We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and Clean in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   191 South St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Chico, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Affordable and Clean in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here one night this last weekend. It was a great value, especially compared to prices I was seeing. It wasn't as fancy as other places, but it got the job done. They love dogs here, which is awesome to see. There was a heated pool and jacuzzi, which was great on a chilly overcast afternoon. The room was good sized with a fridge and microwave. Everything was nice and clean, and the bed was quite comfortable. We didn't have any noise issues. There isn't a wall unit for heating and air, but they had a big table fan in the "closet", which worked well for me. There's a hair dryer and a coffee maker as well. In the morning there's tasty local muffins and yogurt available. I also signed up for the free Best Value club which saved me ten to fifteen dollars for the night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabirdlodge, Owner at Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the nice review. The indoor pool and hot tub are very popular with our guests. The perfect place to relax after a day of fun activities on the coast. Hope to see you again soon. Spread the word. 800 345 0022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    43
    25
    5
    5
See reviews for
38
46
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We found ourselves in Fort Bragg one Friday evening and without accommodations and looking online we found only a few options that were extremely overpriced in my opinion. I was willing to spend $100 a night but the cheapest one I found was $170 and didn't even look that nice. So we decided to just drive through town and check in with places that had a vacancy, since several didn't. We came across this and the Motel 8 we decided to check here first and they had a room that had a microwave and a mini fridge. There was free coffee, tea and hot chocolate in the lobby and in the morning they had yogurt, juice, and homemade muffins by the owner, who also owns the chocolate shop in town. We saw so many pets here and inquired about it and it os only $10 cleaning fee to have your pet stay here too! When I asked their response was "you have a pet you didn't bring?!" LOL I said we weren't sure of our plans or where we'd end up but I know now I can bring him. They have a wall of past pet visitors on the wall and even have a lab mix in the office. They take them from tea cup size to mini horses is what they lady said. So large and small bring them all is the motto. The room was very clean and well equipped, the buildings are two story and we had a nice private room in the back building overlooking an empty lot so no headlights in the windows and didn't even hear any cars from where we were. They have a pool and spa and there is a cafe located right out front. I am reality glad we found this place $99 a night and lots of good advice on what to do in the area. I will be back and next time I might bring Jak (my 90lb Lab).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabirdlodge, Owner at Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for posting a review of the Seabird. Glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff is great, I agree. Friendly people and friendly rates. Spread the word. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soulsbyville, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I needed a nice, quiet, comfortable lodging for me, my partner and our furry family member. The Seabird Lodge was all that and more. Lorie the manager took us in hand, got us the right room for our needs and Karen waited for us until late into the night. Pet friendly is not the word for it. My dog was treated like a princess!
This is a older Motel, but it is so nicely maintained you wouldn't know it. Soft, comfy towels, soft sheets. Nice little refrigerator and Microwave in the room. Great tasting coffee and tea. Muffins for breakfast, freshly made by Fort Bragg's Chocolate Factory. Was nice to relax in the hot tub and swim in the covered pool. The Home Style Cafe in front of the motel has a good Breakfast and lunch. What is really nice is: they don't price gouge you. Extremely wonderful staff. Stayed 5 nights, would love to just live there.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have fenced patio. Rooms are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabirdlodge, Owner at Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you so much for the glowing review!!! Glad we met all of your expectations. The indoor pool and hot tub are favorites of our guests. I agree wholeheartedly Lorie and Karen are great--they each do their best to assure that every guest's needs are met. Next time here on the Mendocino Coast remember the Seabird Lodge--Friendly people and Friendly rates. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The SeaBird is one of the older hotels as are most of them in this area. Out door entrances, non-smoking rooms, pet friendly. We found our room was deeply saturated in deodorizer which leads me to believe the non-smoking is not firm. Room was quiet and dark for sleeping. We stayed two nights with bike parked outside and it was ok. the price of over $100/nite was steep, but i think it was in line with the going rates of the area. Indoor pool was constantly crowded with kids who also filled the hot tub, so we didn't venture into that. Diner on the corner from hotel was fabulous. Took over 30 minutes to get served but we snatched the last table and everyones order was ahead of ours. SeaBird wasn't a bad place, just wasn't a good place either!

Room Tip: Upstairs so you don't hear everyone walking on the floor above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabirdlodge, Owner at Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the Seabird. Our indoor pool and hot tub--there are just a few here on the Coast--are very popular, great places to relax after a day exploring our spectacular part of the world. As you noted there are lots of kids enjoying the pool during summer vacation. After school starts in the fall the pool is a much quieter and relaxing experience for adults. The restaurant on the corner--The Homestyle Cafe--is great! It has been operated by the same person for 20 plus years. The Homestyle is regarded as having the best breakfast in Fort Bragg. We agree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this location for a few nights. The customer service was incredible, and the location could not be better. The owner also owns Mendocino Chocolate Co. so in the morning you have fresh muffins from there along with yogurt and drinks. If you would like a large breakfast I would encourage you to walk to the "Home Style Cafe" next door. We had a wonderful breakfast and the service was great. Plus, every room has both a refrigerator and microwave!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabirdlodge, Owner at Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thanks for posting a review of the Seabird. Thanks for noting that the customer service "was incredible". The desk staff here at the Seabird is just that--incredible! Many guests have commented that our staff is the friendliest on the Coast . I agree. Our morning muffins tend to be a hit with our guests--glad you enjoyed them. So glad that your experience at the Seabird was great. Pass the word along. Hope to see you again soon. 1 800 345 0022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bluff, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Attended a family function on Fort Bragg . Brought the three grandkids and two dogs. The location is very convenient. The room was clean. As you walk into the room you smell nothing. No odors, no cleaning fumes. The mangers/owners and front desk staff welcoming and friendly. The grounds are clean. There is a nice set up in the morning with good coffee, muffins, yogurt and juice. The kids loved the indoor pool (which is must in Fort Bragg in order to be usable most of the year). The room had a small refrigerator and microwave which were very convenient. Yeah, the pink paint in the rooms is a bit off-putting. But that's my only knock on the place. The beds were comfortable and the bed linens were nice and clean. The towels were soft and generously sized.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabirdlodge, Owner at Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the nice review. The indoor pool and hot tub are really enjoyed by our guests. The beaches here on the Mendocino Coast are fantastic--but the water can almost make your toes turn blue! Our pool is kept at about 80 degrees and the hot tub at about 100 degrees--great places to warm up. Thanks for mentioning our super staff. They are all great. When visiting the coast the Seabird is the place to stay--pass it on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at the Seabird! The lobby was warm and inviting as was the friendly and helpful staff! Took advantage of the great indoor pool and hot tub. Was just what we needed after our days of exploring the Fort Bragg area. The private patio balcony (with a small ocean view) was a great place to just hang out and reflect on the day. Our room with two very comfortable queen beds, was a perfect size and had everything we needed. There were tasty muffins, awesome coffee and nice cold orange juice in the lobby each morning. For a larger breakfast, the Home Style Cafe next door was great!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabirdlodge, Owner at Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the Seabird. We greatly appreciate it. The upstairs west facing rooms all have distant ocean views--at no additional cost. Request one of these rooms when you call to reserve--800 345 0022. They are first come first serve. The morning muffins are a hit with our guests. I enjoy making them--varieties include chocolate/chocolate chip, lemon poppy seed, maraschino white chocolate, bran zucchini, apricot pecan and several other super flavors. The all time favorite is blueberry. There are at least three kinds each morning. The Seabird front desk clerks are the best!!! Thanks for giving them a well deserved mention. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge

Address: 191 South St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Seabird Hotel Fort Bragg
Best Value Fort Bragg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.