We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Frills With A Nice View” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Lite Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor Lite Lodge to your Saves list
Harbor Lite Lodge
120 North Harbor Drive, Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“No Frills With A Nice View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

First-off, if you are going to stay at the Harbor Lite Lodge, get a room with a view. This is pretty-much a no-frills place. The "lite" in the name is appropriate as you could call it "Hotel Lite". I'm not bashing this place. It's probably one of the better inns in Fort Bragg. There just isn't much to it.

We got a king room with a view of the harbor, bridge and ocean. That alone was worth the price, which at $119 per night was a decent deal. The room was nice and clean. It seemed to have recently been updated. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was good and the furnishings were in good shape. The private patio had two chairs and provided the afore-mentioned view.

A continental breakfast is offered daily in the small dining room area. The oatmeal was good. Waffles were pre-made. Other items were standard "continental" fare. There are ice machines o the property, but I did not see any vending machines. Fortunately there is a Circle K on the corner for beverages and snacks.

We stayed here for two nights to ride the Skunk Train, see the Mendocino Botanical Gardens, and the Pt. Carrillo Lighthouse. We also visited the historic downtown district on Saturday and Sunday, only to find most of the businesses closed or empty. We could have easily spent one night and still saw everything we went to Fort Bragg to see.

Other motels in this town look pretty crappy. If you are planning a trip to Fort Brag, make it an overnighter, and go ahead and stay at Harbor Lite Lodge.

TIP! "The Q" is a great little bar-b-que place located just across the bridge from the hotel. Check out my review of this place, and then grab a bite. We ate there twice!!

Room Tip: Remember to book a "view room", to get the most out of your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSH120, Owner at Harbor Lite Lodge, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Well, it's difficult to write a response to this review because it seems to me that this guest enjoyed their stay, yet only gave us a 3 out of 5. Usually there needs to be something that has gone wrong with the visit to not get a 4 or 5. Even though this guest seems satisfied, this review hurts our rating among our competitors.

I've read the review a couple of time and the only thing I can suggest is that you can request a fresh made waffle any time. We precook the waffles when it's busy so everyone does not have to wait for them. The review is detailed and accurate and conveys our property very well.

We do not have vending machines, although you may purchase soda and water in the lobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    53
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
26
61
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a family suite with a separate bedroom. It is a great idea for Noyo to have this to offer. However. The room smelled horrible. Since we had our children with us I was not comfortable leaving the doors open for fresh air. We went to Safeway and purchased plug in air fresheners but that did not help at all. It smelled like sewage and mold. It would have been a great stay other than that.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSH120, Owner at Harbor Lite Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are aware of this problem, at times the exhaust vent from one of the guest laundry dryers come off the back of the dryer. We are reinstalling the venting to eliminate the problem. We wish you would have brought this to our attention during your stay. Please contact us so we may process a refund for you. You simply need to leave your name, date of stay, and phone number for the general manager. We're sorry you did not have a better experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

There is no place like Fort Bragg, and no place like the Harbor Lite Lodge. Even before you drive over the Noyo Bridge you know you are somewhere special. Then, when you get to your room at the lodge and you see your balcony you can't help but stand there staring in awe over your view of the harbor. The rooms have varying views from the bridge and the ocean, to the harbor and the yachts. So charming you never want to leave. The prices are unbelievable and the property is so well maintained you feel like you just got away with a steal! We stay here on a regular basis and look forward to our next stay. LOVE!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view room. Most of them are, but you want to make sure that you get one! There is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Harbor Lite in Fort Bragg is a perfectly adequate motel for a good price in a nice location overlooking the harbor. Though it's an older property, the room was well-kept with comfortable beds. I have occasion to visit Fort Bragg from time to time, and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room which had a deck view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelseyville, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This has become our favorite place to go when we visit fort bragg. The rooms are big and clean. It has anemities like a refrigerator, microwave and a balcony overlooking the harbor. There is an access to walk to the beach. The staff is friendly and they have a breakfast buffet. The price is very reasonable for wonderful accommodations.We have stayed at many other places in Fort Bragg, and I feel this is the best for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife, our 2 kids, and I stayed here for 3 nights during a family vacation. The motel is in a great location overlooking Noyo Harbor. It also has a footpath down to the harbor and you can walk to a couple of good restaurants and a beach. The room was clean, comfortable and had a deck with a great view. A good continental breakfast is included in the room rate, and coffee is served in the lobby all day. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. They also have a sauna and laundry facilities on site. We will be coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our room was well-appointed, clean and modern. The private balcony overlooking the harbor added to our enjoyment. Staff were friendly and helped to create almost a family-home atmosphere. Loved little touches like organic coffee for the in-room coffeemaker and homemade granola on the breakfast bar. Definitely would return here and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor Lite Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Lite Lodge

Address: 120 North Harbor Drive, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Harbor Lite Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbor Lite Hotel Fort Bragg
Harbor Lite Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Lite Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.