We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I agree with others - good value in an expensive area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   191 South St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
San Jose, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“I agree with others - good value in an expensive area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

If you want Marriott or Hilton type accomodations in the Mendocino area during high season, you're simply going to have to pay BIG bucks. This motel offers a good sized clean room with fridge, a decent TV and all the other standard motel amenities for a reasonable price. The location is close to downtown without being in the thick of things, yet only 10 mins from Mendocino. For us, service was good and everything went fine. No problems.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    50
    29
    6
    5
See reviews for
43
54
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston, texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

For the asking price, these are decent accommodations considering its location in the expensive Mendocino and Fort Bragg areas. The front desk staff (Karen) was especially friendly and helpful as we checked-in. The room size is decent and includes two queen size beds. There is a swimming pool and hot-tub in the area. It is very close to the coastal route US-1 and is convenient to shopping and restaurants. The only negative aspect of the room was the lack of air-conditioning; however, the temperature is relatively cool at Fort Bragg and Karen offered us a fan which kept the air circulating. The motel does not promise a continental breakfast; nonetheless, they provided mediocre coffee and poor (stale ?) muffins. I wish they had avoided this completely because it was a needless blight on an otherwise positive stay. In any case, there is a McDonalds about a couple of miles south. I would suggest avoiding the "continental breakfast" completely and going directly there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

I would book this again, since it was friendly, clean and convenient. They had the original continental breakfast, juice, muffin and coffee, it was enough to get us back on the road. This is a two story motel, outside entrances and if you ask for second floor, ocean side you get a nice ocean view. We had a microwave and refrigerator.

If you are heading north to the Avenue of Giants or West to the freeway, eat breakfast before you leave town. Both roads are 40 mile two hour trips on narrow, winding slow mountain roads.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

It was our first stay at this chain. Very adequate. We had an upstairs room facing the back, so it was very quiet. It was nice and clean and more than enough room for two. No problems with the free wi-fi. Very simple continental breakfast - juice/coffee/yogurt/muffin. We didn't use the indoor pool or spa.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

Advice-best price is available if you book on Americas Best Value Motel website...if you can. I found my best rate was $72 but could not get the credit card type to drop down to select my credit card. Was forced to call their toll free national number where the clerk told me she only had rooms for $86. When i asked about the rate online of $72 she stated "you have to book online to get that rate". When I explained the site would not allow me to book online as i could not select my credit card type, she gave me the room for the internet rate.
Motel is OK, older property but for $72 I knew I wasnt going to be staying at a five star accomodation. Compared to several others i have stayed at on prior occassions, it was better. Room was clean, spacious, and had a microwave/fridge. Bathroom was immaculate. Everything in the room worked and I had no problems. Property was very quiet even though it is just one block away from Highway , but in Fort Bragg there are rarely traffic issues. Room faced the ocean so there was a great view.
Staff was very attentive and went out of their way to make sure I had whatever i needed.
Pool was indoor and very clean, as was the hot tub.
The breakfast was not much to speak of..if you can be happy with coffee/tea, juice, and store muffins then you will be satisfied here. There is a restaurant in front of the restaurant as you face Hwy 1 that the room directory says has been there forever and supposedly serves the best breakfasts in Northern CA, although I did not partake. I did notice that when they started serving breakfast there in the morning however, the parking lot was always full. I will check it out on another trip.
I will be staying here again.


I had a room upstairs

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

From the originating phone call requesting room to the final checkout, the people and place were groovy! I'm 50 and am particular about where I stay. This is not a four star hotel. But it should be just for the people and ambiance. (I have stayed at 4 stars and never had such nice people) Clean, nice people, dog friendly (we had a mini pincher) and just generally cool. Stayed over xmas and new years. Pool/spa clean, clean, clean. Didn't want to have our room done every day, but they helped us with towels every morning. Worth every dime. Yes, it was an off time so less expensive than most but Jennifer at the front desk, Laurie (the manager) were so great to chat with ... Chinese restaurant beside the hotel had some seriously good food for little pricing. Good locale near Noyo Harbour. Thanks guys! Fran

  • Liked — It was just a cool trip. No hassle, no worries, all was good.
  • Disliked — Nuttin'
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

From the moment I booked our room package, we received nothing but exceptional service! This value priced motor lodge was everthing we expected and more. Sparkling clean room and carpeting, heated indoor pool and large hot tub. We requested an ocean view, and got one, balcony too. Perhaps the negative comments are from folks who expect the Ritz, at a discounted rate. We will stay at the Seabird again!

  • Liked — Well maintained property and spotlessly clean.
  • Disliked — some highway noise
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge

Address: 191 South St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Seabird Hotel Fort Bragg
Best Value Fort Bragg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.