We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Dolphin Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Emerald Dolphin Inn to your Saves list
Emerald Dolphin Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1211 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Beat the Blues 15-20% Off
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Quiet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Had room 217 and it was very quiet. Even though Hiway 1 is somewhat close, traffic dies down and had a great sleep. Very helpful at check in and my room was very spacious and clean. Ideal location south of town and close to a nice place to watch the sunset! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
It's always great to hear our guests have had a good slumber! Thank you for sharing your review for the rest of the world to see! As always sweet dreams...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    55
    22
    7
    8
See reviews for
38
82
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We went there for our anniversary and the staff upgraded our room to one that had a fireplace. They also gave us a card with chocolate in the room. They were very accommodating and helpful the three nights that we stayed there. It was quiet even though there was a bus of people that pulled in our last night that we stayed there. The room was large with a sofa in it as well and they kept our room clean each day. We loved our stay and hated that we had to go back home.

Room Tip: Our room number was 212
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel is also pet friendly and has a mini golf that you can play.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
Thank you for your recognition~We appreciate when our guests share their experiences. Be sure and watch our facebook and web site for specials so you can come back and join us! Thanks for staying and hope you can come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We were planning on renting a house but with everyone's schedules we had to find a hotel close to Todd Pt!! The desk clerk, wish I remembered her name because she was amazing and put up with me!! First I made a reservation for two rooms, one for our friends with dogs (YES they have pet rooms!) Miscommunication ensued with the friends so we ended up with one room but again the desk clerk was amazing and everything worked out!!

We paid cash and had to leave a $100 deposit which we got back upon check-out! They have Keurig coffee machines which are the norm at most hotels now!

The Emerald Dolphin has a miniature golf course close by and McDonald's and a grocery shopping center are within walking distance!!

I would definitely stay here again!! Rooms are clean, spacious and beds are comfortable and so are the pillows!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
The view from Todd's Point, AKA Pomo bluffs is breath taking...Glad we were close for your event. Thank you for staying with us, we really appreciate you and your review! Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

One night stay here in Ft. Bragg. The room was clean, but we weren't too crazy about the pillow top mattresses. It is conveniently located off the freeway. We found the place quiet. There is a mini-golf course adjacent to the property which was fun, great if you have kids in tow. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
We appreciate your review~Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearlake Oaks, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

room and stay was nice, but the fridge was very noisy. We unplugged it at night and plugged it back in, in the morning. also, we wished we had a microwave in the room!!! The room was very clean and the staff was very helpful and nice.

Room Tip: an upstairs room because we could hear the kids upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Thank you for your review~we appreciate hearing from our guests! We have replaced all of our mini fridges, so the next time you stay won't be an issue:) Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed in the queen room with jacuzzi the first night, but the bed was too stiff even with the pillow top mattress. Also had smokers in room below us, so it was a rough night. I talked to Brandi the next morning and she said we should have called down to the front desk,since there is somebody on call 24 hrs a day. I asked if we could move to a King bed room with a possibly softer mattress. She said that a King room with a jacuzzi and fireplace was open,but that it was an a higher rate than our current room. I asked if we get it for the same rate, and said she check with the manager and give me a call. The manager Kim called a few hours later, and apologized for the smokers and the uncomfortable bed. She said that the King bed has the same 2" pillow top mattress as the queen. I said it's worth a try, since my wife could not sleep in that queen bed. Kim agreed to move us, and for no extra charge. Well the King bed was very comfortable and my wife had no back issues the next day. Thanks for being so accommodating! Electric fireplace and ocean view were awesome.

Room Tip: Get Room 225, King Bed with jacuzzi and electric fireplace. In the back of hotel, so quiet with an o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
I am a little slow to respond, but am thankful for your review and so glad to hear Kim and Brandi made sure you were taken care of. We want our guests to have a restful slumber while they are here and be refreshed for their next adventure~Hope you can come stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Spent the weekend in Fort Bragg for the first time. I couldn't be more happy with my choice of hotels. Excellent location, 5minutes from everything. The room was extremely clean. I had a two queen room. Plenty of room. When I return to Fort Bragg this summer I definitely will be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Well hello there! We couldn't be more thankful for kind words-thank you! Hope you have been able to get back to the coast-be sure and watch for upcoming specials for all of the earthy treats this fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerald Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Dolphin Inn

Address: 1211 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Emerald Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest Inns on the Coast, Emerald Dolphin's guest rooms bring luxurious comfort, gracious hospitality, and first class service to the Mendocino Coast. Located within walking distance to the Ocean Bluffs. Some jetted spa & fireplace suites. Complimentary continental breakfast, WIFI and many other amenities. Pet friendly rooms available. 18 hole Miniature Golf Course, fabulous restaurants, shops, galleries, and entertainment nearby. AAA approved- Three Diamonds Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Emerald Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Dolphin Hotel Fort Bragg
Emerald Dolphin Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Dolphin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.