We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, GREAT sunset views, clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Beach Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pine Beach Inn to your Saves list
Pine Beach Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   16801 N Highway # 1, PO Box 1173, Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
SLC
1 review
“Friendly staff, GREAT sunset views, clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

We spent 2 nights here with 3 young children. When we arrived I wasn't sure I would be comfortable - it looks like it was decorated in the 70's. I got over it fast. Why? Because the room was HUGE & fit our 2 pack n play's, the room was clean. Outdated doesn't mean dirty. The sunset views off of our 2nd floor deck were amazing! The short walk to the beach is well worth it! Also, the lady on staff was incredibly friendly and helpful at all times.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    28
    19
    25
    17
See reviews for
23
33
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

Our family had a great time. The Inn may be older, but a short scenic path to a beautiful little beach was faboulous. It is a sandy beach, great for swimming. The rooms were clean. We loved the fact the inn was off the path and nicely landscaped. We had a great time playing tennis as well Breakfast was coffee, bagels, cereal and some fruit. I am suprised by some of the bad reviews I am reading. I paid $100 a night and it was well worth it. If you want fancy, go pay for fancy.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

This hotel was the best balance of price, location and amenities for us. I booked a room same day, sight unseen after finding nothing on Expedia in the area. It's not along the crummy motel strip in Fort Bragg (which is good), but also not that close to the town of Mendocino. It's lind of out on its own. I was a little worried when I pulled up to the place and saw how motelish it was, but when I opened the patio door and saw the sun setting over the ocean between the bluffs it was heaven. Decor is old, but we found it clean (cleaner than a lot of big chain hotels I've been in recently). The cont'l breakfast was toast and coffee. We wandered down to the beach the next morning, planning to stay for a few minutes and ended up there for a lot longer, enjoying the sand, the surf and the tidepools. Before we left I made another reservation for next month.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa CA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

We were going to go to Ft. Bragg for the Whale Festival/Beer Tasting, so someone else booked this room for us. He was told I needed a room that is wheelchair accessible with a roll-in shower and emailed us that he found one at this place. Just to be certain, I called prior to confirm and the woman at the desk told me it did indeed have a roll-in shower and was very large. When we got there, first of all, there was no wheelchair access into the office. The room did have a very large bathroom, but it had a tub and shower with a very wobbly shower bench. There was no way I was even going to try to get on that. Plus, where was the roll-in shower...you could roll into the bathroom, but not the shower. Bed was awful....nowhere to put your toiletries except a high shelf above the toilet. Ridiculous! Stay away from this place...a second rate motel...not an Inn! It did have some nice landscaping, but buldings were run down and I will say it was quiet, because it is set back from the road.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Our family stayed here for leisure. I too was misled by their website. The photos on their site presented the rooms as decent. When we arrived, we were so disappointed. The property was old and needed a lot of updated. The room was old...and dark and dingy. We got one of those partial ocean view rooms. It was just disgusting. I'm amazed at how our family survived it. The room had a horrible damp smell too. I had to hold my breath the entire stay. I didn't want the kids to walk around without their shoes. We stayed a while ago...but thinking about it still has an affect on me.

The plus side is the private beach access from the property. It's nice and secluded. Very relaxing. That was the best part of the stay.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

My Family and I went up to FortBragg just to getaway from the bayarea for a weekend. It was beautiful. very sunny. The property has tennis court, which can be used,but we decided to have lunch on the beach instead. So the layout of the PBI is pretty it has one set facing the ocean and the other two facing the scenery. i would probably say its a good walk to get to the front desk.
In the rooms everything was well kept. the bathroom looked good, hot water came quick, and beds were good to sleep on. downer at night was that the TV only has a few selected channels.
overall great place to spend the weekend at. its beautiful scenery kept us entertained!! we walked down to the beach which was about 5-10 minute walk.
the staff was very nice and polite, which made it even better and the had cont. breakfast which was great on the day we left home.

  • Liked — the view!!
  • Disliked — the coldness up there!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

This is a great value for a pleasant hotel in a terrific location. Our room (no. 33) was large, with two double beds, a nice view of the lawn through a sliding glass door, and very clean despite being dog friendly. The ambiance is somewhat motel-like, but in a parklike setting with a nice short walk to an attractive protected beach/cove. There were signs all around of recent landscaping, and I found the grounds pleasant. The desk staff were, with one exception (an older woman), terrific -- friendly, helpful, stayed up late to make sure we got in okay on Friday, really decent people. There is a family-run Thai restaurant on the grounds -- open for dinner -- a little more expensive than the average Thai pace, but also fresher food than the average Thai place -- I thought it was excellent (and the restaurant is nicely decorated). While those expecting a frilly b&b may be disappointed, I found it to be the perfect place to stay for a relatively inexpensive and comfortable stay by the beach. The website seemed pretty accurate to me!

  • Liked — Location, value, cleanliness, large size of rooms
  • Disliked — Motel-like feel to rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Beach Inn

Address: 16801 N Highway # 1, PO Box 1173, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pine Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Beach Hotel Fort Bragg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.