We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations exceeded” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Dolphin Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Emerald Dolphin Inn to your Saves list
Emerald Dolphin Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1211 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Beat the Blues 15-20% Off
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atherton, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Expectations exceeded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I will add to the list of excellent reviews. Save yourself the stress and time looking for accomodations in Fort Bragg...just book your stay here. I am picky for cleanliness and customer satisfation. I do not regert staying here and neither will you. This will be my only lodging choice when near Fort Bragg.
Gary

Room Tip: Rooms near the West may have less road noise...however there is little road noise to begin with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Michael~Glad to hear you slept well! Thank for your business and your review! Hope to see you on your next getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    55
    22
    7
    8
See reviews for
38
82
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Powell River, Canada
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

on our way south, stopped for a night. This is a basic motel with few ammenities. Even had to go to the office to use the microwave! Clean, but not a place i would want to spend a vacation. Forced to take a downstairs room because of the dog. People upstairs noisy. We had a view of the parking lot and cars in and out all night.

Room Tip: upstairs would certainly be better. They will give you the worst rooms if you have a dog.
See more room tips
Green Features: none that I noticed - no recycling bins in the room
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Emerald Dolphin Inn. It's reviews like yours that allow us to continue to grow. We have our new floors for our pet rooms, and all of their treats! These are the last of our rooms to be upgraded, we are proud to say we just ordered pet friendly linens! Yes we do have beautiful white linens in our other rooms, but most dogs and white comforters don't mesh. So thank you for the reminder that we are always a work in progress! Who knows, we may surprise you the next time your on the coast! We'd love to see you again. Safe travels...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. We wouldn't stay again simply because we weren't very impressed. It's a good hotel but not what you hope for when driving 15 hours on a vacation you've saved for a year to go on. We stayed here because we has a ten year old and a 13 year old and it looked like a great place for children with the advertised mini- golf. We were only given one round of mini golf during our three day stay which the kids were pretty disappointed about. My husband and I were terribly disappointed to be placed on the second floor of the middle building where our view if this beautiful place was the walls if the building across from us. We felt felt suffocated the entire stay. My husband laughed ate in the mornings standing in the toilet seat trying to peer out the tiny bathroom to see what the weather was like each day. I really can't explain our disappointment. The great thing about this room was that it was clean and overall that was our biggest concern staying in many different places throughout our trip on the northern coast. The continental breakfast was basically Danishes, the exact same ones every day, cold cereal, or oatmeal. It was okay but we usually ended up finding breakfast elsewhere. Overall we all felt very disappointed and tried to spend the majority of our stay away from the room. There is no view at all of the ocean, simply the main road busy with cars. There is a very short 30 second drive or short walk to a great view of the ocean however. I think it's called the Pomo bluffs. We loved walking along here in the evening and there were deer everywhere. This view is great! Next time we will find a room where we can see out. The staff here is friendly but somewhat snobby. Not the kind we felt we could discuss our disappointment with. :(

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Dear Wendy and family,

Thank you for staying with us in July. We appreciate that you took the time to write a review. Please accept our apologies that we didn't meet your expectations. Our staff is here for our guests and wish that you would of came to us while you were here. We could have addressed your room and helped make you more comfortable. . It does sound like you slept well, and and enjoyed your time in Fort Bragg. We built our Mini Golf course for our families traveling and our local munchkins. As a special treat for those guest who stay with us, we do offer a "Free" round of golf - glad the kids came out and played and had fun.
Happy Travels and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We were in the area after spending the prior two nights in Mendocino for our son and daughter-in-law's wedding. Before heading home we wanted to see the Botanical Gardens. We were especially impressed with the cleanliness of the room. It was very reasonably priced and had everything we needed (frig and mirowave). Loved the small touches - artistically folded hand towels (and even TP!). The beds were among the most comfortable we've experienced. It was very quiet so we got a good night's sleep. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We would recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Let me start off by saying "Congratulations" on the wedding. Thank you for staying with us at the Emerald Dolphin Inn. We wanted to thank you for the review we really appreciate the nice comments. Wishing you the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Had room 217 and it was very quiet. Even though Hiway 1 is somewhat close, traffic dies down and had a great sleep. Very helpful at check in and my room was very spacious and clean. Ideal location south of town and close to a nice place to watch the sunset! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
It's always great to hear our guests have had a good slumber! Thank you for sharing your review for the rest of the world to see! As always sweet dreams...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We went there for our anniversary and the staff upgraded our room to one that had a fireplace. They also gave us a card with chocolate in the room. They were very accommodating and helpful the three nights that we stayed there. It was quiet even though there was a bus of people that pulled in our last night that we stayed there. The room was large with a sofa in it as well and they kept our room clean each day. We loved our stay and hated that we had to go back home.

Room Tip: Our room number was 212
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel is also pet friendly and has a mini golf that you can play.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
Thank you for your recognition~We appreciate when our guests share their experiences. Be sure and watch our facebook and web site for specials so you can come back and join us! Thanks for staying and hope you can come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We were planning on renting a house but with everyone's schedules we had to find a hotel close to Todd Pt!! The desk clerk, wish I remembered her name because she was amazing and put up with me!! First I made a reservation for two rooms, one for our friends with dogs (YES they have pet rooms!) Miscommunication ensued with the friends so we ended up with one room but again the desk clerk was amazing and everything worked out!!

We paid cash and had to leave a $100 deposit which we got back upon check-out! They have Keurig coffee machines which are the norm at most hotels now!

The Emerald Dolphin has a miniature golf course close by and McDonald's and a grocery shopping center are within walking distance!!

I would definitely stay here again!! Rooms are clean, spacious and beds are comfortable and so are the pillows!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
The view from Todd's Point, AKA Pomo bluffs is breath taking...Glad we were close for your event. Thank you for staying with us, we really appreciate you and your review! Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerald Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Dolphin Inn

Address: 1211 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Emerald Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest Inns on the Coast, Emerald Dolphin's guest rooms bring luxurious comfort, gracious hospitality, and first class service to the Mendocino Coast. Located within walking distance to the Ocean Bluffs. Some jetted spa & fireplace suites. Complimentary continental breakfast, WIFI and many other amenities. Pet friendly rooms available. 18 hole Miniature Golf Course, fabulous restaurants, shops, galleries, and entertainment nearby. AAA approved- Three Diamonds Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Emerald Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Dolphin Hotel Fort Bragg
Emerald Dolphin Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Dolphin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.