We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view of the ocean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach to your Saves list
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 N. Main St., Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York, NY
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“great view of the ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

this is a standard motel with large rooms right on US 1. However, the rooms face the ocean and have fabulous views. Also, you can walk for miles up the coast and into town right from a path in back of the motel. At first, Fort Bragg is unimpressive, but it grows on you as you walk around. The motel's continental breakfast was not much; save your appetite for a breakfast place in town featuring Wizard of Oz memorabilia (I forget the name-- it's on US 1 in the town center).

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    138
    39
    21
    27
See reviews for
105
223
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Antioch
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2008

I can tell you why the other reviews may seem to be conflicting. The dark, dingy room of which the others speak is the one they don't list on their web site. It is the room reserved for those last minute guests without a reservation. It is a pit! We did have a reservation, however the hotel had made an error and booked us as a no show for the previous month. They even charged us for the no show, but I had assumed the charge was a deposit. In the hotel's defense, they did try to accommodate us by putting us up in a different room. It was large and clean and had a lovely view. However, the decks seemed to be a smokers magnet. We had smoke billowing in from both sides and our room reeked. The second night was not available in this "nice" room, and they were going to put us in the pit. I was appalled at the state of it and refused their "generous" offer. We ended up going home after only one night and will never stay in that hotel again. I wish someone could recommend a nice beachfront place in Fort Bragg.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

We stayed at the beachcomber last june because of a wedding we attended. The room smelled like dog poop. There was pet stains all over the floor. The floor was so dirty you would instantly get black feet. I had to where socks.They do not know how to clean ther rooms properly.. They're bed's are rock hard. I could not sleep. We will never stay there again.

  • Liked — right on the beach
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2008

We are having a wedding in a few months ... so we went to check with the front desk about setting up a few rooms for our guests. I have never had such a rude response and absolute nastiness about booking rooms. Basically if you have a group don't stay here as they don't like that kind of business. Apparently someone ruined it for all of us and they are quite bitter about it. Since I know Fort Bragg well we know of many other great places to stay ... that do want our guests business.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcombermotel, Owner at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, May 5, 2008
Dear Guest,
We are truly sorry for any miscommunication
you may have experienced at the Beachcomber. We have found that the motel
does the best with family reunions, clubs, get-togethers, and wedding groups. We do have wedding guests stay with us. They "all " make their reservations individually instead of groups because we no longer book in blocks of rooms. There is no excuse for rudeness by any of our people. We apologize for this. I wish we had a name. Please have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2008

Loved it! Not a fancy motel but it was clean and had what we were looking for. Complimentary breakfast was a plus. Great relaxing place for a family. Excellent value. Excellent location and scenery. Close to restaurants and most of all the beach was right outside our door. The beach was very smooth and the creek was great for the kids to wade in the water. Planning another short family trip to this place again.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

I'm puzzled by many of the reviews here that are overly critical of the Beachcomber. When one compares proximity of the motel to the beach and the comparable lodging in Ft. Bragg to the overpriced, pretentious lodging less than 30 miles down the road, the Beachcomber is a jewel.

We stayed at the Beachcomber for the second time in the last 6 years in March 2008. We were not at all disappointed. Ft. Bragg is a predominantly working-class town with the perfect location. The headlands and ocean views equal those of nearby Mendocino, but lodging is much cheaper. If you want to spend a day walking around the tourist-oriented stores of Mendocino, you can still do that with ease and use Ft. Bragg as your overnight base.

The Beachcomber is located immediately on the waters surrounding Ft. Bragg. Beautiful walking trails/paths are accessed from within a few feet of the property. The views are absolutely breathtaking. We spent a bit more on the "Spectacular King" and had an upstairs room with private balcony that overlooked the gorgeous cove below.

The room was spotless. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is indeed small, but it is perfectly ample. The room, overall, was quite large and contained much more space than we required. Our particular room also included a small fridge. When the breezes were too chilly, we enjoyed the small table and chairs located near the sliding doors and continued to enjoy the views.

This motel has been owned by the same family for well over 20 years. If you desire the cookie-cutter predictability of a chain hotel, then look elsewhere. If you want a clean room with a gorgeous, quiet location, this is it. I know we'll continue to visit the Beachcomber when we travel to this area.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

This motel is right on the beach. You just walk out the back door to get to the water. If you have children that want to go to the beach, this is very convenient. The view is nice.

However, the building is old and has few amenities. There is no air conditioning. We had to leave the sliding glass door (to the balcony) open to cool the room (though that posed a security risk). Our room was clean, but the bathroom was tiny. If this motel was anywhere else inland, it would probably go for only $49.99 per night. Breakfast consisted of danish pastries and coffee or juices.

Service was good while we were there, though the service was inconsistent when we made the reservations. I called at night to make reservations 1 week in advance and was told they were fully booked for the next 4 weeks. My wife called the following morning and was told there were many rooms available. Go figure!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay there and would likely stay there again because of the easy access to the beach (unless there's a better motel with the same easy access). If you're not there for the beach, however, you might want to consider someplace else.

  • Liked — location location location
  • Disliked — no AC
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Address: 1111 N. Main St., Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach 1*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Fort Bragg
The Beachcomber Motel Fort Bragg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.