We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Vista Manor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Vista Manor Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Vista Manor Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1100 North Main Street, Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
La Crescent, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was the most expensive hotel stay on our trip, but definitely not the nicest one. Though the staff was nice, the entire facility appeared very old and dated. The room was okay, but in need of fresh paint, etc. It was clean and quiet and we slept okay. The facility has several separate two story buildings with rooms and a separate main building with the lobby and breakfast area. The breakfast was okay, but nothing great. The coffee was only fair. The dining area was spacious. There was no ice maker for our building. We had to walk across the parking lot to another building to get ice and then that ice machine wasn't working properly. It would churn and make noise for a couple of minutes and then one or two pieces of ice would fall in the bucket. There was a distant view of the ocean from our room, but the grounds outside the window were dirt and tall weeds, clearly in need of landscaping. The whole air of the place was that this was once (perhaps) a nice place that had seen better days. We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    114
    76
    18
    19
See reviews for
103
104
15
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We've normally stayed at the Beachcomber across the highway, which is right on the ocean. The Vista Manor is a little run down, and the breakfasts are not so good -- terrible coffee, limited selection of not-very-healthy foods. However, the view from the rooms in the main building is spectacular, the beds are fine, and the guests are quiet, which is a change from the Beachcomber.

Room Tip: You wouldn't want to be in the building in the lowest part of the property, I don't think. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

BEST WESTERN Vista Manor Lodge in Fort Bragg, CA is in an absolutely beautiful location on the Mendocino coast of California. There's hiking, beer, wine, the Skunk Train, birding, fishing, restaurants, botanical gardens to die for, Redwoods and Glass Beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrin, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Overall average: building appearance and construction; room quality. On the pleasant side the location provided a view of the ocean (about one-fourth mile away). Not so pleasant, for my wife, there is a cemetery right next door. The breakfast was not too good.

Room Tip: If you don't like cemeteries stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Grove, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It was a comfortable bed and close to where my friends were staying. I loved seeing a little bit of the ocean from my room. I would request a 2nd floor room next time to I would have an even better view and well as feel secure leaving the windows or sliding glass door open.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This motel has a great location and even though it was across the street from the ocean, we were able to have an ocean front view from our room. We spent 4 days here and the rooms were always cleaned early and efficiently. The grounds are pleasant and the rooms were comfortable although they are a little older than some other places we have stayed. The breakfast was decent but not exceptional. The staff was very friendly and quite helpful. Air conditioning would be useful at times, more for the humidity than heat. It is probably one of the closest lodgings to "Glass Beach".

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was nice, it would have been better if there was a fan or air conditioner. The location was great it had a ocean view, It was nice we would come again. It was quiet. Coffee and toast was good for a quick breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Vista Manor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Vista Manor Lodge

Address: 1100 North Main Street, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Vista Manor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN Vista Manor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vista Manor Hotel Fort Bragg
Best Western Fort Bragg
Fort Bragg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Vista Manor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.