We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look! The Pacific!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Lodge

Save Saved
You added Ocean View Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean View Lodge
1141 N. Main Street, Fort Bragg, CA 95437 (Formerly Quality Inn and Suites Ocean View)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 hotels in Fort Bragg
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Look! The Pacific!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a clean hotel with friendly and accommodating staff. Your backyard is a 100 yards of wind-swept grass-covered dunes and beyond that the stunning Pacific. The beds are comfortable and the towels are clean. They get it all done right while you can easily stage runs and tours through the Humboldt Redwoods and the surrounding area. Come back to a clean room, research the next day's activities on the free WiFi, flip channels and fall asleep to the waves.

Easy stay for a family of 4 and very much worth it. Did I mention the views, walks and drives from the hotel are gorgeous?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    72
    10
    9
    9
See reviews for
29
113
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband & I were looking for a destination on the coast to spend our 43rd anniversary. We have been in Fort Bragg in the past & I remembered the beautiful coast line. I started my search for a motel with something special to offer & I found the Ocean View Motel, made my reservations. From the first call to the reservation desk I knew the experience was going to be special. When we arrived the office was very clean, the young lady was very nice & our room was ready. The room was very clean, large but the view was SPECTAULAR. At that moment we made a promise to return every year to celebrate our valentine's anniversary.
The only suggestion we have is to be able to securely leave the patio door open at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I had a wonderful time. The staff were very helpful when I asked questions, about the eating places in the area and the activities in the area. The view was spectacular. I will difinitely be back, I will being my bike, and venture out a little more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I loved this place and will return! We spoke with staff and recommend microwaves for the room my wife likes her morning coffee hot on chilly mornings while watching the ocean . The real suprise was how spacious the rooms were and the proximity to the beach thanks again .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much-------rooms are clean------ beds are comfortable------the location (about 150 yards from the beach edge) and the utterly unobstructed ocean view is the reason we keep coming back-------would appreciate more heat and another lamp in the room----but all in all it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We almost didn't stay here because of the pictures of the outdated decor that we viewed online. The mauve carpet and the 80's bedspread almost kept us away. But - we knew the location was good because the weekend before we spent down the road at the Beachcomer. Well... we entered the room and were pleasantly surprised - yes the decor was a bit outdated, but the room was very clean and comfortable. AND - the view and the sound of the waves and the proximity to the water, wow, we will be back. We loved our stay, enjoyed the balcony on the ocean side of the room, enjoyed sitting in the jacuzzi and being able to peek over the bed and see the ocean from there. If only they would move the bed to the other side of the room, then the view of the ocean from the jacuzzi would be perfect. Is the decor outdated - yes. Is the property old - yes. But if the decor was updated and the bathrooms remodeled - they could charge at least double what they charge now... Do you come to the coast for the room? Not us .... but if they do decide to upgrade the property then double the cost of the stay ... I'll still be back - for the location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

When my husband and I checked in, the hotel clerk gave us instructions to just turn on the heater or turn off, don't try to set it. Also, flip the vent under the refrigerator so heat will come out of that. Well, heat never came on and vent under fridge did not work either, so we basically froze to death. On top of that the smell of fabreeze or whatever cleaning product that was used permeated the whole room. Had to open all doors and air the room out. When all was said and done, with tax, we paid $154.00 for a very poor room. We could not call the desk because it was after 10:00 PM by the time we figured out the heat was not working. Live and learn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanViewLodge, Manager at Ocean View Lodge, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We are very sorry for the problem with the heat in your room. Our manager is onsite and available for emergencies when our office is closed. We consider your heat not working an emergency and would have resolved the problem immediately if it had been brought to our attention. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and guests who are sensitive are welcome to request their room be cleaned without scented products.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Lodge

Address: 1141 N. Main Street, Fort Bragg, CA 95437 (Formerly Quality Inn and Suites Ocean View)
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#3 Business Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious rooms are 500+ square feet, each with a spectacular 180 degree whitewater ocean view. Many of our beautiful rooms have a whirlpool and fireplace, which combined with the spectacular view make for the perfect romantic getaway. From your private balcony or patio you are only 60 yards from the ocean and access to the beach. Enjoy miles of coastline on the ten mile coastal trail and a short walk to the shops and restaurants in downtown Fort Bragg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Ocean View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Hotel Fort Bragg
Ocean View Fort Bragg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.