We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So helpful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Glass Museum

Sea Glass Museum
17801 North Highway 1, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
(707) 962-0590
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 11 Attractions in Fort Bragg
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So helpful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We took a rack card from the hotel we were staying at and in return, they gave us a free map. The collection in the museum was amazing and the person helping us gave us great information to help us find the best sea glass. We happened to be there during low tide so they suggested we go straight to Glass Beach, so we did! Their help led us to the best spot possible. I'm so thankful for their help!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    27
    19
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Bruno
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Unique little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Glass and glass jewelry of every shape, color and size! Friendly owner - Captain Cass! Wide range of prices for every budget. People - don't pick the glass off of Glass Beach - it's not legal - leave it for future visitors and come here for a reasonably priced and nice piece of glass jewelry.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Memories”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We started going to Glass Beach in the 70s. The pictures and film clips brought all the fun memories back.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth stopping in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Sea Glass Museum is a small place on the Coast Highway, a little south of Highway 20. We stopped in spontaneously on a return from Mendocino and we are glad we did. The sign outside says "FREE." Inside there is a sign suggesting a $2.00 donation (which we thought was more than reasonable). The displays feature a wide variety of samples taken from Sea Glass Beach, and there are informative displays giving the history of the beach. We passed on purchasing any of items for sale (expensive bracelets made of glass, etc.) but we are glad we stopped in.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“do not stop”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Was not what I expected. Small and very expensive gift shop. It did show all the different colors of glass that could be found over the years but no really worth the stop

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Glass Museum also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Been to Sea Glass Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Glass Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.