We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eggheads Restaurant

Eggheads Restaurant
326 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3406
707-964-5005
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 72 Restaurants in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Californian, Healthy, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Santa Maria, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Pricey but tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We arrived when Eggheads opened in the morning, based on reviews mentioning a crowd. We were seated immediately. My daughter had the Kansas cakes - cornmeal pancakes with huckleberries, they were light and fluffy and sweet enough to eat without syrup. I had one of the many benedicts offered, mine had crab meat. It was tasty, the hollandaise sauce was rich but not extraordinary. The restaurant is decorated in a Wizard of Oz theme, but the decor seems a bit tired. Here's the caveat - breakfast for 2, one coffee and no juice, with tip was $40.00. So it was good for a one-time vacation visit, but based on the price it wouldn't be a place I would frequent if I lived in the area.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    113
    36
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sutter Creek, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Trip down the Yellow Brick Road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Eggs were very good, wide selection, the price was a little high. The tip to the bathroom was a trip.Check this place out it fun

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Get there early!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Spent the night in Fort Bragg as we continue down the PCH. Up and at Eggheads by 8. Got the last table and then the line backed up out the door. Quirky, Wizard of Oz theme but the service and food terrific. Dungeness crab benedicts and omelets. The bacon, avocado omelet was great. Great service. Just good food and fun.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Overall good food & service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Just a bit pricey for my tastes but everything was fresh, good & NOT greasy (which is a plus at breakfast joints). I tried an omelet with a side of their Hollandaise sauce (other reviewers raved about). Service was fast, food was really well prepared (decent portions - and I ate everything :-). The sauce was different (not what I expected but OK - I may try and make something like it at home). It reminded me of a cross between Hollandaise sauce & Hispanic sour cream. A little on the light side but overall tasty enough. I gave it a 4 of 5 because although it didn't knock me out as a place to eat, I was well satisfied overall. A cut above the average for sure

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guys Mills, Pennsylvania, Usa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Food & Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

There were eight people in our group and everyone had something different to eat. The food was delicious. The waiter was wonderful. The owner came to talk with us. She said we had to be sure to visit the Emerald City. Be sure to do this. I won't tell you about it because it would spoil the fun. We had a great time. We located this restaurant by talking with a local resident on a street corner. She didn't stear us wrong.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eggheads Restaurant also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Been to Eggheads Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eggheads Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.