We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Motel and Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Surf Motel and Gardens to your Saves list
Surf Motel and Gardens
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1220 S. Main Street, Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
STAY 2 GET 3RD 50% OFF
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Go back to 1963, but with clean carpets. This is a gem. The gardens are awesome. All varieties of plants and flowers. In the back, there are gardens with barbeques and horshoe pits. Even a small dog park. Why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    133
    39
    10
    8
See reviews for
111
183
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pine Grove, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We haven.t stayed any place else since we found this motel. Definitely a keeper!!! Friendly, clean, helpful, great rates and pet friendly!!! We have never had a bad or disappointing stay.

Love the ever evolving gardens.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We have stayed here three times and keep coming back because it is a wonderful value, comfortable bed, clean room, lovely grounds, nice little breakfast, and very nice people!! Our recent visit, July 2014, sent us over the top for them and we will never stay anywhere else in Fort Bragg! We live in Sacramento County and are used to a fan or some type of moving air on during the night. As the rooms are not air-conditioned, I was having trouble sleeping so called the desk - they brought me a fan at 11:00 p.m.! I had it in the room the entire visit! However, the GREATEST moments were on the day we left. We were half way home when I realized I did not have my wedding ring on. I panicked, as I could not remember if I had left it at the motel, or where we had stopped to eat! I called the motel to see if by any chance they had seen it. Karen asked me to hold for minute – it seemed like an eternity - then came back on moments later saying YES, the girls found the ring and had just brought to the office!!! It is a diamond band, worth about $2000. They put it in the mail and I got it back the following week. I work in Sacramento politics so I'm pretty jaded about people any more - but this act of honesty and trust has renewed my faith!! Thank you is not enough to convey my deep feelings but, if you are looking for a nice place to rest your head - PLEASE try this lovely spot while you enjoy the sun, sand, and surf of Fort Bragg, CA!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing south get the ocean breeze the best at night, as you may want to leave your windows ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was a great hotel. Everything was very clean and the grounds were beautiful! We enjoyed walking through the gardens. They have great outdoor areas to eat and BBQ. The staff and owners were so helpful and friendly. Great place to stay and experience Fort Bragg!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We do a lot of abalone and scuba diving up the northern california coast. We stayed at this place by luck when we decided to stay an extra night in Fort Bragg. The gardens and amount of flowers are beautiful. Very clean rooms, centraly located, they cater to divers having a cleaning station, place to clean your equipment and hangers all up and dowh the hallways where you can hang your equipment to dry. Very helpful and acomodating stuff and they even have their own bus that takes you to the Skunk Train. Give it a try you'll like it. Happy diving.

Room Tip: If you have a big family they have rooms with 2 bedrooms, full kitchen,sleep a bunch very reasonable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

first time staying here and we didn't know what to expect.
drove onto property and struck by the fauna and flora of well manicured gardens.
room 145 boasted a microwave, a fridge, a shower with a seat, good water and water pressure, everything was clean and well maintained, the tv very nice and as a special treat the lights had dimmer switches.
reddy the manager was very kind / considerate and the room price was very reasonable
breakfast, though continental, was adequate. i'd give it five stars except for the styrofoam coffee cups. otherwise splendid. my wife and i will return.

Room Tip: corner room 145 was quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The garden was very pretty. Staff was very helpful. The room was average size but very clean and neat. The bed was comfortable. It was nice we got parking right outside of our room. There where places to eat and places to shop close by. The price is fair compared to the other prices in the area for what you get. I would stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Surf Motel and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel and Gardens

Address: 1220 S. Main Street, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Motel and Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable rooms with some ocean views, in room coffee, refrigerators, microwaves and hairdryers. Continental breakfast, beautiful gardens, free WiFi, and pet-friendly. We also have added a laundry room for our guests convenience. Close to Noyo Harbor and Skunk Train. Packages available for local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Surf Motel and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel And Gardens Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Hotel And Gardens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Motel and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.