We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   191 South St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Basic but good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in Jan 2013 for two nights with my family. The rooms are ok, kind of old fashioned but clean. People are very friendly. Not a great experience after all, but good value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabirdlodge, Owner at Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks for writing a review of the Seabird Lodge. And thanks for acknowledging the super job our housekeeping staff does. They are all great! Our fresh baked muffins are a hit wth guests--this morning we had chocolate/chocolate chip, orange cranberry and blueberry. For a solid value on the Mendocino Coast stay at the Seabird Lodge! Our upstairs west facing rooms have distant ocean views at no additional cost. They are on a "first come first serve" basis. Request when booking. 800-345-0022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    44
    28
    5
    5
See reviews for
38
47
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle River, Alaska
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We are traveling up the coast and needed a pet friendly hotel for the night. The woman at the desk, Karen, could not have been nicer. She was very welcoming to me and the dogs. The room itself was clean and basic, which is all that we required. There are muffins for breakfast. I highly recommend this motel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabirdlodge, Owner at Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank You! Thank You! I always like it when reviewers recognize our staff. The staff at the Seabird is indeed great--housekeeping, maintenance and desk staff. We have the friendliest staff at any inn on the Mendocino Coast!! Since I am the muffin man, let me tell you what kinds of muffins I made today: One of the favorites--Chocolate/chocolate chip. I also made Orange/cranberry. Another top favorite is blueberry -- but the Lemon poppyseed and Raspberry/white chocolate chip muffins are also near the top of the list. On occasion I make corn muffins with cheddar cheese and green onions-- a little different, but popular never the less. Next time you visit the coast please stay at the Seabird-- the place with the friendliest folks and friendly room rates, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here one night whilst travelling down the west coast in the summer. Rooms very "retro" and had a scent a bit like an old folks home but lady at desk very friendly, free internet and nice touches at simple breakfast like selection of homemade muffins. If you don't mind the style then it;s a nice place although a little out of town, plenty of parking along main street though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabirdlodge, Owner at Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Glad the reviewer had a nice trip down the coast. He seems, however, to have the Seabird and another inn scrambled together. We are in town, have plenty of parking, are not on Main Street, are not "retro"--but do have the friendliest staff and serve the best muffins around. We hope this reviewer and everyone else stays at the Seabird when visiting the Spectacular Mendocino Coast. See you soon!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The 2 ladies at the front desk were excellent/friendly/super great. We stayed for 2 nights (my daughter & I) and the price was great and the hotel/room clean. They have a pool and spa which is inside. They don't have a full breakfast but what they do have it good -- homemade muffins & yogurt, juice, coffee and hot chocolate. The ladies there gave us day trip ideas and recommended a great restaurant in the area for dinner. Would stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: upstairs hwy 1 side to look out at the beach area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabirdlodge, Owner at Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I wholeheartedly agree! Our staff at the Seabird is excellent !!! Thanks for taking time to post a review. We appreeciate it very much. Hope to see you on a future trip to the Spectacular Mendocino Coast. Spread the word that our rates are fair --A good Value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We are on a road trip with our 2 dogs. We are not fussy about where we stay. We want it clean, quiet and priced reasonably. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room decor is dated but everything was very clean and nothing was broken or missing. The breakfast was continental with delicious home-made muffins, yogurt, OJ, coffee etc. The coffee was not very good. The pet fee of $10/room was very reasonable, a big plus for me. I definitely would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabirdlodge, Owner at Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thanks for posting a review of the Seabird. I enjoy making the muffins for our guests. This morning we are serving Chocolate/Chocolate Chip, Bran/Zucchini, Lemon Poppyseed, and the all time favorite Blueberry. Pets are welcome here--in selected rooms. We'll even take a photo of the pet with its master to add to our pet board. One of our most unusual pet/guests was a Eurasian Eagle Owl--Even though his visit was a few years ago we have kept the photo on our pet board. On your next visit be sure to check out the photos. As an additional note please know that our very dedicated housekeeping staff does an extra thorough cleaning of each room that had a pet. We charge the $10 pet fee to cover the cost of the added time houskeeping spends to clean these rooms. And thank you for mentioning the friendliness of our staff. We have the best!!! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I booked this on other reviews and was not disappointed, good size room and comfy bed. Nice choice of continental breakfast with coffee and tea. A little out of town where the best restaurnts are but not a problem. Only stayed one night with my wife but would certainly return again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabirdlodge, Owner at Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thanks for the nice review! Glad you had a nice stay. Yes, the Seabird is a great value! Why pay Mendocino prices when you can stay here? Spend your saved money on a great dinner at one of the coast's many restaurants. See you on your next trip to this beautiful part of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here for one night, on a spur of the moment road trip. Room was ready at check-in. The front desk people were all extremely friendly and helpful. We got to the room, which was pretty dated. It didn't look dirty, just kind of old. We slept fine and the price was right, so I can't complain too much. They take dogs which is great. All and all it was fine. The decor just needs some updating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabirdlodge, Owner at Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thanks for posting a review of the Seabird. We appreciate all feedback. Our great desk staff is friendly and very helpful. We hear that from everyone! Lorie, Karen and Olivia are tops!! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Fort Bragg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge

Address: 191 South St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Seabird Hotel Fort Bragg
Best Value Fort Bragg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Seabird Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.