Inn and Suites Ocean View)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 hotels in Fort Bragg
Cameron Park, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great birthday trip for my mom.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed during Veteran's Day weekend...friendly staff, clean room, great sunset views, just a short distance from town! The walking/bike trail is right out the back door--nice way to meet people also enjoying the views. Mom is 91 so we stayed in a handicap accessible room--it was great. No steps, hand rails in the bathroom and tub area, the beds are off set a bit so there is privacy. I would recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    70
    9
    9
    8
See reviews for
28
109
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband & I try to get away to Ft. Bragg at least once or twice a year. A couple of years ago, the place we always stayed at was closed, so we found the Ocean View Lodge. WOW! We are so very glad we found them. The office staff is very friendly & helpful. I feel almost like I'm talking to an old friend when I call. The rooms are clean & the view is awesome! We always get a room on the upper floor, with a fireplace & Jacuzzi. Sitting out on the balcony, watching the sunset is unbelievable! It is the perfect place for a romantic get-a-way, or just a weekend to relax & do nothing. The only negative is that the bed was too hard & a little squeaky. Our former place has reopened, with a change in management, but we are very happy with Ocean View Lodge & have recommended to several of our friends. Do yourself a favor & stay @ the Ocean View Lodge, you'll be so glad you did!

Room Tip: Upstairs, with fireplace & Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laytonville, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I go to Fort Bragg once or twice a month and the last time we traveled there our inn that we usually stay at was full and we neglected to make a reservation. So we decided to give Ocean View Lodge a try and so glad we did. The front desk employees were very friendly and courteous and the rooms are awesome! The enormous windows give you a view that is remarkable from sunlight to sunset. This is definitely a 5 star quality lodge. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are spacious and clean with all the amenities you'll need along with free WiFi. There is access to a bike and walk trail that stretches for miles along the coast as well as access to the beach just a short hike away (less than 5 minutes).

Room Tip: you must request a top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We arrived late and without booking and the very polite and nice guy at reception offered a special price for the room. Furthermore his recommended restaurant was great and the sights he told us to visit were worth the hike.
The room was big and very clean. There was a new fridge, TV and very good WIFI access (free).
The bathroom was clean as well, big and comfortable as the bed was,too.
We had a room on the ground floor with a stunning view of the sea from the balcony.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The incredible ocean views, especially sunrises and sunsets, are alone worth 5 stars. This is the place you go when you need to re-charge. We find that it lifts our spirits and blows away all the work-related tension and anxiety like the wind does the fog. That said, I agree with the comment that addressed the beds. Ours was also hard on the back and in need of updating. Other than that however, everything was quite nice. The staff was attentive and very helpful and the housekeeping was immaculate. We'll certainly return to the Ocean View Lodge and we do highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The view from our room was absolutely fantastic. Just a couple of suggestions, the bathrooms could use some "Grab Bars" When you step into the shower, you have nothing to hold onto. At my age (70) you need something to hold onto. The King Size mattress in our room could've been replaced quite a while ago. Other than that it was a nice place to stay, clean friendly and like I said, the views fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A window table looking out at the sea...does it get any better than this? We loved the double-queen room on the ground floor. Beds separated by privacy wall. Room was clean; bed was comfy. Very spacious, and an extra sink and mirror. Pleasant staff at the desk. A couple of drawbacks: no microwave in the room (they will heat your food in the office, but it's not the same...); rooms are non-smoking, but many guests smoked constantly on the patios and balconies. If you want to sit outside without breathing in cigarette smoke, this could be a problem for you. We stayed in with the door closed more often than we wanted to. A winter visit might be a better choice.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Lodge

Address: 1141 N. Main Street, Fort Bragg, CA 95437 (Formerly Quality Inn and Suites Ocean View)
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious rooms are 500+ square feet, each with a spectacular 180 degree whitewater ocean view. Many of our beautiful rooms have a whirlpool and fireplace, which combined with the spectacular view make for the perfect romantic getaway. From your private balcony or patio you are only 60 yards from the ocean and access to the beach. Enjoy miles of coastline on the ten mile coastal trail and a short walk to the shops and restaurants in downtown Fort Bragg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ocean View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Hotel Fort Bragg
Ocean View Fort Bragg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.