We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the right place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach to your Saves list
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 N. Main St., Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $50 Spa Credit
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Galt
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Just the right place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had such a good time here. Heard the surf all night. The place is just fabulous! Tim and Erin made our stay even better with great service at the front desk. A great story for a family owned motel. Tim gave us a coupon for the Cliff House and made dinner great also.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    126
    38
    20
    27
See reviews for
95
207
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham,England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed here whilst visiting my family whom reside in California and regularly visit this little gem. The room we stayed in was really clean, the beds where comfortable and the bathroom, although small was clean. The Breakfast was quite sparse with only pastries and toast, fruit and a small selection of drinks available and room for about 6 people to eat at the same time but this was not an issue at all because the location of this Hotel was perfect and the views where lovely. I would recommend the Beachcomber to anyone who simply wants to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elko, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here on our recent vacation to the redwoods, and I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness, features (sliding glass doors with access right to the beach), and location (right on the beach AND a short walk to Glass Beach. Most of all, the value was hands down better than the other hotels in Fort Bragg. The trail right behind the hotel is great for a morning walk/run/bike (the hotel has bikes available) and provides stunning views of the pacific ocean. There was no a/c but the nights were cool enough. I agree with Linda T, a ceiling fan would be a great amentiy. The breakfast was a little sparse -some pastries and some fruit, but we had planned to go to Eggheads anyway- so it wasn't a big deal for us.

Room Tip: Bottom floor has sliding glass and easy beach and trail access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
354 reviews 354 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our trip up the coast. The hotel is located convenient to restaurants and the beach. Our room was on the second floor and on the end by the walking bridge. We had a nice balcony to sit on and enjoy the view. The bed was comfy and the room spacious and clean. The one downside is that there was no aircon or screen for the sliding glass door or ceiling fan for the room. As our room faced the west, it got pretty warm by the end of the day. When we returned in the evening, we had to open the front door of the room as well as the sliding glass door to get any breeze in the room to cool it off. Would be good to get at least a ceiling fan in the room.

Room Tip: Get a room with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband booked this hotel from the description on the internet, and we were very pleased. It's all about location here, and the Beachcomber's location is the BEST. The view from our balcony was gorgeous, overlooking a sandy beach with breakers, cliffsides, and the signature cedar trees that are so iconic along the CA coast.
The room was updated and clean, internet was great, fridge, microwave, flat-screen TV, all nice. There're even washers and dryers (2 each) if you need to launder your clothes. Oddly, though, no iron in the room.
Step outside the hotel, and you're on the beach. Two geocaches within 0.1 mile of our room.
We left the window open to hear the breakers all night long-fabulous.
OH, and our room was only $150 per night, not "$246 and up".

Room Tip: Every room faces the ocean. No elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We LOVE this place. Rooms are very clean and have awesome patios with chairs overlooking the water and bluffs. For the location and view I think it's a great deal. Also very family friendly and they accept dogs! Great place to walk around n very quick easy access to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spent 1 night here and found the accommodations to be very good. The location is beach front and each unit has a nice little patio to enjoy the view. The rooms are fresh and clean. Ft Bragg is a nice little town with several food options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Address: 1111 N. Main St., Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Fort Bragg
The Beachcomber Motel Fort Bragg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.