We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the room had fleas and lots of them!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Save Saved
You added The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 N. Main St., Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 hotels in Fort Bragg
santa rosa, ca
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the room had fleas and lots of them!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

we picked this hotel because it accepted pets and was right on the ocean. our pet does not have fleas but we found over 5 of them on her and one right on our pillow while we were there. not clean at all! would not stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    113
    33
    19
    25
See reviews for
80
184
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Country, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

This property is right on the dunes/cliffs just outside of Fort Bragg, right on a walking path and easy beach access. It is very clean, nicely laid out and well kept/updated - the rooms are above average for this type of motel and very comfortable.

The pet agreement is mostly standard except dogs are not allowed any where on the grounds or they claim they will charge you $250; not really a huge issue considering the dune area is right across the pathway but it didn't feel "friendly".

The downfall for us was the highway noise, the thin walls and the "continental breakfast". The highway noise does slow down through the very early morning hours, but only for a few short hours. Anytime someone walked by the room we could hear their conversations and foot steps, and we could hear the people in the next room watching TV and talking - the walls are very thin.

The breakfast was really lacking, it was 7-11 style danishes and muffins, with a few apples/oranges, instant oatmeal and coffee/tea. Considering the care that has been spent on the rooms I was surprised to see this, if they upgraded to a healthy homemade/bakery muffins, or at least some juices and maybe nice toast it would really be more in line with their nice rooms and breakfast area.

We paid $149 (not including tax) including the pet fee for a double queen kitchenette on the ocean side. We would recommend this motel only if you are a very deep/heavy sleeper who has no issues with noise.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Great location, spacious, clean room, comfortable bed, recommend 2nd fl. for unbeatable view. Friendly, efficient staff. All you could want for reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

We've been staying here for years, off and on. The huge plus is, the hotel is right on the beach and adjacent to the Haul Road with its pedestrian bridge to Fort Bragg. And there is nothing beyond the Haul Road except the dunes and the ocean. If you like to walk it is exactly 1 mile to the Skunk Train, and there are lovely cliffside walks on the way. Or, two miles or a little more up the Haul Road to the state park.

You see the ocean from your room (from almost all of the rooms, and the very few without a good view would not be worth it.) And, the king rooms downstairs are spacious (though double-doubles feel cramped).

The downsides:

(1) Some of the beds are incredibly hard, including the ones we had last time;

(2) Your neighbors, on a busy weekend are there to have a good time, so if you want to go to bed early, they will talk loud enough to keep you up, sitting outside with their friends;

(3) The free breakfast is third-rate -- supermarket little pastries, mediocre coffee (but a nice selection of tea, and cocoa is available and some fruit;

(4) The prices are high for what you get, unless you really are willing to pay for being right on the beach.

I think the Beachcomber is every bit as nice as the two adjacent hotels that seem more elegant. Your real decision is, do you want to be next to the ocean with a great walking and bike route along the coast, or would you rather be in Mendocino proper, or somewhere else in the area? Or would you take a perhaps better room that was nearby, but didn't have the ocean right across from your bedrroom?

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

We just returned from 4 days at Ft Bragg and stayed at the Beachcomber. I liked and enjoyed the ocean view from our room and the easy and quick access to the beach, especially since we have a 2 yr old son. It was really nice not to have to load him up in the carseat and pack up our stuff to get to the beach. There is 2 really beautiful and nice public beaches right there which we enjoyed very much. The motel has a big patio and deck area for relaxing or BBQing, which was nice but noisy since several rooms open up to it.
The worst part: the bad road noise right on N Main leaving town, other noisy guests, loud TVs, thin walls. It was quite expensive so we expected it to be quieter. My husband was quite pissed about the noise in the evening. There's a lot of people wallking the public trail right outside the back doors, all kinds of people and dogs. The continental breakfast is sparse, but OK. Our room was very clean except for a forgotten sippy cup under one bed.
The better part: decent rooms, upgraded furniture and granite on our kitchenette and bathroom(not necessary), beds are a little hard. The rooms are a little smaller than the pictures show. We used our kitchenette some, but not a lot, although its handy with kids.
You pay a lot for the view and beach access. If you are looking for a quiet, private room, this is not it. But if want to spend a lot of time at the beach, its great.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Beachcomber, and we had a really wonderful time, however we did have a lot of info about the motel from a family member who had recently stayed as well, so we knew which type of room to book. Basically, if you are thinking about staying at the Beachcomber, you HAVE to get a beach view room. The other rooms are not worth it and I imagine are VERY noisy as they face highway 1.
For the money, the motel is not as luxe as you'd expect in more urban areas, ( shabby decor, flat pillows etc) but the view + private balcony room make up for it. We splurged on room 231 above the lobby that had a jacuzzi tub, fireplace private balcony and a mini fridge. Both nights we watched the sunset over a glass of wine before taking a jacuzzi, then got up early the next day for a stroll on the beach, it really felt like a great (but short) vacation. The staff was very friendly, and we really enjoyed our stay, we would go back, but ONLY to stay in the view balcony rooms, I would not consider staying in the highway front rooms.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf bay area, ca
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed in the no-deck rooms. The rooms were small and the beds were full, not queens. It was a little loud at first- particularly with the windows open- but not enough to bother sleep. The HDTVs in the rooms got analog signals (which were snowy on a few channels); that was very odd considering that this was cable-fed. Free wi-fi was not advertised on TripAdvisor (or elsewhere) and was an added benefit.

I can't believe how expensive Ft. Bragg is! Most of the hotels were full while we were there, though.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Address: 1111 N. Main St., Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Fort Bragg
The Beachcomber Motel Fort Bragg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.