We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic B&B ideal for both romantic couples and families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Weller House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Bragg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Weller House Inn
Save
You added Weller House Inn to your Saves list
524 Stewart Street, Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Historic B&B ideal for both romantic couples and families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We have stayed at the Weller House multiple times, most recently in February 2014, and have been impressed both the innkeepers ability to cater effortlessly for both romantic weekends and family getaways. We prefer the more laid back, blue collar atmosphere of Fort Bragg over Mendocino ostentation, but still want to feel pampered in Victorian charm, and the Weller House has always delivered.

For family visits, the Weller House is walking distance from the downtown shops and restaurants and literally across the street from the Skunk Train. Its also an easy 10 min walk to Glass Beach and to the newly connected haul road to MacKerricher State Park (We wish we had brought our bikes). The room costs are higher than some other B&Bs we've stayed at in Fort Bragg, but they have a number of very large rooms with King/Queen or King/Twin combos that are fine for a family of 3 or 4 and which we found cheaper than renting two B&B rooms elsewhere. There are several common areas with books and games that would be of interest to children and adults. We loved the range of breakfast foods, especially the tasty egg/cheese dishes and fresh fruit, but there were toast and cereal items for kids.

For the romantic couple experience, the large rooms are pleasant for lounging with comfortable sitting areas that allowed us to feel like we had the run of the house even though families were present. We chose a room with a clawfoot tub for the Victorian B&B experience. The innkeepers were available when we needed them for making dinner arrangements but knew when to leave us alone. They also have a range of optional amenities for couples that we didn't use, such as tango lessons in the beautiful third floor ballroom which has sitting areas with views.

The gardens are large with water features and sitting areas, but the plantings and small fish pond needed gardening care. During previous visits, we found the gardens a nice place to relax. It wasn't an issue for us on this stay and our recent drought may have affected the ability to maintain what can be a wonderful small and inviting garden.

Room Tip: We preferred the rooms in the house for their Victorian charm and because most are large and good fo...
See more room tips
Green Features: The delicious egg dishes at breakfast come in part from the colorful and playful chickens in the coop on the property. Its worth taking a look and watching them follow you back and forth (presumably looking for snacks).
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    14
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
52
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We arrived on a rainy afternoon, the owner and her staff welcomed us to a great, cozy, warm room, hot tea and beautiful house! Great breakfast both mornings, all amenities as promised. What a great location, a block away from the main street and near the historic downtown. An awesome ballroom on the top floor! The grounds are so pleasant that even a deer greeted me one late morning as she ate some grass... Amazing! The top of the water tower is a true grand view of the Pacific and over the whole town. Hope to come back soon and try one of the other rooms. Well worth it!!! Thanks, Vivian, Angelina and the rest of the staff!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Cozy cute victorian style rooms, amazing breakfast in the morning, friendly owner, great rental room for weddings or parties- amazing acoustics, breathtaking view from the highest point in town of the ocean

Room Tip: Definitely stay in the Abalone room- windows on all sides!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent this last weekend at the Weller House, and it was amazing. It was charming, spotlessly clean and cozy. The room we stayed in had a huge whirlpool tub and an incredibly comfortable bed that had us sleeping in until 10:30 - we came late to breakfast time and they didn't even blink, serving up fresh eggs, scones and orange juice. The lady who runs the place is fascinating (speaks a half-dozen European languages, has traveled the world for decades, and clearly is a great cook!) She was super friendly and helpful, orienting us to everything to do (and eat..) in the area and taking the time to share the history of the house and the town. She also hosts two dances a week in her top-floor ballroom - swing and salsa - and the occasional tango Milonga. We loved it and will absolutely be back. I'm a total fan.

Room Tip: The "Aqua" room is wonderful - huge tub, sunset view and not too much sun in the morning i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I found The Weller House on Groupon and I'm so glad I did. We stayed in the Iris room and it was delightful and charming. We paid $140 for the night. I would probably not stay here if I had to pay full price but for the deal we had, it was well worth it. They served fresh eggs from their chickens for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Weller House Inn- One of the most historical places in Fort Bragg is the The Inn was built in 1886. It’s on the National Register of Historic places. It is 10,000 sq ft. I stayed in one of the 7 rooms in the house. They’ve all been renovated. There’s a water tower on the property that has the highest view in the town and has 2 separate rooms to stay in the tower itself. Also, inside the Inn, at the very top, is a large dance floor, which Vivian LaMothe, the owner, has rented to world class dancers of social Argentine tango. She herself is an avid tango dancer. She is starting to expand her business for weddings. This is a wonderful venue as the rooms hold up to 28 people. The food is all organic. A lovely bed and breakfast. For more information, go to: www.wellerhouse.com

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivtango, Manager at Weller House Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we're so glad you enjoyed the place.

There is one slight correction I'd like to make - although it is perfectly cozy for small gatherings, our 900 square foot ballroom officially seats 52, and accommodates 112 standing. I'm tempted to say it can fit 224 close embrace tango dancers, but am not sure the fire department would agree! In any case, it's a good place for all sorts of parties and dances.

Just last Saturday we had live tango music, and starting November 10 we will have live music on most Sunday evenings 6 - 9 pm, for a different dance every week of the month (swing, salsa, and tango for the first three Sundays of the month, and our 4th Dimension Film night on the 4th Sunday, focused on historic films (particularly, those rich in dance or food scenes)

Hope you can come back sometime soon!

all the best,
Vivien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scappoose, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night on our week long road trip. I found The Weller House on Groupon and I'm so glad I did. We stayed in the Iris room and it was delightful and charming. We paid $140 for the night. I would probably not stay here if I had to pay full price but for the deal we had, it was well worth it.

The breakfast was delightful. Eggs cooked to order, yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, tasty breads and amazing jams.

Fort Bragg is a VERY charming small town with lots of interesting folks.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
1.3 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#6 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
1.0 mi away
Surf and Sand Lodge
Surf and Sand Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weller House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weller House Inn

Address: 524 Stewart Street, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1886 inn with ballroom, library, breakfast room, water tower observation deck, and gardens. Featured in the New York Times and Sunset Magazine. Nine fine guest rooms, each with private bathrooms, sitting areas, down pillows and comforters, Egyptian cotton sheets. King or queen beds, two rooms have private Jacuzzis, 4 rooms have fireplaces. The water tower observation deck is the high point in town, great for whale watching and sunsets. Gardens with heritage and edible ornamentals have been organic since 2008. Breakfast (now served in the original dining room on the ground floor of the main house) features the freshest local and organic ingredients, including eggs from our own hens. The virgin redwood ballroom on the third floor of the main house is a unique and beautiful space, ideal for all sorts of gatherings. Weekly dances and occasional live music concerts put the extraordinary studio-quality acoustics to good use -- no artificial amplification necessary! Regular social Argentine Tango Weekends feature world-class instructors, and since 2009 the annual Dancing Fools' TangoFest takes place on the weekend closest to April 1st. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weller House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.