We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Cliff Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added North Cliff Hotel to your Saves list
North Cliff Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1005 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 94593   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Got here today after a long day of travel. It's was so nice to come into a room that was clean and comfortable. Sadly we didn't have a tub in our room like we had seen in the picture and getting to our room with suitcases was not easy. We had to go down a flight of stairs and then back up to the second floor. Parking was also difficult after coming back after dinner. We would stay here again because of the nice location.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you! I'm glad you found your room to be clean and comfortable. Next time you visit us, we will be more than happy to help you with your luggage. All you have to do is ask, we are at your service!

-Sharon Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    128
    35
    18
    18
See reviews for
39
282
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We wanted a place just relax and get away from the heat. And what a charm. We had a deluxe room on the 3rd floor with a jetted tub and fireplace. If you are in need of an elevator, sorry don't stay here all rooms require use of stairs. Also if you don't like too leave your balcony door open and have the relaxing sound of a fog horn sounding in the distance this might not be your place. But believe me sitting on your balcony with a cool breeze and watching the fishing fleets coming and going is relaxing for you don't pass up this gem.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I'm so glad that your stay was relaxing and that you enjoyed our spectacular location.

I hope you will be able to visit us again soon.

-Sharon Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were traveling from the redwoods in Northern California down the coast to Monterrey, and just chose Ft. Bragg as a convenient stopping place. We chose the North Cliff simply because it was on the water. We couldn't have been happier, very nice rooms, incredible views and a fireplace in the room made it very romantic. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor, the stairways were something out of MC Escher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback! I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again next time you visit the Mendocino area.

-Sharon Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willits, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband and I won a stay at the North Cliff over the 4th of July weekend and it was perfection. The weather cooperated and we had a gorgeous day at the Worlds Largest Salmon BBQ. Our room was beautiful with the jacuzzi tub and stunning view. When the fireworks started we had a front row seat from our balcony. I lounged in the tub after the show and watched the remaining fireworks while everyone else in Fort Bragg was fighting traffic. We opted out of the breakfast in order to go to Eggheads in town. All in all we had an amazing time. The hotel was a gem and I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
It truly is the best spot in Fort Bragg to watch the fireworks! Glad you were able to spend it with us. We'll look forward to seeing you next time you visit the coast.

-Sharon Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Location, scenic, good staff, very nice size rooms and amenities,and value for the money.
In traveling down the West Coast this was the nicest facility we stay at and it was topped off by a very nice breakfast spread.
Only one minor glitch: I made our reservations, for 2 rooms, almost three months in advance and we did not have adjoining rooms and one suite had handicap facilities.As they were sold out they were not in a position to make adjustments.

Room Tip: Great view, small deck, fireplace, very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
I'm so glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and that you feel we were the nicest place on your trip!

Unfortunately, we do not have any adjoining rooms. It is something we are considering doing in the future, so definitely ask us about that next time you stay with us.

I hope to see you again on your next visit to the coast!

-Sharon Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We absolutely LOVED our stay at the North Cliff Hotel! Our room was amazing! The bed was sooooo comfortable and of course you can't beat the view it has! They also offer the most amazing military discount!!! I've never seen a company so generous with their discount to military families! We will most definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
I'm so pleased that you loved your stay!! I'm glad that you were so comfortable here. We are more than happy to offer our military discount, we appreciate our veterans and active military.

I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Fort Bragg.

-Sharon Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel is located with ocean views. It is also convenient to restaurants, groceries, gas station, etc. There are plenty of sights along the coast and in town. The staff was very friendly and offered advice on local eateries and sights. The room was clean and comfortable. Good amenities. We don't have any negatives.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for the great review! It's always nice to get advice from the locals on the best places to eat and things to do and we are always happy to share our feedback.

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again next time you visit the coast!

-Sharon Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cliff Hotel

Address: 1005 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 94593
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — North Cliff Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding Ocean View Suites with gas fireplace, balcony and complimentary hot breakfast served daily in the lobby. Rooms also available with Jacuzzi tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your North Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Cliff Fort Bragg
Hotel North Cliff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Cliff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.