We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating and helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Emerald Dolphin Inn to your Saves list
Emerald Dolphin Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1211 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Beat the Holiday Rush
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very accommodating and helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We were planning on renting a house but with everyone's schedules we had to find a hotel close to Todd Pt!! The desk clerk, wish I remembered her name because she was amazing and put up with me!! First I made a reservation for two rooms, one for our friends with dogs (YES they have pet rooms!) Miscommunication ensued with the friends so we ended up with one room but again the desk clerk was amazing and everything worked out!!

We paid cash and had to leave a $100 deposit which we got back upon check-out! They have Keurig coffee machines which are the norm at most hotels now!

The Emerald Dolphin has a miniature golf course close by and McDonald's and a grocery shopping center are within walking distance!!

I would definitely stay here again!! Rooms are clean, spacious and beds are comfortable and so are the pillows!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
The view from Todd's Point, AKA Pomo bluffs is breath taking...Glad we were close for your event. Thank you for staying with us, we really appreciate you and your review! Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    64
    28
    7
    8
See reviews for
49
95
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

One night stay here in Ft. Bragg. The room was clean, but we weren't too crazy about the pillow top mattresses. It is conveniently located off the freeway. We found the place quiet. There is a mini-golf course adjacent to the property which was fun, great if you have kids in tow. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
We appreciate your review~Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearlake Oaks, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

room and stay was nice, but the fridge was very noisy. We unplugged it at night and plugged it back in, in the morning. also, we wished we had a microwave in the room!!! The room was very clean and the staff was very helpful and nice.

Room Tip: an upstairs room because we could hear the kids upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Thank you for your review~we appreciate hearing from our guests! We have replaced all of our mini fridges, so the next time you stay won't be an issue:) Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed in the queen room with jacuzzi the first night, but the bed was too stiff even with the pillow top mattress. Also had smokers in room below us, so it was a rough night. I talked to Brandi the next morning and she said we should have called down to the front desk,since there is somebody on call 24 hrs a day. I asked if we could move to a King bed room with a possibly softer mattress. She said that a King room with a jacuzzi and fireplace was open,but that it was an a higher rate than our current room. I asked if we get it for the same rate, and said she check with the manager and give me a call. The manager Kim called a few hours later, and apologized for the smokers and the uncomfortable bed. She said that the King bed has the same 2" pillow top mattress as the queen. I said it's worth a try, since my wife could not sleep in that queen bed. Kim agreed to move us, and for no extra charge. Well the King bed was very comfortable and my wife had no back issues the next day. Thanks for being so accommodating! Electric fireplace and ocean view were awesome.

Room Tip: Get Room 225, King Bed with jacuzzi and electric fireplace. In the back of hotel, so quiet with an o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
I am a little slow to respond, but am thankful for your review and so glad to hear Kim and Brandi made sure you were taken care of. We want our guests to have a restful slumber while they are here and be refreshed for their next adventure~Hope you can come stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Spent the weekend in Fort Bragg for the first time. I couldn't be more happy with my choice of hotels. Excellent location, 5minutes from everything. The room was extremely clean. I had a two queen room. Plenty of room. When I return to Fort Bragg this summer I definitely will be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Well hello there! We couldn't be more thankful for kind words-thank you! Hope you have been able to get back to the coast-be sure and watch for upcoming specials for all of the earthy treats this fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galiano Island, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Didn't know where to go in Fort Bragg.....saw this joint(nothing like the pictures)....asked for upstairs room...no way. We have a poodle...dog room..ground floor..parking lot...upstairs all night the people ...don't know what they were doing...kept waking us up....could hear every sound...the manager is not telling the truth when I read the answers to the bad reviews...they say there is sound proofing....don't believe it....both sides of us as well were noisy...room for the price..was. Barely tolerable......couldn't wait to get out in the early morning......had to heat up some supper in the office where the only microwave was...awful....would never stop here again...even our poodle hated it...and managers or owners..do not respond to my review as it won' be read by me or my wife....you only seem to blame your customers for your short comings.....give it a huge miss....we will give Fort Bragg a miss also because of this experience.

Room Tip: No good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2015
We loved having you! ~Our guests, guests like you make each day feel like the inn is our home! Thank you for letting us know our guests feel like they are home too! Once again, Happiest of Anniversary's and Happy New Year-thank you for sharing your special days with us! Look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed in the King Fireplace Jacuzzi suite for my boyfriends birthday. It was wonderful. Room was just as we expected, clean, roomy, comfortable bed, nice and good working jacuzzi. The windows opened completely so fresh air was readily available. In the office the staff was very kind, in the mornings they offered a small continental with coffee and danishes, also in the office was a small gift shop area with lots of cool stuff. One other thing this hotel offered was rentalable movies, so dvd players were in all the rooms. Down at the front desk was a binder with all the movies they had, I think it was like $2 to rent a movie. We were lucky enough that we traveled when no one else was I guess because no one occupied the rooms around us either night, so it was very quiet.

The fireplace is not real fire by the way! haha It is an electric one that has a vent on top that gives out hot air, like a heater, but it was nice and we liked it! For some reason I thought it was going to be a real one, anyways, it was perfect lighting when being in the jacuzzi with no lights on except the fireplace right across from it, nicely set up and very romantic!

Attached to the hotel was mini golf - we were busy doing other stuff that we didn't get around to playing but it looked like fun!

Anyways, we stayed two nights and it was perfect. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Owner at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
With the busy hustle of daily life we appreciate you took the time to write a review. We would like to thank you for coming to the coast and staying with us! There is nothing like rest, relaxation and a little Birthday celebration. Thanks for celebrating at the Emerald Dolphin Inn ~ See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#6 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
2.6 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
2.2 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Dolphin Inn

Address: 1211 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Emerald Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest Inns on the Coast, Emerald Dolphin's guest rooms bring luxurious comfort, gracious hospitality, and first class service to the Mendocino Coast. Located within walking distance to the Ocean Bluffs. Some jetted spa & fireplace suites. Complimentary continental breakfast, WIFI and many other amenities. Pet friendly rooms available. 18 hole Miniature Golf Course, fabulous restaurants, shops, galleries, and entertainment nearby. AAA approved- Three Diamonds Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Emerald Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Dolphin Hotel Fort Bragg
Emerald Dolphin Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Dolphin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.