We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even Better in the Rain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Cliff Hotel

Save Saved
You added North Cliff Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
North Cliff Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1005 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 94593   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 hotels in Fort Bragg
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Even Better in the Rain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Road trip to Fort Bragg. Romantic getaway, sightseeing, chillaxing. The North Cliff Hotel is a great place to be in Fort Bragg. At first the location was a surprise!, right next to the Highway!!. I was thinking road and traffic noise. Do not let that fool you. I was surprised that you could not hear the noise. The room was great, was stocked with a gift basket of fruit and pastries, and the view was spectacular. I could only hear the waves and the fog horn in the distance. Make sure you check out the Botanical Gardens. Even in the rain the Gardens are spectacular!. Walk the paths, right to the coast, where you will find a indoor viewing area, to watch the rough and beautiful waves sites and sounds of the North Coast. In the evening I recommend the Cliff House Restaurant, which is within walking distance (across the bridge), from the Hotel.. Enjoy plenty of the local brewed beer, (Scrimshaw)..Why not you do not have to drive...Enjoy!

Room Tip: The Handicap rooms do not have Hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again at the North Cliff Hotel!
-Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    120
    32
    18
    17
See reviews for
35
267
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kelseyville, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very nice and relaxing hotel. Zacuzzi tub, fireplace, bubbles and even comfy robes are provided. Nice private balcony facing the ocean with great views to watch the sunset. Have been here a few times and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again at the North Cliff very soon!
-Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We are sitting in our room right now! When you arrive, you walk in to two fantastic views..a large window and sliding doors leading to a cute, private deck. It was breathtaking! We just got back from a wonderful dinner, also. Very attentive waiter and wait staff. The food was a tad expensive, but we have NO complaints...none. Why didn't we give it a five star...simple...although nicely appointed, the furnishings need updating...they are clean and comfortable, but...it's time to upgrade! We have NO complaints and plan to come back! Thank you for a quiet, relaxing panoramic view and good time!

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view...when booking, you might want a room with a jacuzzi...we didn't mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send us your valuable feedback! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Your comfort is important to us and we hope to make some updates to the rooms in the near future. We look forward to seeing you at the North Cliff Hotel again soon!
-Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

How can you tell if you really love your hotel room?
If you ask for checkout time extension (and get it), and then when the time comes, you are still there, begging the cleaning lady to come later :-)
What other reviewers wrote about the hotel being on a highway is true, and it really does not look promising when you approach your room. But once my wife and I went in, we forgot it all! The room (with a tub) looks even better than the Tripadvisor photo. The tub with the fireplace and window to the ocean is amazing. I just enjoyed sitting there there and gazing at the ocean waves for hours. The room is very spacious. The bed is good.
The breakfast is really just a tray with some food stored on the night before - we found it the only downside. Not so appetizing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We also appreciate your valuable feedback on the breakfast we provide in your room. We strive to exceed our guests' expectations and are always looking for ways to improve.
-Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel is on a freeway; it's cheap and noisy and across from a strip mall. I bought two nights on Travelzoo for $270 and am checking out early to stay at the Mendocino Hotel. Definitely not worth it, even at a discounted rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
I'm very sorry that our property didn't meet your expectations. While we are situated on the highway, the rooms are well insulated and quiet. We hope to see you again if you visit Fort Bragg in the future.
-Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el cerrito, california
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The North Cliff Hotel is located in Fort Bragg, the largest town on the scenic coast road between San Francisco and Eureka. It is a 15 minute drive north of the cute, touristy, and substantially more expensive town of Mendocino. It is also arguably the best hotel in town, with expansive views of the Pacific Ocean from almost every room. The rooms have a small balcony fronting the sea; to the left is Noyo Bay, where the Noyo River exits to the seas. The marina is on the Noyo River a bit upstream. There is easy parking.

Some of the rooms have hot tubs. All rooms have Wi-Fi, as well as a gas-fired fake-log fireplace, which was very nice. That is, if it works. Ours worked some of the time. In the morning, when everybody in the building turns on their fireplaces to ward off the morning chill, ours didn’t work. I suspect it has to do with the location. I presume that in our room, the gas pressure was so low, it didn’t activate the gas valve. But later in the morning, when everybody else had their rooms heated up, ours would turn on. There was no point of complaining to the reception; they don’t understand, because if they waited long enough before sending over a repairman, the oven will turn on when he comes in to check. And they will think we are just daft.

The rooms are large; ours was about 1000 sq feet, including dressing area and bathroom. Breakfast was in the refrigerator; it consisted of a scone, croissant and large cupcake, which you heat yourself in the microwave supplied. There were also fruits, bottled water, and orange juice, as well as cheese and marmalade. It was pretty good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the heater will work early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback about the fireplace. We will definitely look into that. We hope to see you again at the North Cliff Hotel!
-Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My friend and I stayed on a Thursday and Friday evening on a travel zoo certificate that also included a $50 dinner coupon for the Cliff House Restaurant adjacent to the hotel. Our room was lovely, the continental breakfast was perfect as well as the juices included. I was surprised at how quiet it was! Nice views of the ocean and the fireplaces and terry cloth robes were a nice touch. I would make this a regular yearly stay when going back to Fort Bragg....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCliffHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed out hotel and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to North Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cliff Hotel

Address: 1005 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 94593
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — North Cliff Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding Ocean View Suites with gas Fireplace, Private Balcony and complimentary continental breakfast. Rooms also available with Jacuzzi tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your North Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Cliff Fort Bragg
Hotel North Cliff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Cliff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.