We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean View Lodge to your Saves list
Ocean View Lodge
1141 N. Main Street, Fort Bragg, CA 95437 (Formerly Quality Inn and Suites Ocean View)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Clovis, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Right on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Great view, great location, great for hikers or joggers. Room is very large, sleeps 4 very comfortably, beds are great. Couldn't ask for a better place to stay in Fort Bragg.

Watched the sun set from our balcony, went for walks on the beach... just great.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms face the ocean. No noise to speak of on bottom floor. Great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    75
    11
    10
    9
See reviews for
33
122
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ukiah, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed in the spa suite and thoroughly enjoyed it. Beautiful view of the ocean from the window and the little deck. Nice spacious room with very comfortable bed. A great value compared to other places on the coast. I would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We have stayed at the Ocean View many times.We stayed here in the 1980s before its namesake motel (really an old style auto court) was replaced with the current multilevel buildings.
The price is right; the rooms are clean and there is almost no night noise.

But come for the view. It is spectacular any time of the year, although Ft. Bragg can be foggy at times. You can reach the beach easily, or just stand on the bluff and enjoy the view. The view from the rooms with a glass of wine in hand is also a treat.

Room Tip: We like the upper level as you get a grander view, but not by much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Rio, Calif.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

My husband & I haven't been here in a couple of years, so we were hoping it was as nice as before, and it was. We always stay on the second floor, which has the King bed, fireplace, in room jacuzzi, huge shower in bathroom, refridgerator, coffeepot, etc.. The only thing I would recommend would be to have a microwave. They had a big, flat screen TV on the wall which was nice also. But, the lovely private deck that you have to go out, and sit, and just enjoy the ocean view and sip some wine was the reason we always come here.We walked the path that was outside of our motel as well as walked down to the beach. Check out my photos, as they say pictures are worth a thousand words. Oh, and the weather was beautiful! We were there Friday, (the 6th of January), thru the 8th of January. We hated to leave! So many parks to see ,and explore as well as the beaches, and the quaint town with all the Antique shops, and the wonderful Skunk train. Ft. Bragg is just a lovely place! We will be back! And the town of Mendocino is just a few miles away.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money to get a room on the second floor, and get that Jacuzzi room! WOW! You will be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I rated it very good beacuse we wanted a great view with a deck at a fair price and this place delivered. Sitting on the deck watching the sun go down over the pacific was beautiful! The room was large, but an odd layout. You do have a flat screen, but the room was dated. The staff was great and made some good dining recomendations.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Very helpful staff at the front desk. Though the exterior looks a little oldish the rooms were very large and updated. We stayed on the first floor with a sitting room with sofa and TV and a separate bedroom with flat screen and a sliding glass door opening to a small patio with great views of the waves. The bed was comfortable and there was a refrigerator too. I would have liked a microwave. There is a walking path just outside the patios on the bottom floor which had me a little concerned but the privacy window treatments and the doublepaned glass excluded any noise or thoughts of outsiders looking in. There was a distinct smell of cleaning chemicals after the room was serviced but with the doors and windows opened it quickly went away. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't want to deal with passersby on the walking path, stay in the top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Arriving at this 2 story 60's style motel, we were not impressed with its exterior. But front desk was friendly and helpful, providing local information. We were surprised and pleased when we entered our first floor unit. It is a suite-style with a lower level sitting room and TV. A few well-lighted steps go up to the bedroom area that includes a mini-fridge and perfectly adequate bathroom and a deck with two chairs to look at the ocean. A walking path just below is nice for walkers and joggers. This property is on the ocean side of the road so if you have an ocean view there is no obstruction or traffic noise. The room was exceptionally clean and upon check out we mentioned this. Front desk said that the property has a low guest to housekeeping ratio and that each maid has 1 1/2 hours to clean each room, very impressive.No pool or fancy amenities but If you want an ocean view without the high cost of a Mendocino hotel, you could do worse..the waves lull you to sleep.zzzzzzzzzzzzz.

Room Tip: Ask for and pay for an ocean view. Lower level is fine, you can still see the ocean. Upper rooms ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Lodge

Address: 1141 N. Main Street, Fort Bragg, CA 95437 (Formerly Quality Inn and Suites Ocean View)
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious rooms are 500+ square feet, each with a spectacular 180 degree whitewater ocean view. Many of our beautiful rooms have a whirlpool and fireplace, which combined with the spectacular view make for the perfect romantic getaway. From your private balcony or patio you are only 60 yards from the ocean and access to the beach. Enjoy miles of coastline on the ten mile coastal trail and a short walk to the shops and restaurants in downtown Fort Bragg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Ocean View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Hotel Fort Bragg
Ocean View Fort Bragg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.