We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Coast Hotel

Old Coast Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Bragg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Coast Hotel
Save
You added Old Coast Hotel to your Saves list
101 North Franklin, Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Lancaster
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

My husband and I booked this hotel on a motorcycle trip up Rt 1. First, there was no one staffing the hotel. We had to call someone in order to check in. Second, the traffic noise was very bad. Although it didn't seem like a busy road at first there was constant traffic all night. The rooms were very nice and clean and the courtyard was lovely. We were able to park the motorcycle inside the courtyard which was nice. But, for over $180/night I thought it was a bit much for no breakfast offer and no one staffing the hotel for other concerns. Would not stay at this hotel again because of all of this.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Traffic and cost
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

We showed up very road-weary from riding for four days. Although it was a little more expensive than what we were looking for, the staff and antmosphere was very inviting. They let us park our bikes in the secure courtyard, which was a huge plus. The bar and restaurant were very nice, as were the rooms. The Old Coast made my first visit to Ft. Bragg memorable

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

We travel to Fort Bragg, CA two or three times each year. Our favorite place to eat is at the Old Coast Hotel.

There is a sports bar that you can dine in (and I believe a separate area from the bar if you don't want to eat in the bar). The service is great and you can take in your favorite sporting event on the one of the many tv's located around the bar.

Despite loving the coast, I am not a big fan of "seafood" in general - what I love is that the Old Coast Hotel has several options on their menu that doesn't involve seafood.

Great food for a decent price!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

We stumbled in here late one Saturday night, thinking it may only be a restaurant. Instead, we were very pleasantly surprised by the fun lodging. Our room had a low, angled ceiling and gas fireplace. The hotel and the staff were charming. It is certainly more fun than most of the hotel options (generic) and we enjoyed the old downtown location. We'll go back happily.
-CB, San Francisco

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2005

My boyfriend and I ate here while visiting Fort Bragg a couple of months ago and were sadly disappointed with the service and the food itself. The dinner was ok, nothing too special, average at best. Our waitress hardly paid us any mind and was not too friendly. We were not impressed.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2004

Didn't stay at the hotel, but had the best meal I have had in a long time. Friendly service, fantastic food and drinks at a reasonable price--the whole atmosphere was outstanding.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2004

Located in downtown Ft. Bragg. We've stayed here several times in several rooms. The restaurant is unpretentious and very good. The House Label wine is good too. The rooms were all nicely decorated and the beds slept well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Coast Hotel

Address: 101 North Franklin, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Old Coast Hotel is located at the top of North Franklin Street in beautiful downtown Fort Bragg. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Coast Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.