We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business and Pleasure under the Sea” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Lodge Motel

Anchor Lodge Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Bragg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor Lodge Motel
Save Saved
You added Anchor Lodge Motel to your Saves list
32260 North Harbor Drive, Noyo Fishing Village, Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Sacramento, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Business and Pleasure under the Sea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

After reading the reviews here, my husband and I decided to stay on a Saturday night while I was in town on business. The place is nestled in between all sorts of harbor delights, from fresh crab stands to the coast guard station, a little mexican restaurant that looks like it was put up just for the fishermen coming in off the boats. The best part of the place, by far, is it's proximity to the fishing boats and the balconies that hang over the harbor. The rooms are all on the bottom floor, under Silver's at the Wharf Restaurant (good food, nice people, fireplace in the bar!). So, if you're a light sleeper, ask for room 18, it's the furthest from the bar. We stayed on a weekend night and had no issue with excess noise. The only disturbance was the welcome sight of the fishing boats coming in late after a day out on the sea. They're really close and it's a sight to see!

As for the amenities, come prepared to fend for yourself. The rooms are sparse, with a refrigerator but no microwave. The bed was large and comfortable, and the heater works well. The bathroom was spacious, but only one of the electrical outlets worked. Bring your own hair dryer, soap, shampoo and conditioner, as the only product offered is a dispenser with multipurpose cleaner.

We were delighted with the price and the place. It was worth the money just for the novelty of experiencing the ocean and the industry, and waving at the fishermen from the bed! HA! Great service too (they let us have late check out for free! as there were no reservations for that room for the night). Will stay here again (with more supplies).

Room Tip: Rooms over the ocean are the only ones worth booking. Ask for room 18, or one close to it, as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Bragg, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

For the price... without the view...HELL NO!

This is RUSTIC. This is NOT a 5 star chain.

The price is high for what you get....

But I am paying for the view....not the room quality.

I LOVE LOVE LOVE my balcony...love the view, LOVE the proximity to the water.... This was perfection...

Cocktails above at the wharf, watch the sunset...did I mention that balcony....oh yes... and just leave the drapes open...watch the boats go by...what an great end and great start to a day :)

Room Tip: Get an end room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The rooms are Quite clean and neet. The bathrooms amply equiped and roomy. Service impecable and staff wonderful. I go to Noyo harbor for the ambieance of a small fishing village which is what it is. I love the small horn that sounds at the entrance to the river, the beach within walking distance the seals in the river the guls that will land on the balchony. It may not be a city dwellers cup of tea but what else do you go to a harbor for anyway.

Room Tip: Get one on the river with a balchony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shore of Montreal
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We ware in the parking lot and not in the restaurant.
It was quiet and clean.
Wifi dosent cover the Lodge only the restaurant. For ice you need to ask the staff of the restaurant, there is no ice machine.
It really calm.

Im the morning you will see the fisherman preparing to go to see.
In the night wee saw a see lion in the pier :-)


Best deal in Fort Bragg (50$ during the week in off season)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

First of all, reserve a room over the water, NOT one in the parking lot. These waterfront rooms have a balcony extending over the river. The view is great, looking out to the ocean from the harbor. This is a working harbor with fishing boats. For me, it is charming. My family and I stay here often. We stop in SF on our way up, stay at the Westin St. Francis, and then here for a few nights. Trust me, it is not a disappointment. Nothing fancy, no frills, but clean and comfy. Yes, there is a restaurant above, but I have never heard noise after 10:30. This has not been a problem for me. You're right on the water. What more can you ask for? Oh, yes, the very reasonable prices!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

I enjoyed my stay at this lodge. It was unique having a room right on the river. We checked in after the restaurant had shut down so we didn't have any trouble with noise. Thoroughly enjoyed our balcony on the water and the affordable price. Rooms were basic, but clean.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley, CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

My husband and I have stayed at the Anchor Lodge several times over the last 20 years. While of course we love the frills of high-end hotels, this place has a certain small, coastal town charm that we really enjoy. When we go to the Anchor, of course we know it's not going to be the Ritz, but there are other trade-offs that we love. Yes, the place is old, and has an "odor" (it's hard to rid rooms of age-old cigarette smell) but at least the rooms are clean. We always ask for a room on the water (beware of the rooms in the parking lot!!); you get a king-size bed, and we love to sit on the balcony and watch the fishing boats come and go (we are "deck-sitters" from way back-!). The sunsets are beautiful; it's so nice to wake up in the morning and go out on your deck and smell the ocean air, and watch the harbor seals and sea lions swim right up to your deck to say hi! Another plus is the bar and restaurant are right upstairs so we don't have to drive if we don't want to (and we agree, the food in the restaurant upstairs is great!! - and, other places are within walking distance). We have been guilty of being the "foot-stompers" in the lounge late at night sometimes, and we have also been the folks directly below, wanting to get a good night's sleep; we just know that is the gamble we are going to take when we stay there. We've met some awesome people here and we've had some amazing times. I can understand and sympathize with those whose experiences here have not been exactly five-star, especially the first-timers that might have higher expectations. I just wanted to present another side of the coin; that if you're willing to give up some amenities, this can be a really cool little place to stay that's easier on the pocketbook than most.

  • Liked — The rooms with balconies over the water; the great restaurant and bar upstairs (and other good ones nearby); the cmall coastal town ambience with fishing boats, wildlife, etc.
  • Disliked — it's on the older side, and although it's clean, it's still older (70's) - unless they've redone things in the last 5 years or so...
  • Stayed May 2003, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge Motel

Address: 32260 North Harbor Drive, Noyo Fishing Village, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Fort Bragg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.