We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens

Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens
18220 North Highway 1, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
+1 707-964-4352
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Attractions in Fort Bragg
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our mission is to engage and enrich lives by displaying and conserving plants in harmony with our Northern California coastal ecosystems. Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens offers everything from colorful displays to thunderous waves. The mild maritime climate makes it a garden for all seasons, attracting gardeners and nature lovers. With manicured formal gardens, a dense coastal pine forest, native flora and habitats, fern-covered canyons, camellias, rhododendrons, magnolias and conifers, heaths and heathers, and flower-filled coastal bluffs overlooking the blue ocean, the garden is a jewel on the Pacific Coast. Open daily except the Saturday after Labor Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas. March-October 9am-5pm, November-February 9am-4pm. Rhody's Cafe, located in the Gardens, serves fresh, locally made lunches, coffee drinks, desserts, and Cowlicks'Hand Made Ice Cream. Picnic lunches are available. Open April-September, 11am-4pm. The Garden Store and Nursery on the Plaze are open daily. There is no admission charge to visit the Store, Nursery, or Cafe.
Yuba City, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful time to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The rhodendrums were in full bloom during early May. Liked the fact that all the plants names were on placques by the plants

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    87
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I'm not a die hard garden fanatic but I do appreciate a work of art. We happened to be in Ft Bragg during National Garden Day so we didn't have to pay admittance fee (It would have been worth it though!).
I particularly loved the succulent and vegetable gardens along with all of the rhododendrons that were in full bloom. The garden was laid out so you can see it all without having to do much backtracking. The elevation changes were minimal so anyone could walk the main trails.
I cant wait to go back and see how it looks in the Fall.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Rhodies in glorious bloom and dogs welcome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Very well maintained gardens of all types. Rhododendrons in fantastic colorful bloom. I had to see them. Thought my dog would have to wait in the car but as I entered I saw a bowl of water and a container of treats for dogs. My dog then happily joined me on a 2 hour exploration of the grounds. Among the plants were sculptures, some of which freaked my pup out. We visited the vegetable gardens and quizzed the volunteer on techniques of raising various veggies. Many benches to sit and take in the beauty. There's a trail to an ocean view, which we did not take but will next time. Mobility challenged friendly. They sell plants from cuttings from their plants, some rare. I bought some to put in my garden. I loved this so much that I joined. Membership here gives access to many bot gardens around the country. Stunning.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A worthwhile stop on your visit to the Mendocino Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Simply put, if you enjoy plants you should stop at the Botanical Gardens while visiting the Mendocino coast.
The breadth and variety of trees, bushes, ferns etc. is amazing. At this time of year the rhododendrons (spring) are in bloom which is an added bonus!
The grounds are lovely and if you are willing to take a short and easy hike you can go all the way out to the ocean which offers a great view along the coast.
The grounds are easily accessible with clearing marked and easily navigated trails.
Well worth the time if you are into plants at all, enjoy.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gardens and Ocean All in One!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Here you are in a beautiful botanical garden with the sound of the waves in the background walking by different garden settings with sculptures and ponds throughout; and all of a sudden you come to the sea cliffs with crashing waves and a view that goes miles.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Been to Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.