We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and serene comfortable inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grey Whale Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Bragg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grey Whale Inn
Save
You added Grey Whale Inn to your Saves list
615 N. Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
mindfulchef
1 review
“Cozy and serene comfortable inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

I stayed in the Grey Whale in for two weeks while taking classes at the Living Light Culinary Arts school in Fort Bragg. The Inn is just a short two blocks from the school on the main street of town - a short enough walk even in the rain or to go back to on a break if you find you have forgotten something. The inn keeper has created a raw kitchen for students to use during their stay. He serves a nice breakfast on the weekends, although it is not raw, there are many vegetarian choices. Out in front of the inn is a stupendous vegetable garden. I would definitely recommended this as a number one choice for Living Light students. This is in a glamorous trendy place but an old fashioned inn that is a cozy home away from home for students

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    9
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
13
19
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

This is a wonderful B&B located in Fort Bragg. Our room was large, clean and very nicely decorated. The breakfast was delicious and served by the innkeeper. The breakfast room is located in the front area of the house overlooking the front porch and garden. We spent one day at the state park hiking the beach and having a delightful picnic. On the other day we were there we visited the Botanical Gardens where we took lots of photographs and had a nice walk out to the bluff overlooking the ocean. Seafood dinners at Noyo Harbor were fabulous. All of these areas were nearby. The old downtown is within walking distance from the B&B with lots of great shops Definitely will go back again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

We visited the B&B as family had gotten us a gift certificate to stay and we hadn't yet been to Ft. Bragg for a long time. We're not really the B&B type but this was a very cool old building, former hospital I think with large open areas and rooms close to town. Our room was nice & clean, pretty simple with a small TV, fireplace and an old fashioned quilt on the wall. We called ahead to let the staff know we would be arriving late, they left a key out for us though not in the spot they said it would be. Breakfast the next morning was nice, good coffee and eggs made to order. Checked in after breakfast and the innkeeper didn't find our reservation but had no problem with the gift certificate and we confirmed we would be there for two nights (glad the place wasn't booked!). The B&B seemed very quiet and it wasn't very full so any vacant rooms were left open so we could see what the others looked like. I would recommend a room overlooking the garden or on the back of the house, bigger rooms & baths with a bit more privacy (Whalewatch or Sunset). Arrived back after a day hiking and at the beach with no one to be found, should have asked for a dinner recommendation at breakfast, oh well. We found a nice spot and headed out the next morning for brunch down the coast at the Little River Inn (very good). I would recommend this B&B folks who are happy to be on their own (bring your own ice) and have a cozy place to stay near town. Not sure this would be a good spot for families....better for single travelers.

  • Liked — Very interesting history of the B&B
  • Disliked — A bit cold and drafty with the Inn keeper hard to find
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

I have stayed at the Grey Whale for many years now. It has unfortunately been sold into hands that have forgotten what the original Inn Keepers set out to do. That was personal service. Not only have the rooms become old and let go (ours had mold on the ceiling and pipes) but the service was horrible. The reviews state that a "chef" will create your breakfast. Not so. The Inn Keeper cooks breakfast that my husband would not eat because of the quality. We were charged for two nights when we checked out because of the accomidations. We could not even stay the second night. The price of the Sunrise room is far to expensive for what you get now. It used to be chocolates on your pillow, a evening cup of tea and the keepers were so personable. I was so saddened by my last stay I have to recommend that others stay somewhere else. The lack of care and quality was astounding.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the Inn Keeper and lack of care in this
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

We stayed here one night. It was pretty nice, but not super-luxurious. The bathrooms were fine, and the room was fine, but you did not feel like you were in a luxury B & B. The bed and sheets were fine. The TV was very small and grainy. They had cable, but the picture was very grainy. They had a small portable heater to heat the room. The bathroom was very tiny. The breakfast consisted of eggs, bacon, fruit, coffee, and juice. Overall pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

The Grey Whale Inn is a real gem! The rooms are great. Ours was huge which was completely unexpected in a B&B. There was more than enough room for us and our daughter. The period furnishings are thoughtful, the game room was a lot of fun and the breakfast is to die for! No day old pastries and juice here. Top notch all the way around from a charming host to good conversation with other guests over breakfast. We'll be back!

  • Liked — The giant rooms
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2007

Centrally located, yet surprisingly quiet, this place is a jewel. The atmosphere and decorations are unpretentious but conducive to relaxation. The breakfasts they provide are way above par, particularly the home-made coffee cake. Michael, the innkeeper is very accomodating and welcoming. I found the Grey Whale to be a perfect compliment to the beauty and peacefullness of the North Coast area.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grey Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Whale Inn

Address: 615 N. Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grey Whale Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.