We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachcomber Motel and Spa- Check It Out!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Save Saved
You added The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 N. Main St., Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beachcomber Motel and Spa- Check It Out!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

It has become a family tradition for us now to stay at the Beachcomber Motel and Spa!! Our kids have such a great time every year!! Incredible views, on the beach, great price, very friendly, recently upgraded rooms,walking trails...are you getting the picture :)

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    120
    36
    20
    26
See reviews for
89
196
17
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We love staying at the Beachcomber! We found this gem a few years ago and wouldn't stay anywhere else when we go to Fort Bragg. Easy beach access and walking distance to Glass Beach and downtown. Staff is friendly and helpful. We scheduled a couples massage while we were there and although they couldn't accommodate us as a couple (they only had 1 massage therapist on duty) they did schedule us consecutively. They have many room options and we love staying downstairs so we can open the sliding glass door and walk out to the beach.

Room Tip: I've never had a bad room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcombermotel, Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We appreciate your kind words! We strive to provide our guests with a great experience throughout their visit at our property. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed there in April for an early Birthday for my husband and I the rooms are small but a great view. They have a BBQ that you can use the kitchen had all the stuff you need from pans to plates and even paper towels.I was a little upset with our room they had an electrical problem with the microwave and the tv. They tried to fix it but couldn't and the sunsets are outstanding and the flowers are so pretty. You can walk over a bridge pudding creek and see the ocean so pretty you can get down to the beach from there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcombermotel, Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for the valuable feedback! Maintenance looked into the electrical problem. It has been fixed and we appreciate your insight into the problem! We look forward to being your go to destination anytime you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laytonville, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I often take trips to Fort Bragg and when we do we stay at the Beachcomber Motel and spa on the beach. It has the best rooms and the best location with quick access to the beach and trails. The rooms are clean, spacious and inviting making you feel at home. My husband and I have stayed in the King suite as well as other rooms and have been extremely satisfied with them all. The King suite has a Jacuzzi tub, fireplace and private balcony with a spectacular view, a perfect romantic getaway. They provide a free continental breakfast with a variety of choices. If you are traveling the coastal highway make it a point to stop and stay here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcombermotel, Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
The Beachcomber staff is elated you had such an enjoyable time at our property! We hope to be your go to destination whenever you visit Fort Bragg! Please don't hesitate to call and make your next reservation soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We were charged a 250.00 pet fee for leaving our pet unattended in room while we took photos in front of hotel! When we disputed the charge the hotel owner called the cops. When the cop came he had no idea why he was called and apologised. I disputed the charge with the credit card company after showing copy of police report I was credited the charge plus interest . But it was a horrific ordeal! The owner is a crazy woman I don't suggest ever staying here! Far from friendly and definetly not pet friendly!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcombermotel, General Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We would like to assure you that we would never be so mean to charge you for taking pictures in front of the hotel. You were charged $250 because you left your dog unattended and many guests called and complained about the barking coming from your room. We tried to contact you and are very sorry that we had to call the authorities because the noise went into the night. We wish you the best and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I wanted to spend our anniversary here and booked a stay in the pet friendly hot tub room for our first night. We were unable to book the room for two nights, so we chose to book a jacuzzi room for our second night. We were traveling with our dog and it was important to find a place that would allow us to bring him along.

While I loved the size, view and comfort of the hot tub room, unfortunately our fireplace did not work and the hot tub was so heavily chlorinated, that it burned the skin and eyes. It also turned itself on and off throughout the night to maintain temp and that was rather noisy. The other problem was the shower... it would maintain temp for a minute or two, then drop water pressure and either turn ice cold or burning hot. My only other issue with the room was temperature control.... there were no fans and with the humidity of the hot tub, the room was very stuffy.... we did open the windows and crack the slider door, but it would be nice if there was a ceiling fan or other type fan to help circulate the air. Lastly, when I turned the coffee pot on in the morning, it blew the fuze for half of the room. Thankfully there was a reset button and power was quickly restored. Regardless of the negative issues, the bed was very comfortable, sheets clean, sofa was also comfy and the view was spectacular. Internet speed was also pretty good most of the time.

The next day, we had to pack up our things and wait for our new room to be ready to move into. I was thankful that the staff did this as quickly as possible and called us when it was ready.

The second room was significantly smaller and outdated despite only being a few dollars cheaper than the hot tun room. We were in the corner right next to the dog potty area and when the windows were open, you could occasionally catch a whiff of the potty yard. The positives of this room.. the fireplace worked perfectly as did the shower, jacuzzi tub, etc. I also loved the bathroom size. The bed was as comfy as our first room and all in all I had no complaints here.

My final issue was the dog potty yard and dog amenities. The website and magazine add states you get a blanket, towel, treats, magnet and other little goodies. We were given a sheet, 2 mini milk bones and a copy of the pet policy and that was it. I was told the potty yard would have poo bags, but I was thankful I had my own, as there were none in the yard to use... just an empty spot where there used to be some. There was also no trash can to throw away the used poo bags.... it required a walk around the grounds until I found a big can near the vending machines. Also, it was not a lit area, so at night, you couldn't really see... this was a problem considering many people had chosen not to pick up after their dogs during the day. I used a flashlight and my own plastic bags to pick up all the old dog poo before I took my dog out to the yard to use.

I guess for the price we paid for our stay, I expected all things to be in working order and for there to be a bit more perks, but despite my mixed reviews, I do plan to stay here again in the future. The staff were all friendly and all in all it was a great place to relax.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcombermotel, General Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We appreciate your visit and your feedback. We will look into the areas of concern and correct the imperfections. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area. If you would like to discuss your stay further please don't hesitate to call. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The rooms are spacious with moderate furnishings. They have a better than usual continental breakfast that is complimentary. Each room has a patio or balcony with awesome views of the ocean. This hotel is also pet friendly. The beds were very comfortable!

Room Tip: If you are bringing your pet there is an additional $20 fee per night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcombermotel, General Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your stay. We are always striving for better accommodations for our guests and your feedback is vital! We look forward to being your go to destination whenever you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Address: 1111 N. Main St., Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Fort Bragg
The Beachcomber Motel Fort Bragg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.