We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy on the beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach to your Saves list
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 N. Main St., Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $50 Spa Credit
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Sonoma, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cozy on the beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We were checked in right away with friendly service. Plenty of parking spaces. Our room was clean and we had a pretty ocean view. We had to switch rooms the next day because we added on an extra night last minute. They transferred our bags and goodies in the fridge for us. Bed was comfy with plenty of pillows. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    128
    38
    20
    27
See reviews for
97
210
17
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I have been coming to Fort Bragg for the past three years. I am so delighted we found this wonderful hotel on the ocean. There are other nice places to stay but why not stay at a hotel which is right on the ocean? Our dog was welcome, the staff was lovely, the room was very affordable and very large!!!! We cannot wait to return, take care with the local restaurants, they were not so good, the locals said to drive to Mendocino for a good meal, we will next time. Silver's on the Warf was expensive and not good!!! Again, we loved our experience at the Beachcomber and most definitely will return very soon!

Room Tip: Ask for Oceanside room, even with a pet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here, with a comfortable room, great views of the ocean, and great trees right near the water, strange marmot like squirrels living in tunnels in the cliffs, loads of wildflowers, room for biking or jogging, exploring the beach, very relaxing spot. Breakfast was fine, but not enough room in the reception area, so it was grab and go, back to the room or our little terrace on the oceanside. the place was full so they must be doing something right. No noise from neighbors - must be good insulation. Nice toiletries. A coffee maker and coffee. good spot. Bikes for rent. I'd go back in a minute!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I would have given the Beachcomber 5 stars except the breakfast was not up to standard. They did have juice, coffee, pastries, bagels, raisin bread, and instant oatmeal. But no fresh milk. Just try instant oatmeal with hot water and no milk, not good! Most places this expensive have dry cereal and fresh milk at least and some have yogurt, or even hard boiled eggs. Also there was no toaster, just foil wrapped cream cheese for the cold bagels.
Other than that the room was great, the view was wonderful if you are on the south end and upper floor, the staff was welcoming and very helpful. Also there was a paved walking/bike path. Like I said a great place but the breakfast was the worst we have had for years at motels. We went for a late brunch to "Egghead" in town, excellent.

Room Tip: top floor toward the south have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Last night here and what an awesome week we have had. The best place to stay. One night in one room and then we got a kitchen room. Front desk is very accomodating. Very romantic here. The beds were amazingly comfortable and feels like a spa. Love the kitchen room as we've been extremely lazy. Close to the shops and the beach is beautiful. It was about a 6 hour ride for us on our Harleys and this will become our favorite destination to ride to. Little misty in the mornings but when the sun breaks thru it is beautiful! Staff is very friendly. Thanks for a great stay!!!!!! Can't wait for our couples massage later today!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galt
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had such a good time here. Heard the surf all night. The place is just fabulous! Tim and Erin made our stay even better with great service at the front desk. A great story for a family owned motel. Tim gave us a coupon for the Cliff House and made dinner great also.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham,England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed here whilst visiting my family whom reside in California and regularly visit this little gem. The room we stayed in was really clean, the beds where comfortable and the bathroom, although small was clean. The Breakfast was quite sparse with only pastries and toast, fruit and a small selection of drinks available and room for about 6 people to eat at the same time but this was not an issue at all because the location of this Hotel was perfect and the views where lovely. I would recommend the Beachcomber to anyone who simply wants to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Address: 1111 N. Main St., Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Fort Bragg
The Beachcomber Motel Fort Bragg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.