We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveler - Beware of your "rewards" program” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 West Highway 20, Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Upland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Traveler - Beware of your "rewards" program”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Be careful of this place. They will not return phone calls to correct the error on the name registered to the room. The hotel staff made an error on the name and will not honor the REWARDS due to my name not on the bill. I was there with my family and paid the room with my credit card and signed it. They some how put my wife's name on it and will not credit me with the nights stay. The Corporate office of H.I. express replies with generic emails that they can not do anything and it is up to the manager at Fort Bragg to call you. I have never heard from the manager as of yet and the corporate emails state that the Manager will call me. This location is also over priced compared to other Holiday Inn Express. I stayed at other Holiday Inn Express locations that were brand new and the rates were $60.00 less than at Fort Bragg. Never stay here ever again !!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    105
    30
    11
    4
See reviews for
75
79
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Madre, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This Best Western Loyalist has been checking out the competition lately among what I call the mid-range hotels. This was our first stay at a Holiday Inn Express and we were impressed. It's not a seaside resort or a destination, but more a place to hang your hat for a night or two while you see the sights. Staff is a big deal to me and the front desk lady did not disappoint. The chocolate chip cookies in the lobby were a temptation (yes, I had a couple). Our room was nice and on my "would you walk barefoot in this room" scale it was a 7 out of 10. Very clean. Bathroom is modern and roomy. The bed was very comfortable and the air worked fine. We were in the front of the building and there was some highway noise. Breakfast was typical of this range of accommodation and I appreciate being able to "eat and run" without having to search for a restaurant nearby. The coffee is great, one of my priorities. It's just fine for a night or two before you head back out on the road to continue your trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the building for minimum highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel because we wanted to make sure we got something of a certain standard, and that is what we got. The hotel is modern and the room large and clean. However it has very little character.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Calif.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have stayed here before and have been very happy with the accommodations. We paid a little extra for the creek view. The view is actually a canyon filled with trees and shrubs and plants. Typical of the area. We could see down the canyon all of the way to the ocean.

Room Tip: We like the canyon view. It is wide open and has lots of birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Day 5 of our USA roadtrip. Today we are in Fort Bragg. The H.I.E. in Fort Bragg was first class. You know what to expect with Holiday Inn Express and this lived up to every expectation. The location is quiet with some good views, the rooms are clean, well equipped and modern. Plenty of car parking, lovely staff and a good breakfast. No complaints and we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I was a little hesitant to book this hotel based on some of the reviews but it really is a pretty good hotel. Clean and modern rooms and a nice sized parking lot. The hotel is a little ways off of 101 on a side road and good for those using Fort Bragg as a stopping point for the night. If you really want a spot that is within a close walk to the ocean I would look elsewhere. The biggest negative was the seating area for breakfast is small and did not have enough seats for guests. The front desk staff was friendly although they forgot to put my room number on key card holder.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at this place years ago before the renovations, before the new owners. It was pretty bad. We called see if there were any changes to the property and if so, to make a reservation and to our pleasant surprise, the woman on the phone said they had remodeled the hotel and was now under new owners.

We gave it a try and I declare, it is one of the most improved renovations I've ever seen.

The rooms are much brighter. The furniture is now up to date. They now have AC (last time they didn't.). Service is so much better. Room was very clean.

The fitness room has no name equipment but it is good enough. Maybe one day you can put in a little higher quality equipment, but it is better than other offerings in town, so i am not complaining.

Not sure about the breakfast. Didn't look quite as appetizing as other chains like Hampton so we skipped.

If I didn't know about how improved they are, might only give three stars, but I want to give the extra star for the effort they put into the renovation.

Hope the quality stays over time. We plan to be back! Thanks.

Room Tip: Pay the extra fee for a room away from the road. It is very quiet back there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg

Address: 250 West Highway 20, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express is among the newest hotels located on the Mendocino Coast, in Fort Bragg Ca. Overlooking Hare Creek, Holiday Inn Express offers a relaxing and serene environment with spectacular canyon views. Located at the south end of town the hotel is just minutes from downtown Fort Bragg and only 8 miles north of the Mendocino Village. Whether you're planning a leisure vacation or traveling on business, the Fort Bragg/ Mendocino coast has an abundance to offer. Coming to enjoy whale watching or fishing? We are conveniently located across the street from S. Harbor Dr. boat docks. If a train ride is your desire, we are less than 2 miles from the California Western Railroad Skunk Train Depot. We are also just minutes away from several California State Parks including MacKerricher, Van Damme, Jughandle and Russian Gulch. Accessible facilities are provided for our guests with disabilities. Our guests enjoy the use of our fitness room, indoor heated pool, spa and our complimentary breakfast bar. Our friendly staff is on hand 24 hours a day to meet our guest's needs. Whether you're here on business or a relaxing getaway the Holiday Inn Express Hotel is your place to stay and play. It is important to note Fort Bragg hotels do not have air conditioning as temperatures rarely exceed 70 degrees! Wireless Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg Hotel Fort Bragg
Holiday Inn Fort Bragg
Fort Bragg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.