We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable accommodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added Coast Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Coast Inn & Spa
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   18661 North Hwy 1, Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 22 hotels in Fort Bragg
Anywhere, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable accommodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Clean and pleasant accommodations for a competitive price. The property is older but well-maintained. The very gracious owner warmed up a nice bowl of soup for me, even though the inn's restaurant wasn't open. Located a short distance from the ocean and downtown businesses. Acupuncturist and massage therapy available on site but didn't have time to utilize their services. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    17
    6
    11
    23
See reviews for
24
37
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oroville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean rooms n friendly staff. Rates are competitive. They are also pet friendly for a small fee, and they don't have size limit or breed restrictions. I would stay here again. We didn't try their cafe or spa services. But they do have a hot tub that we used.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseville ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Enjoyed our 3 night stay. Room was clean, King bed was comfortable. Owner was friendly and helpful. Bragg California is the 5 star part of this review. Whale watching , alot of whales, on the harbour look out. Golf 10 miles down the coast overlooking the ocean. Tide pooling ,shell and driftwood collecting were great fun. The sunset over the ocean was memorable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My fiancé and I came here because of an offer on Living Social. It's in a great spot near downtown Fort Bragg. When we first got there we were greeted by the owner who was incredibly nice. She even called to see how we were doing on the second day of our stay. We decided to have some herbal tea with her that afternoon - the tea was delicious and her company was pleasant. The room wasn't anything special, but it certainly wasn't terrible. It was clean and the heater kept us very warm. We would definitely like to come back and stay again (hopefully their restaurant will be open then because the food looked delicious). I absolutely recommend staying here if you're not the high maintenance type who go on trips just for the hotels. Fort Bragg is a beautiful city and the Coast Inn was a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

After a leisurely trip through several states and thousands of kilometers this is the one that made me put that pedal to the metal and head for home. This was the first night on my journey that I truly felt unsafe and quite frankly - creeped right out. I arrived in fort Bragg after a long day of exploring. I was tired and pulled into the first place that looked decent. After the lady took my money - over $100 - she told me she had a very, very special room just for me. It was a therapeutic, earthy room for detox. It was creepy as F but she had my money. I go into the room and the smell of mold is atrocious. It is overwhelming and so disgusting. I open the windows hoping to air the place out while I'm out having supper. I go ask the lady if she could recommend a restaurant. She tells me that I wouldn't be able to afford anything in the area and directs me to go to the food court at the mall! Anyways - I find my own nice restaurant - and tell myself it's only one night. I'm sure one night of breathing in that toxic mold won't kill me. I get back to the stinky room and get under the covers and this is when I have the WORST hotel experience EVER. The bed is full of sand! And hadn't been cleaned since the last person! GAWD it was horrible. In hindsight I don't know what I was thinking. Maybe it was because it was late, dark, I was young and alone, so far from home - I didn't pack up for the nearest Best Western or Holiday Inn. Too scared at this point! Instead I put on sweatpants, socks, a hooded jacket and imagined the hot surfer that might have been sleeping in the bed before me. I was up long before the crack of dawn. I never felt better to get out of anyplace in my life! I only spent two more nights on the road after this place. It kind of ruined my roadtrip. Please don't stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

During the one night that I stayed at the Coastal Inn and Spa, I killed 10 flys and two ants in my room - in January. The room was okay and appeared clean, but the fly issue was really distressing. I looked at the spa and was turned off by bird droppings on the redwood surrounding the spa. The bed was okay, but the pillows were terrible. It is not really a spa, although they offer massage, but it seemed to be geared to healing arts. The pictures are not representational.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Our stay at Coast Inn and Spa was the one lodging disappointment of a two week trip on the California coast. While other locales we booked off the internet may not have been wonderful, none was as unpleasant as this. The room was awkwardly arranged - a small area for the bed in front, then a narrow table down a narrow hallway back to the bath. The refrigerator was not working, and the mass of electrical cords and power strips behind it and the tv made it difficult to tell if it had power; we did get it to come on but it was off when we returned later. The old, damaged formica counters and chipped bath tile seemed to be decades old. I braved a shower, though my partner would not step foot in the bathroom because it was so disgusting. We did peak into the neighboring unit which looked like it had been updated. Going back online, I found that its price was much more than ours - guess you get what you pay for, though our rate was not that low, and the rate for the updated room was well higher than anything else in town. Gross.

Room Tip: Rooms vary greatly in quality and price. Hard to tell by pictures on the pleasant website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coast Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Inn & Spa

Also Known As:
Coast Inn And Spa
Coast Hotel
Coast Motel Fort Bragg
Coast Hotel Fort Bragg
Address: 18661 North Hwy 1, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 hotels in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coast Inn & Spa 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have beautiful grounds and quiet, has great accommodations. Remodel rooms with Hot Tubs and Fire Place. Rooms with Kitchen. All rooms have a Refrigerator, a Microwave, and in-room Coffee. Wireless Internet. Walking distance to Beach. Less then 1/2 a mile to Botanical Garden and Noyo Haror. Close to Shopping area, Light House. Fishing. Diving. Has cleaning station with barbecue and picnic tables. Packages for Skunk Train, Whale Watching, North Coast Fishing, Trail Rides, and Botanical Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Coast Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.