We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small beachside hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach to your Saves list
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 N. Main St., Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely small beachside hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

For a $140 room directly in front of a beautiful beach, this was impressive. It's also in a quiet area, so if you want to relax, it's a good choice. We'd definitely like to return. The room was clean and spacious and the toiletries were high quality. The towels were a bit rougher than I'd prefer. The mounted flat screen TV looked very new and all of the furnishings were up to day.

I agree that it would be preferable for the breakfast to last until 10am. Overall, the variety was okay and a standard continental breakfast.

The folks at the check-in counter were so-so. They didn't exude a lot of friendliness; they just seemed focused on doing their jobs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcombermotel, Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback about our property! We are very happy that you have enjoyed the upgrades we have done to the rooms. We hope that on your next visit our front desk agents will be more energetic and interested in our guests experience! Looking forward to seeing you again soon as your go to destination in Fort Bragg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    138
    39
    21
    27
See reviews for
106
225
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My wife and I took her 83 year old mother up to Fort Bragg for her birthday beacuse she loves to be by the sea. We had king rooms next to each other that had balconies overlooking the Pacific. Her Mom loved it. The next morning she came over to our room and asked if we saw the full moon reflecting off the water during the night. Besides the great access to the Pacific, the Beachcomber was clean, everything worked well and the price was certainly reasonable. We are already planning a return trip in a few months.

Room Tip: The Superior Kings have the best views on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcombermotel, Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our property! We appreciate the feedback and definitely look forward to having you and your family as repeat guest of the Beachcomber! We would love to be your go to destination in Fort Bragg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Despite 2 phone calls and an email exchange including a printed welcome letter, when we arrived our reservation had been made for the wrong date - 3 days later. The front desk staff simply considered it all a mystery. Lucky for us they still had a similar room available, unlucky for us, the room had several rumbling heat-generating circles in the floor - and no A/C .There was definitely something mechanical underneath the room. The ocean breeze was lovely, but leaving my sliding glass door open all night was not an option on the ground floor so it got rather toasty in my room, even in September .If I go back, I'll stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcombermotel, Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with much needed feedback about our property. We are sorry your visit did not meet your expectations. I would love to talk to you more about your visit, please call me anytime at 707-964-2402. We all hope to see you at the Beachcomber again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stay here every other year with a group of friends. The motel has been updated and the view of the ocean us just perfect. We usually stay on the first floor but be prepared to see people walking by right outside your room. When making your reservation ask if anyone is going to use the upstairs deck during your stay. If so, try to get a room away from that area. There was a wedding reception on the deck this past weekend and it was a bit noisy.

Room Tip: If there is an event on the view deck scheduled during your stay, ask for a room away from that area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcombermotel, Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback about your stay. We appreciate the feedback so we can constantly be improving our service and staff. We are happy you like the improvements to the rooms over the years! We would love to give the patios/ balconies more privacy but unfortunately it would block some of the oceanviews we are so incredibly proud of. We look forward to your next visit and for a more private experience you could look into the Jucuzzi rooms! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We got a room late in the afternoon by just walking in. Joe was very helpful and accomodating. He told us the rates for the rooms and we chose a queensize lower rate and he gave us a free upgrade to a queen higher rate.

The room was clean and luxurious. Flat screen TV, DVD player, great toiletries, fabulous towels, great linen and a comfortable bed. Ocean views with door straight out of the room.

We had been given a $30 voucher for a local restaurant. We went to the restaurant but forgot the voucher. Duh!

Breakfast in the lobby was continental with fruit and pastries. We had missed the information that it ended at 9.00 am. Kristin's attitude made it quite obvious that she wasn't impressed but she did turn the juice machine back on. We pitched up at 9.35, so late I admit but there were still people eating breakfast and the pastries and coffee were still out. Most hotels on my trip served breakfast till 10.00am, some later.

Overall though a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcombermotel, Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write about our property. Thank you for the wonderful compliments about the comfortable rooms, we love to hear that you enjoy them as much as we do! We will look into extending the breakfast hours, usually the front desk staff leaves it out as long as there are guests in the lobby enjoying. As new staff joins our team it is a learning process involved and Kristin was fairly new to our team at the time. The Cliffhouse Restaurant is a great deal with the coupons they provide us, don't worry we have more to give out on your next visit! We all look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have been going to the Beachcomber for many many years. It has gotten nothing but better. It has always had the best view on the Coast. We stay in one of the beautiful handicap rooms. It is literally feet from the parking spot. The french door to the outside private patio makes is so easy for my husband to join me for free breakfast. Did I mention the gardens...WOW! Well done, Beachcomber !

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view. If I could I would stay upstairs. The balconies look so inviting. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcombermotel, Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about our property. We are so thankful for your wonderful compliments. We try and improve with each new year and it is very nice to have our guests notice. We look forward to seeing you again soon, we hope you get to stay in an upstairs room, if not we can always show you one while you're here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stay here once a year when we attend the Mendocino Coast Hospital Foundation "Winesong" fundraiser at the Botanical Gardens in Ft. Bragg. The Beachcomber is literally a stones throw from Pudding Creek beach and fronts a 10-mile path, perfect for biking and walking along the coast. They allow pets, and all rooms have either balconies or decks. We always get a ground floor king room which opens to the sea. They advertise Spa services, which was new this year, but we did not experience it on this trip. We always meet terrific people while sitting out on the patio with a glass of wine watching the amazing views and sunsets. The price is right and the staff is very pleasant and efficient, which is why we return every year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcombermotel, Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback! We appreciate our repeat visitors, next time you stay please try our spa services. The front desk can handle the arrangements or you can book your spa treatment online as well. I have shared your compliments with all of our staff and they are very pleased to have made your stay enjoyable! We all look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Address: 1111 N. Main St., Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach 1*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Fort Bragg
The Beachcomber Motel Fort Bragg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.