We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay for the view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Cliff Hotel

Save Saved
You added North Cliff Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
North Cliff Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1005 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 94593   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 hotels in Fort Bragg
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stay for the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We like the spa room. It had a tub in front of the window with the ocean view. But it was not cheap. We paid $50 in addition to our travel zoo coupon. Otherwise the room was plain nothing special. Breakfast was kind of cheesy- a plate of pastries, fruits left in the fridge. But the location and view was really something. I'd probably try to check out other hotels with views next time I go to fort bragg

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay in Fort Bragg. We value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to send your comments about the continental breakfast we provide. Our aim is to give you the convenience of having a little something to start your day in the privacy of your room.

We hope to see you again the next time you're in Fort Bragg!

-Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    120
    32
    18
    17
See reviews for
35
269
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Bruno, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The view of the ocean from our window and deck was beautiful. Hearing the fog horn and the waves through the night was soothing. This is not a high end hotel, so don't expect great furnishings, but the rooms are very large. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors will be quieter. You will hear those above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
-Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodeo, California, USA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed in Room 202 on a Travelzoo voucher for about $220 for two nights. 202 is further from HWY 1 so the noise is much less. Our $50 coupon towards a dinner at the Cliff House restaurant was really a waste as the food was horrific.

The view is excellent and although the balcony is small, we enjoyed hanging out looking at the cove. There is a fog horn and some buoy bells, but not too loud. Mostly the sound of waves crashing into the rocks. Very relaxing.

The room itself is very large with a push button gas log fireplace that throws off a lot of heat! Medium size flat screen TV and decent free internet.

Our bed was only moderately comfortable but we slept OK. The whole room could use an update. The carpet was not too bad, but getting tired. The sofa was saggy and the bed had this tufted cloth head board nailed to the wall, that was so dated.

No elevators so be prepared to lug your stuff upstairs. Fresh baked cookies in the lobby and a great staff.

The continental breakfast was OK. Large tasty croissant, apple, orange, three fresh baked packaged small muffins, nice jellies, butter, and a couple of yogurt cups. And canned orange juice (not too good) along with waters in the fridge too.

I would not want to pay full price. But with the Travelzoo coupon it was a good place to hang out.

Room Tip: Stay towards the lower numbers 101 vs. 110 to get rooms away from the highway.,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to send your valuable input. We are always looking to improve our property. Your comfort is important to us and we hope to make some updates to the rooms in the near future.
-Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Travel Zoo deal great. Big King room with gas fireplace,private balcony looking out to mouth of Noyo harbor and ocean. Sunsets awesome from balcony. King bed faces slider so view sunset and full moon on ocean can't be beat. Wake up to sun on sparkling ocean. Vouchers for dinner and Botanical Gardens.an added plus. Will return hopefully many times. Absolutely recommend with or without Travel Zoo deal.

Room Tip: Second or third floor best views. Lots of stairs no elevator but worth climb for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
So glad to hear that you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us! We look forward to seeing you here at the North Cliff again very soon.
-Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We took advantage of a Travelzoo voucher for this trip which included $50.00 certificate for the restaurant across the bridge and the Botanical Gardens. Loved them both! We thoroughly enjoy just hanging out in the room and listening to the waves and foghorn. I have a couple ofly negatives for this trip-they seem to have cut back on the continental breakfast items and the rooms are starting to look alittle shabby. They've upgraded the TV's but the carpet and furniture is starting to show alittle wear and tear. Even with these couple of negatives it's great place to stay and we will go back next year for our anniversary. Ashley at the front desk was super helpful during our check in process and made our dinner reservation for us too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comfort is very important to us and appreciate your feedback on the continental breakfast. We look forward to seeing you for your anniversary trip!
-Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Like many others here we took advantage of the Travel Zoo deal and loved this hotel. The jacuzzi bathtub in the King Suite was pure indulgence. Contrary to a couple earlier reviews, we found the staff to be pleasant and accomodating. The North Cliff was the perfect place to unwind, highly reccomended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to send your positive comments. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and are glad that we met your expectations!
-Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was our first visit with an offer through Travel Zoo, which included two nights at the hotel and a $50 certificate for the Cliff Restaurant. We had a king suite, which included king bed, desk, amoire with drawers, sofa, chair and a gas fireplace. In the bathroom, they had another storage area with refrigerator, microwave, and a small safe. The large, flat screen tv, mounted on the wall, had a good variety of channels. The front desk personnel were friendly and made checking in and out easy. Breakfast is delivered to your refrigerator on a tray and includes a croissants, small muffins, and two oranges, along with several cans of juice. There's also a coffee maker with coffee and tea. Nice to hang out in your room and have something to eat, without having to get dressed and go out.

Room Tip: No elevator, so you take stairs to 2nd and 3rd floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We're so glad you enjoyed all of the amenities we provide and hope to see you again on your next trip to Fort Bragg!
-Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cliff Hotel

Address: 1005 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 94593
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — North Cliff Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding Ocean View Suites with gas Fireplace, Private Balcony and complimentary continental breakfast. Rooms also available with Jacuzzi tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your North Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Cliff Fort Bragg
Hotel North Cliff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Cliff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.