We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved The Emerald Dolphin!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Dolphin Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Emerald Dolphin Inn to your Saves list
Emerald Dolphin Inn
1211 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Elf Special - 25% Off!
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Loved The Emerald Dolphin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2006

I come to Fort Bragg often and the only place I stay is at the Emerald Dolphin. It's immaculate and very comfortable. Loved the location to the ocean and mini golf next door. Friendly and helpful staff. They DO ALWAYS help with any requests I have. I would tell anyone coming to Fort Bragg or Mendocino that many higher priced places are overrated- this is affordable and I appreciate the service I always receive from Kim & David.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    52
    20
    6
    8
See reviews for
35
69
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2006

I was recommended the Emerald Dolphin Inn for the weekend. I stayed two nights with my two children and my husband. It was the worst experience with the toilet in the bathroom. We had to call for service with a problem with the toilet not flushing. The first time we called there was no one available to take care of the matter. But a representatives from the hotel send us a plunger. This was not our job. We had to use the plunger every time we wanted the toilet to flush. The next morning we spoke with Kim one of the owners from the hotel. Kim told my husband, that her husband, David was going to be in late that day. But that he would look at the problem. We called again that same day. No one was available to fix the problem. When we checked out the next morning. We spoke with David, one the owner's who mentioned that he had checked the toilet and there was no problem. We did not even know that someone went in to check the toilet. That same night the toilet was over flooded. We had to use the plunger which was not a good experience to have to see the excrement floating in the water. I was very disappointed. If the owner's were unable to fix the problem. The owner's should of moved us to another room. We paid our stay there. And we believed we overpaid. Knowing that the toilet was not in good standing.


My advise to anyone who plans to stay in the "Emerald Dolphin Inn" should make sure the the owner's have the room in good standing. It's not fair to have to go through this.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Management at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2009
Guest rooms are checked frequently to ensure everything is in working order, but no amount of maintenance can solve the matter of too much paper (or innapropriate items) placed in a commode. We are fortunate that this is not a common problem with our Inn, but in this case an innapropriate item had been discarded and of course we were not aware of it until major investigation was done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2005

I stayed here in March 2005. After not being able to find anything for less than $150 a night in Mendocino, Fort Bragg was my next-best option. The Emerald Dolphin Inn was new, clean, very reasonably priced, and the staff members were friendly. There isn't anything to do right around the inn but there were some interesting shops and restaurants about two miles up the road.

Our room was perfectly comfortable with a king-sized bed. Next time though, I will ask for a non-smoking room.

They serve a nice continental breakfast and there is a McDonald's right across the street.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2005

This was by far one of the best motels I have ever stayed in. It was clean, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the shower head provided plenty of water. To the reviewer before me the mini golf course opened Aug. 5, 2005, and if they would have checked the website or gave the motel a call they would have found this out. My stay was extremely enjoyable and QUIET at this motel and i would recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, TX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2005

My family and I stayed at this hotel in July and were very disappointed.
We booked the hotel back in January and at that time the website mentioned a beautiful 18 hole miniature golf course that would be completed in summer 2005. Imagine our disappointment when we arrived to find construction had just barely begun on the golf course! Worse yet, our room was directly across from the construction. The inn does not have air conditioning, so we were forced to leave our windows open and had to endure the noise of the loud construction equipment. The rooms are clean, and you can walk to the beach.
But the walk is about a half mile down a narrow road and there are no sidewalks. Moreover, when we received our bill from our credit card company, it showed an extra $25 charge. When we called the hotel to inquire about the charge, they told us it was for an ironing board that we damaged. We never even got the ironing board out. All in all, this hotel did not live up to its promotion on its website. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2005

We found the Emerald Dolphin to be VERY clean and comfortable, and nicely furnished. The surrounding grounds were torn up as they are doing some construction, but that did not bother us for our one night stay.
There was a distant view of the ocean.
The room had a microwave, coffeepot and sm refrigerator.
They offer a free continental breakfast.
Beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2005

As a frequent business traveller, I get to stay at my share of hotels in the N. California area. Having just been through Ft. Bragg, CA., the Emerald Dolphin hotel gets an A in my book. A newer hotel with about 40 rooms, the staff was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable, rate about $50.00 for single/queen. I'll stay there on future trips. Starbucks Coffee is about 1/2 mile away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerald Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Dolphin Inn

Address: 1211 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest Inns on the Coast, Emerald Dolphin's guest rooms bring luxurious comfort, gracious hospitality, and first class service to the Mendocino Coast. Located within walking distance to the Ocean Bluffs. Some jetted spa & fireplace suites. Complimentary continental breakfast, WIFI and many other amenities. Pet friendly rooms available. 18 hole Miniature Golf Course, fabulous restaurants, shops, galleries, and entertainment nearby. AAA approved- Three Diamonds Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Emerald Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Dolphin Hotel Fort Bragg
Emerald Dolphin Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Dolphin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.