We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby Chic without the Chic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Glass Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Glass Beach Inn to your Saves list
Glass Beach Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   726 North Main Street, Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
Oroville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Shabby Chic without the Chic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

This B&B was clean and the breakfasts were adequate. However the room we stayed in was right in front of the house next to busy Main Street which had traffic running all night. The beds were comfortable and the owners/managers(?) where very nice. The room we stayed in was the Mandalay. The decoration was two coolie hats and some bamboo. The furnishings looked like they came from a thrift store. The shag carpets didn't help decor and the tv was quite ancient. The Bathroom was clean but very odd because of the folding doors and the fridge which was in there. I hate brown towels and cheap soap but that is just my pet peeve. The breakfast room was very pleasant and was a pleasure to be in. Nancy & Richard were very welcoming and took time with every guest each morning.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the front rooms of this B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dixon, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We found our room to be quaint, clean and very comfortable. The hosts were so welcoming and provided wonderful breakfasts, snacks and desserts at the end of the day. We will definitely return. They are located within walking distance of the shops, the skunk train station, wine tasting and of course, glass beach and ocean views. Our daughter, son-in-law and grandson had the room across the hall which made it so easy. Interesting rooms for varying tastes. Priced very reasonably.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

This is a quaint property and I made the reservation based on the good reviews here. However, during our short stay, management was, without ANY provocation, mean-spirited and inconsiderate. For example, when we arrived and asked about some of the perks, such as a common room with games listed on the website, we were told, in a way that said don't ask for more, that everything we needed was in our room. A request for linens was met with an exasperated sigh. The windows in our room had no curtains and I was too intimidated to ask about a solution to block the external lights and the dawn. In the morning, the hostess inexplicably demanded payment during breakfast twice. Check out was just short of hostile.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

The room itself (victorian rose) was slightly awkward in shape and not that large, but adequate for 2 people. It was a bit dusty, and I believe I was a bit allergic to either the bedding or the detergent used for the bedding/towels (very strong smell). The bathroom was older, and the bathtub had some other hairs in it when we checked in. The breakfast in the morning was quite filling and tasty, so I would say that was a plus, and the 2 hosts seemed like nice people... It was ok for the price, but because of the allergies I experienced, I don't think I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

This was a terrific B&B. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The hosts were very accomodating to our needs. The breakfasts were fanastic!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

We found Glass Beach Inn B&B on Trip Advisor and we couldn't have made a better choice. Nancy and Rich are lovely, kind folks who genuinely take an interest in you. They provided excellent accurate local information and made us feel welcome and taken care of. Nancy is delightful and bubbly with a ready smile who nips around and magically gets it all done without ever being intrusive and Rich has a soft spoken easy manner--they make a great team in the kitchen, too.
The house is tastefully decorated, immaculate and the bed, bedding and linens always fresh and so, so comfy. Our room was spacious with a full bathroom, large TV with cable, a fridge and wireless internet. I never needed to worry about laundry, either--it was an unexpected bonus to find my things crispy clean, folded or hung when I returned in the evening.
The house was perfectly located on the main street halfway between the beach and the center of town. It took me just 10 minutes to walk to the Living Light Culinary school I was attending during the month of October.
There's nothing pretentious about this B&B...just friendly, warm and welcoming--can't wait to go back!!!

  • Liked — value, comfort, location and especially the hosts
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, ca.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

Got to The Glass Beach Inn on friday just after Thanksgiving . Such a warm welcome from Nancy as we were rather late to check-in. She is a wonderful hostess , And this was like going to grandmas house . Nancy's family was there for the Holidays . You could not find a more endearing Family anywhere !.... They were all so gracious and thoughtful . Nancys' husband Rich is one of the best cooks on the coast .. The only problem I found was The breakfast that Rich Cooks was so good and waaay filling . complete with a choice of breakfast , and if chances are good, He may whip-up some Belgium Waffles .... Dang, we would leave the Inn to go out exploring and be so full It was hard to visit any shop that had anything to do with food ! The rooms are great , the beds are better than any that we have encountered anywhere !! And not only is Rich a great cook , but he has the best local information .. like places where locals visit ... don't miss " Sharons" in Noyo Harbor . Wow that was a great dinner !
We will return again , this is a destination.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — needed to stay longer
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glass Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glass Beach Inn

Address: 726 North Main Street, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Glass Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Glass Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glass Beach Hotel Fort Bragg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glass Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.